We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven On A Plate”

L'Aile ou la Cuisse
Reserve with
L'Aile ou la Cuisse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $34
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Heaven On A Plate”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Just off the main square, a window full of patisseries greets you, and as these will form desserts…browse a moment. The interior of the restaurant is dark wood and cool, but reserve a table and ask for outdoors.

The tiny courtyard is usually packed and the food is delicious. One of our party described the lamb as the best meal of the entire holiday. Staff are happy to let you try your French or willing to chat in English. Fresh food, simply presented and don’t forget the desserts. Heaven on a plate.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blarneybounce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    596
    495
    152
    44
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“a bit overrated”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

I had dinner here with a friend and the service was very nice. the restaurant was totally full and we were lucky to get a reservation!
The speciality i'd say would probably be the chicken which we didn't take unfortunately.
We had foie gras, salad, the lamb shank as well as the other lamb dish they had. the sauce was typical from the camarague area, so very salty! it's an aquired taste and I can't say that i could handle too much of it. nevertheless very good and also good prices! they had a set 3 course menu for just 29 euros! you can choose your dessert right at the beginning from the vitrine as they have many pastries and when they are gone, that's it! none left! so you reserve it before the meal.
I had a tarte aux framboises as well as tarte au fraise. the tarte was a bit overbaked and thick so quite hard. but still good. nothing amazing though.

I would definitely give it another try as there is definitely a reason why they are recommended in the michelin guide as well as gault milau.
The waiter was also very friendly and even found us a hotel to stay at whith a discount as he knew the owner.
For pictures of food just download the foodspotting app, kristina09.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kristina091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Our favorite meal in Provence”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

After so many wonderful meals in the small towns of Provence, my husband and I enjoyed this one the most. We were on a day trip to the area and looking for a spot for lunch. We chose this restaurant because of the curb appeal. We were happily seated on the quaint patio enjoying the atmosphere and drinking wine. Our meals were delicious and our service was wonderful. We would highly recommend L'Aile ou la Cuisse Bistrot on your next visit to St. Remy!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank krob67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
179 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Evening”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

OUr family dined at L'Aile ou la Cuisse on a Sunday evening and an enjoyable time was had by all. The bistro is in the center of St.-Remy proper and is an attractive space between the restaurant proper and the patio (we were on the patio- very nice). Everyone in our group ordered the menu. Four of the six had poulet, which was seasoned nicely. The bistro has the selection of desserts in the front window and on the menu selection is one's choice from that. All were excellent (the rum choice was outstanding). Charming atmosphere. Attentive service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sfgfiat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
102 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Top notch atomosphere and food”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Lovely atmosphere with a live jazz band on a Sunday night -- and the food was delicious too esp. the chicken. This is superbly located in the heart of St Remy de Provence and was cetainly the most fun meal we had in our two weeks in Provence!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SunDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Aile ou la Cuisse also viewed

Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to L'Aile ou la Cuisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing