We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable meal at reasonable price”
Review of La Forge

La Forge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Port Fairy, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal at reasonable price”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

The restaurant is small caters for 28 people but has charm and a cosy atmosphere. We enjoyed the very well priced 17.50E three course menu. Different to L,Estagnol, then half the price. It suited us 100% as we only wanted a tasty well cooked meal. Entrees we had were a lovely tomato, cheese cucumber and basil salad, and the other an omelette with salad, slightly undercooked. Mains one pork and one veal. Well cooked, lots of herbs and garlic, with very tasty side dishes of potatoes and beans. Sweets one prunes and the other glace. Wine by the carafe. Recommended for a casual enjoyable experience.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnandAv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    55
    11
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kenwood, California
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Just because a restaurant is charming doesn't mean the food is good.”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

This restaurant is loaded with charm, including the proprietor. Our entre's were burned. need I say more?

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kris132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and friendly service”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Excellent meal was had by our group of ten - prices were reasonable .

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chilaryb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, NC
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very nice menu at reasonable price”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Restos in St Remy tend to be high, so were glad to find La Forge...19 & 24 € menu with 3 courses, good choices, nice service. Youcan choose more expensive options a la carte..but we loved our choices. Small setting in old brick room,very pleasant time.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobynFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food in a relaxed atmosphere”
Reviewed May 3, 2012

A small and slightly quirky experience with excellent local items on the prix fixe menu. Most of the other diners were local - always a good sign. You may a wait for food but with only one waiter I guess things can't be rushed.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jaclyn239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Forge also viewed

Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to La Forge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing