We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely location - food a bit hit and miss”
Review of L'Olivade

L'Olivade
Reserve with
L'Olivade is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lovely location - food a bit hit and miss”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Lovely little courtyard restaurant. Nicely laid out but a bit cramped. The food was hit and miss. We ate here twice and had 2 good starters, 2 good mains and the same number of decidedly indifferent meals. Expensive for what it is.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank EV97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    84
    46
    24
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rude staff, don't go if you have kids”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

The restaurant looked good from outside, so we decided to eat there. We were 2 families with 4 adults, 2 kids aged 3, 6 yrs and a baby 1 year old. They joined 2 tables with places for 8 people. The kids were not hungry, so we decided not to order for them. But the lady at the restaurant said if we don't order for the kids, we cannot sit where we were sitting. That surprised us, because there were lots of empty tables at that time in the restaurant. We then asked her if we could have a table for 6 people, but she never gave us that. She just came and took away the paper napkins, knives and forks from the 2nd table. At one point, the 3 year old was colouring her book and sitting with her knees on the chair. That lady very rudely told her to sit down. I've heard restaurants in France are not child friendly, but this was down right rude. Finally when the food arrived, there was another shock. One of us was a vegetarian and did not eat fish either. We told her that, but when the salad arrived it had fish in it. It was obviously sent back. The customer service was very poor and the lady was really rude. Would not recommend it to anyone.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TOtal_tOurist_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed May 23, 2012

You'd better have a reservation or Madame will either seat you in the back room or send you to the street. She is tough.The preferred seat is in a non-descript square courtyard at the front which is completely free of charm or nuance. Imagine an airport Marriott...but the food...much to our surprise, was very good. Good enough that my companion rates it in his top five Provencal meals. For me.....not quite. But certainly worth a look.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sheams54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL - JUST WONDERFUL”
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Beautiful little restaurant with great menu. Very atmospheric, particular;y helped by the wonderful, friendly staff.
Two visits, and I can't wait to return.

Roger de Havilland

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank roger d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“C'est si bon!”
Reviewed August 30, 2011

I reserved a table in the pretty courtyard of this restaurant and four of us dined here, selecting three courses each from the menu priced at 21euro.
All of us enjoyed our meal and with the jolly nice house wine priced at 15 euro a bottle, we felt it was extremely good value for money with very pleasant, efficient and friendly service.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank champagnesliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Olivade also viewed

Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to L'Olivade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing