We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place with good food, service and price”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La gousse d'ail

La gousse d'ail
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place with good food, service and price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

The food in this restaurant was so good that my husband and I came here 2 consecutive nights when we were in St Remy. For a reasonable dinner price of 18 euros, we had a 3 course meal. The appetizers - seafood vol au vent and ham with mozzarella salad were delightful. The main courses were the highlights of the meal. I had the rump steak with potatoes on both nights as it was too delicious. The rump steak was well marinated and very tender. I did not expect such tenderness as it was not top quality steak. The potatoes that came with it were fantastic, pan fried till the outsides were crisp while the inside still soft. They were so good that I finished every piece of it on both nights. My husband ate the fish on the first night and lamb on the second. Fish was good but not spectacular. The lamb was great!
As for dessert I had the chocolate mousse but it was only so-so for me as I'm not a fan of mousse. My husband had ice-cream/sorbet on both nights and they were up to standard. In addition to the satisfying 3-course meal, the restaurant served a complimentary pre-appetizer of mushroom salad and post-dessert snack of some iced lime sorbet with meringue. I liked the lime sorbet and the meringue. The meringue was a little different from the usual. It was crisp on the outside like all the rest but in the inside, it was a bit chewy/spongy and it was great!

Service was also fast and good. The waiters came a few times to check if our food was good and if we are doing fine. An elderly man (I presumed he was the owner) came to our table after our meal and said something which we didn't understand. This was because he only spoke French and we only spoke English. But he was very friendly. We found out from the English speaking waiter that the elderly man wanted to ask if we enjoyed our dinners.

Two thumbs up for this little jewel!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    120
    42
    26
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quirky decor, awful food & unfriendly staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Quirky decor thanks to the old antiques, awful food due to frozen undercooked fish, plastic-like mozzarella & dried basilic in the country of fresh food & herbs and unfriendly staff who find it difficult to smile. No enthusiasm in serving such tasteless food Who could blame them.
Avoid at all cost this restaurant and visit some of the restaurants on the main square which serve fresh & tasty Provence food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SFGG2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
546 reviews
340 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“Chef Saved The Day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

The food in this restaurant is very good indeed - a lovely refreshing watermelon soup/drink was a welcome complimentary starter. Starters of pasta with pesto & almonds and gazpacho with guacomole were interesting variations on old favourites. Main courses of duck (very rich sauce) and sea bream with basil oil/foam were good. A local Les Alpilles Val D'Oule white wine was crisp and refreshing on a hot day.

The waiting staff seemed largely bored and uncommunicative. There was one lady with a nice smile and friendly attitude, but the three men let the place down. Our main waiter warmed a little eventually, but none of them created a good first impression. With better waiting staff this place would be excellent.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluesprout61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best food in St. Remy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

Great food, wonderful staff and lovely outdoor seating

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Seal555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant in St. Remy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

I can't believe this place is rated so low. We got adventurous and went to the other side of St. Remy tonight. We looked at the menu and the patio looked so nice, we decided to give it a try.
The 18 Euro menu was great. There were 2 extra courses that were served, an asparagus soup starter followed by a nice salad with buffalo mozzarella, tomatoe and a vinaigrette. The steak (not something you'll get at a high end steak house, but good none-the-less) was great tasting The garlic was not overpowering, but it was there. and finally a nice dessert of fresh fruit salad. With a coffee & and 50 cl of a house Red (very nice) the price was 55 Euro for us both. To top everything off, we were served a nice dish of iced lemon when the bill arrived..
Wish we'd moved out of our comfort zone a bit earlier in our visit here and discovered this place sooner, but now we're off to our next destination.
Until next time.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La gousse d'ail also viewed

Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to La gousse d'ail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing