We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude staff, don't go if you have kids”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of L'Olivade

L'Olivade
Reserve with
L'Olivade is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Paris
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rude staff, don't go if you have kids”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

The restaurant looked good from outside, so we decided to eat there. We were 2 families with 4 adults, 2 kids aged 3, 6 yrs and a baby 1 year old. They joined 2 tables with places for 8 people. The kids were not hungry, so we decided not to order for them. But the lady at the restaurant said if we don't order for the kids, we cannot sit where we were sitting. That surprised us, because there were lots of empty tables at that time in the restaurant. We then asked her if we could have a table for 6 people, but she never gave us that. She just came and took away the paper napkins, knives and forks from the 2nd table. At one point, the 3 year old was colouring her book and sitting with her knees on the chair. That lady very rudely told her to sit down. I've heard restaurants in France are not child friendly, but this was down right rude. Finally when the food arrived, there was another shock. One of us was a vegetarian and did not eat fish either. We told her that, but when the salad arrived it had fish in it. It was obviously sent back. The customer service was very poor and the lady was really rude. Would not recommend it to anyone.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TOtal_tOurist_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    81
    44
    23
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

You'd better have a reservation or Madame will either seat you in the back room or send you to the street. She is tough.The preferred seat is in a non-descript square courtyard at the front which is completely free of charm or nuance. Imagine an airport Marriott...but the food...much to our surprise, was very good. Good enough that my companion rates it in his top five Provencal meals. For me.....not quite. But certainly worth a look.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sheams54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL - JUST WONDERFUL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

Beautiful little restaurant with great menu. Very atmospheric, particular;y helped by the wonderful, friendly staff.
Two visits, and I can't wait to return.

Roger de Havilland

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank roger d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“C'est si bon!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

I reserved a table in the pretty courtyard of this restaurant and four of us dined here, selecting three courses each from the menu priced at 21euro.
All of us enjoyed our meal and with the jolly nice house wine priced at 15 euro a bottle, we felt it was extremely good value for money with very pleasant, efficient and friendly service.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank champagnesliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“nice place, variable food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

We ate here with my wife and 2 1/2 year old son
We were lucky to get table outside in the courtyard without a reservation
The staff were friendly and spoke a bit of english so we managed to order food without too much difficulty
We tried the 21 and 27 euro menu as well as the kid's meal
The entrees arrived promptly as did the wine and drinks

Entrees
1. Artichoke hearts braised with bacon was tasty with nice herb flavours. The artichokes were tender and sweet. Even the two year old ate them.
2. Fish soup was good. Appropriately fishy though the roux was somewhat tasteless and of a disturbingly vibrant orange hue

Mains
1. Kids meal was pan fried chicken escalopes with pasta. Well cooked and flavoured with a generous portion.
2. Pave of beef was ok. Cooked appropriately with sides of potatoes and egg plant. It was however rather chewy.
3. Mixed grill included the same chicken as in the kids meal however it was very tough. Perhaps it had been sitting under the warmer for too long. Half a duck breast was nice an pink and quite tender, unlike the chewy fibrous stuff I have eaten so far on our time in france. The real let down was the steak cooked over charcoal. It would have been better used for shoe leather. I did not finish either the chicken or the steak for fear of my jaw giving out. Sides were potatoes, beans and eggplant which were ok

Dessert.
1. Pear cake with cherry coulis was excellent
2. Floating meringue with custard was reasonable
3. Lime sorbet for the kids meal was fine too

Summary
Reasonable food excluding the beef which has obviously come from unhappy cows that have been running around the paddock a bit too much.
Pleasant atmosphere, nice service.
I would not rush back but if I had to eat here again I would not complain too much.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A1p4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Olivade also viewed

Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to L'Olivade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing