We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mas Bellevue

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mas Bellevue
France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Peaceful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2011

We've just came back from a five night stay in the "Mas Bellevue". We chose this place according to the comments we read in tripadvisor.
We were not disappointed!
The mas is very well located, only 5 minutes driving from the center of St Remy de Provence, isolated in the middle of a field of olive trees, it's a peaceful place where you can relax by the pool, in the garden or enjoy the view of the mountains in front.
Our hosts were very friendly, eager to give usefuls tips to the traveler. The breakfast was a nice moment shared with our host and the others guests of the other two rooms from different countries.
We had the camomille room which is perfect for one couple and one or two children (two beds on a mezzanine). We loved the room that was clean and very nicely decorated.
Were we to go back to Provence, we'll come back here in a heartbeat

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guillaume_O75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
46
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2010

This B&B just outside St Remy de Provence is a good base to explore the town of St Remy as well as all the other well known towns like Gordes, Le Baux de Provence, Isle Sur la Sorgue etc which all are within easy driving distance. We preferred not to stay in St Remy and the choice proved to be right for us as the town itself was quite a dissapointment to us! We liked the big weekly market though which was easy to visit from Mas Bellevue.

We loved the Alpilles Region and the views at Mas Bellevue were spectacular. We stayed in room Oliviers with a small terrace opening on the garden. Coming from Le Prince Noir where we spent our previous four nights in a suite, it is understandable that we found the room a bit small! Oliviers is well equipped and lovely, but we won't choose it as a base for a whole week, as we prefer to have more space and maybe a small kitchen. We got cold on the first night and found the bedding a bit sparse and maybe small for the bed, but after some explaining in our basic German, Hermine provided us with an extra duvet cover.

Breakfast was served in their kitchen by the hostess herself with all the ohter guests at a set time each morning and we really enjoyed meeting others from all over the world! It was more than just another continental breakfast with eggs of your choice, cold meats, preserves and cheeses as well as croissants and different breads. The hosts really tried to meet the needs of all their guests and we loved Toy "Menard", their very friendly and well behaved dog! Staying here was like staying with friends, but with enough privacy.

Overall an excellent place to stay which I would recommend without hesitation. The only downside to us was the size of the room and the shower especially (very small).

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ters317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham NC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2010

Our stay was quite pleasant here in the beautiful setting. Owners Jean and Hermine were very helpful with reservations for dinner. The rooms are very clean and spacious. Breakfast is wonderful, especially when the sun is out and you can take it outside overlooking the olive groves and mountains.
There is a nice pool on site.
Extremely peaceful setting in superb location in the heart of Provence and only a 5 minute drive to the lively, historic town of St Remy.
Highly reccomended.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DUKEwino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkinton, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2010

My husband and I stayed here with friends at the end of August. St. Remy was a perfect launching pad for all of the sights we visited within Provence. Between Avignon, Arles, and the Luberon, it was truly a central spot, and we very much enjoyed the lively market in St Remy, some lovely dinners in town, and the beautiful scenery and relaxing atmosphere at Mas Bellevue.

This intimate B&B far exceeded our expectations. The night of our arrival, Jean and Hermine were waiting to greet us and welcome us to their beautiful home. The owners moved here recently and renovated this space where they now live and run their business. This B&B provides a gorgeous panoramic view of les Alpilles mountains directly from the garden of the hotel and from the terraces outside of the individual rooms. We were greeted every morning with a lovely breakfast of an egg, croissants and pastries, fresh fruit, and local honey prepared by Hermine. We were also accompanied at our meals by their adorable and playful dog Toy, who seemed not to have barked once during our stay there.

There is also a beautiful pool area and a boules court in the back, where we enjoyed some time relaxing with the friends we were traveling with. It is truly a private and intimate stay, with only 3 guest rooms available. We were made very much at home and often felt as though we had the place to ourselves.

For everything that Mas Bellevue offered us, the value also could not be beat. I would not hesitate to recommend this place to any traveler looking to take in the beautiful scenery and quiet pace that Provence offered us. It was the perfect contrast to the hustle and bustle of the previous days we spent in Paris.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eKm_NewEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2010

Mas Bellevue offers an oasis of peace and quiet amidst the hubbub of visiting the many Gallo-Roman antiquities of Provence. Centrally located. Beautifully appointed. Everything one could wish has been catered for. Unbeatable!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winsford2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2010

I read many amazing reviews about Mas Bellevue, but we were still absolutely amazed and delighted when we arrived. Some of the most beautiful surroundings in Provence, with the wonderful town of St Remy nearby, and Le Beoux a 20 minute drive away. We would have stayed much longer if we could have, but they were all booked up. Jean and Hermine were delightful hosts and their dog Toy was 1 of the neatest dogs ever. Beautiful property, comfortable and very clean and tastefully decorated rooms, great people, a wonderful, wonderful stay. We will certainly visit again next time we are looking for a b&b in Provence. Thank you Hermine and Jean!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank contactjasonr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2010

Upon arrival at Mas Bellvue, the first the you will notice is the absolutely gorgeous view. I'm not going to describe it because it wont truly capture the beauty of the grounds, and two- because some things are best left a surprise.

Jean and Hermine greeted us and showed us to our immaculate and large rooms (very un-Paris like). We stayed in the chamomile room, and our friends stayed in the iris room and both were gorgeous. Our hosts were nothing but helpful and eager to help us enjoy our stay. Our lame attempts at French didn't bother them in the least. Jean speaks English well, and Hermine's English is far better than my French! They were very willing to answer any and all questions we had about the area, but when we didn't need them, they were very unobtrusive and we felt like we had the place to ourselves.

We had access to the great pool and bar area that included a refrigerator that we could stock with anything we wanted. It was a great place to hang out in between visits to different cities and markets.

Breakfast was the best. Each morning we were served eggs, croissants, and fresh fruit picked off their trees and vines. There were also many jams and honeys to try.

Mas Bellevue is a short 2 minute drive from the center of St. Remy. Both Mas Bellevue and St. Remy Center has ample free parking which made everything easy.

In our 12 nights that we spent in France this place was the best hands down and we hope to return!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BostonTravellerANC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Remy-de-Provence hotels
2.6 mi away
Hotel Le Mas Saint Joseph
Hotel Le Mas Saint Joseph
#11 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
1.9 mi away
Villa Glanum Hotel
Villa Glanum Hotel
#12 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel du Soleil
Hotel du Soleil
#4 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Le Mas des Figues
Le Mas des Figues
#1 of 34 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
2.3 mi away
Le Mas des Tourterelles
Le Mas des Tourterelles
#3 of 34 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel de Tourrel
Hotel de Tourrel
#4 of 34 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mas Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mas Bellevue

Property: Mas Bellevue
Address: Grand Draille Sud | Saint-Rémy de Provence, 13210 Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing