We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good pizza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Cantina

La Cantina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $28
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Pizzeria contemporaine avec service au comptoir devant une cuisine ouverte. Une selection des meilleurs produits italiens.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
101 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“good pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We had two dinners here in our week in Saint Remy. Friendly staff, good pizzas and a nice housewine by the glass. Not cheap but definitely worth it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dutchfemale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Difese, Propriétaire at La Cantina, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely comments, we appreciate them immensely. We hope to see you next time you come to St Remy.
Kind regards
Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    218
    56
    26
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lymington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Real Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We enjoyed La Cantina so much we ate there twice during our week in St Remy. The food is uncomplicated, and all the better for it, the Spaghetti Bolognese is delicious and my girl friend tells me that the pizzas are equally good, the Tiramisu is so good we had it on both visits, our food was also accompanied by a superb bottle of wine, the Sainte Marguerite Rose is outstanding, and everything is excellent value. The service is friendly and quick, and the owners are so welcoming....the whole experience enhanced our stay in St Remy.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Difese, Propriétaire at La Cantina, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely comment. Hope are enjoying the St Marguerite back home and promise to keep a few bottles for the next time you come to St Remy.
Best regards, Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romania
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything was great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

From the staff (very accommodating) to the decor (contemporary) and the food (Italian) everything was AMAZING! You need to go and get a pizza, or the salad or anything. It's just the best. The owners are the nicest people, and everything on the menu (that we tried) is phenomenal. The prices are fair, the portions are more than enough. The pizzas are not to be missed, and the desserts are spectacular (the tiramisu is made with actual mascarpone).

Helpful?
1 Thank travelling_david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Difese, Propriétaire at La Cantina, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for the lovely comment you made. It gives us immense pleasure when our customers enjoy the food and the decor and appreciate the work we do. We hope to see you again soon!
Best regard, Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great location, food & hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

The owners spent a lot of time developing their product, perfecting the pizza dough and creating an extensive menu of options featuring local and seasonal ingredients. The pizzas are great, but they also serve good pasta dishes and salads. The location on the ring road is a great place to linger and watch village France drift by. The personable owners speak good English and readily recognize and welcome you if you return. We ate here 3 times in a 2-week stay and strongly recommend it for an informal meal at either lunch or dinner.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Withyscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good food, excellent atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We were in St Remy for the weekend and were recommended to La Cantina by our hotel. We loved it. The food was very good, friendly owners, professional staff. Wide choice of italian dishes for menu. Ingredients of Excellent quality. The desserts really, really good. Exceptional homemade raspberry sorbets, pannacotta made by the wife of the owner, a must!, delicious. We booked the restaurant just before leaving the hotel and managed to get a table for2. We saw many clients arriving after us and couldn't get a table, so we would advise a booking if you want to try this worthwhile restaurant!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FranceMauritius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cantina also viewed

Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to La Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing