We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mas Bellevue

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mas Bellevue
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Small B&B a couple miles east of St. Remy. Quiet. Serene. Beautiful. Didn't want to leave. Nice pool. Wonderful symphony of cicadas. Gracious host. Cute Dog.

Only complaint was that room was a little stuffy at night - no air circulation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
46
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood Ranch, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

What a wonderful find! We have stayed at many B&B's both in the States and in Europe and this was definitely the most wonderful one we have ever found. We were so sad to leave this beautiful setting. Imagine the smell of lavender and gorgeous views of Les Alpilles from your private terrace, a communal breakfast table on the vine-covered terrace, and olive groves everywhere. We felt like we were in the midst of a Van Gogh painting! Add to that the charming proprietors, Jean and Hermine, and their lovely daughter, Sara, (not to forget Toy, the dog) and Mas Bellevue is definitely a 5-star property! Not only do we recommend it, we can hardly wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

I found this B&B using TripAdvisor and totally loved it! You can tell the owners really love the place by how well they take care of it. The wife's English isn't the best, but the husband and daughter are pretty fluent. And their dog, Toy, is so friendly! We got the Camomille room which has a queen size bed on the ground floor and two twin beds on the loft. Breakfast each morning was a lovely affair, taking place on the terrace if the weather was nice, and indoors otherwise. Everything about this place was an absolute delight, and I would totally return if I was ever in the area again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joyosity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

Driving through the iron gates of Mas Bellevue, my adult daughter and I felt like we had arrived on a movie set. As the days passed we became convinced of it.

From that opening scene - with its gravel drive, elegant house, and orderly lavender-lined jardin –to the final curtain as the gates swung shut behind our little blue Renault, we fell into our roles as escapees from our lives in Chicago.

We still can’t decide which scene we liked the best. Was it breakfast of fresh fruit, prosciutto, and flaky croissants with fresh plum jam from the trees in the front garden? That scene was set perfectly with the deep purple Alpilles mountains catching the morning light, - a view framed by open French doors and wisteria in full bloom. I still smile when I remember bantering about the day’s plans with our charming host Jeanne and his beautiful femme Hermine. It was a comic scene as they wrinkled their brows, straining to not offend, as I struggled through my recently practiced French gained from endless hours of audiotapes.

My daughter’s favorite scene took place each day as the sun set, seated at a little café table on the terrace outside our bedroom. That was the one where we recorded the day’s events on her iPad. The staging was just right - creamy local chevre, freshly baked baguette, a soupçon of tapenade all accompanied by a bottle of local wine produced at the neighbor’s vineyard.

But how can I possibly describe all that happened or tell about each of the charming characters we encountered – like Mas Bellevue’s curious black dog Toy, who deposited small rocks at our feet and then looked at us wistfully, expecting them to be tossed for his retrieval; or the misty, morning walk to La Caume, the bird & nature sanctuary, just down the road; or the sunny morning at St. Remy’s market; or the fragrant afternoon stroll through Saint-Paul de Mausole where Vincent spent his final days? Ah, well, I’m giving away too much of the story. You’d best come and see for yourself….

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SusannaFalkenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
121 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed three days with Hermine and Jean and had a very enjoyable time. Rooms are smallish but they have a balcony outside which would be lovely in the warmer months. The property is close enough to St Remy to make a drive to diner very easy and far enough away to be peaceful and quiet. Hermine and Jean can speak a bit of English but it certainly helps if you brush up your French before visiting.
Breakfasts are good and Jean and Hermine are always ready to advise on what to see.There are 100 olive trees and also walnut trees on the property and I'm sure in season Jean would let you help with the harvest !!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank magnet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

This is a truly lovely little B&B just outside of St. Remy de Provence, matrhcing the photographs on their website. We highly recommend Mas Bellevue and the care of proprietors Jean and Hermine Menard. We (Kiwis) were staying there at the time of the semi-finals of the Rugby World Cup, and Jean and Hermine shared their hospitality, interest in the games and the results, to the maximum. (For the record, as we left them, France and New Zealand’s All Blacks were the confirmed finalists, which the All Blacks won 8-7 the day after we returned to New Zealand).
The room we stayed in perfect, nice en-suite facilities, and very clean. Note that there are no in-room cooking facilities, but there was an outside BBQ available, and poolside facilities, although our stay was a bit late in October to use these. The B&B is close enough to St. Remy to be convenient for dinner but away from town so it's relaxed and private. Twice, we collected fresh cold foods from the village, including cheeses and fruit, and sat out on the room courtyard to enjoy a quiet dinner with wine, and not have to worry about driving. We were able to do several day-trips from here to see some of the lovely villages including Les Baux, Eygalieres, Gordes, Rousillon, Fontvielle, Arles, and of course, Avignon. The owners’ attention to detail was great, including the room facilities, and in their provisions of an excellent breakfast each morning, and advice.
We would highly recommend Jean and Hermine Menard’s Mas Bellevue as a perfect place to stay in Provence.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Wendy and Albie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

This is a lovely little B&B just outside of St. Remy de Provence. It's set in an olive grove with beautiful views of the Alppilles mountains. The room we stayed in was a good size (not huge), nice ensuite facilities, and very clean. The B&B is close enough to St. Remy to be convenient for dinner but away from town so it's relaxed and private. We were able to do several day trips from here to see some of the lovely villages including Les Baux, Eygalieres (great market on Fridays), Gordes, and Fontaine de Vaucluse. The owners were very nice and prepared an excellent breakfast each morning. Our only dissapointment was that we were there off season and it was too cold to enjoy the pool - but it gives us a reason to come back!! We have to thank Trip Advisor for finding this gem - I'm only concerned that with all the great ratings it may be full the next time we want to visit.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank colbinkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Remy-de-Provence hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel du Soleil
Hotel du Soleil
#4 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Sous les Figuiers
Hotel Sous les Figuiers
#6 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mas Valentine
Mas Valentine
#9 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Canto Cigalo
Canto Cigalo
#12 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
4.1 mi away
Le Mas des Figues
Le Mas des Figues
#1 of 33 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
2.3 mi away
Le Mas des Tourterelles
Le Mas des Tourterelles
#4 of 33 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mas Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mas Bellevue

Property: Mas Bellevue
Address: Grand Draille Sud | Saint-Rémy de Provence, 13210 Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing