We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good funky place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Cantina

La Cantina
18 boulevard Victor Hugo, 13210 Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France
+33 4 90 90 90 60
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $28
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Pizzeria contemporaine avec service au comptoir devant une cuisine ouverte. Une selection des meilleurs produits italiens.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
82 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good funky place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I think this place changed a lot because a few years ago it was a sort of take away place. Now there are some tables inside and very long bar at which you can sit and eat which is what we did.

Good food (we had garlic bread and pizzas), very attentive staff and a very funky, buzzy atmosphere.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dutchfemale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    189
    50
    23
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“An island of great Italian food in a sea of French dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

La Cantina is a wonderful small restaurant in St. Remy. After getting over the initial shock of not finding it to be a Mexican bar, we were happy to find a great menu for dinner. The lasagna (although the serving was a tad small) was delicious and their salads and pizzas were well above average. The husband and wife owners are very gracious and make sure each diner has a good experience. We brought a couple of Australian friends (one who is a professional chef) both of whom were more than satisfied with their meals. We were in St. Remy for 2 weeks and ate here 3 nights......Highly recommended!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
“Don't miss this stop while in St. Remy, it's fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Order the pizza barrata, the Grande salad and a glass of rosé. One of our Provence mainstays!
The owner is the friendliest in France.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roamingtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villefranche-sur-Mer, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Just so Lovely <3”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

I really love the quality of just perfectly selected products for food they making in this modern Italian style restaurant.
Service in very high standards with people who love job they doing.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank xko77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Difese, Propriétaire at La Cantina, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your comment. It gives us great pleasure when our clients appreciate the quality of produce we use. We hope to see you again very soon.
Claude and Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, CA
Level Contributor
152 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Quality at Reasonable Prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

La Cantina has a menu of standard Italian fare, well prepared and presented, and at reasonable prices. Everything we had on two visits was very excellent. This is a good alternative if you have been having upscale French fare and want to try something simple.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PatioPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cantina also viewed

Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to La Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing