We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Despite the years, the service still lets the fine food down”
Review of Marc De Passorio - CLOSED

Marc De Passorio
Price range: $46 - $94
Cuisines: European, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Feusisberg, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Despite the years, the service still lets the fine food down”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We have eaten at the Marc de Passario's fine restaurant many times. The food is excellent, imaginative and beautifully presented. The service is slow (had to get up twice to reach the wine bottle 5 meters away which was closer than the wine waiter got t o us) and it took nearly three hours for three (very good) courses on a Friday lunchtime when the restaurant was one third full.
We had excellent food but I really do not want the staff to dictate the speed of eating. Bring me the food and I will eat it at the speed and tempo I want to. As usual the staff seemed to evaporate from time to time. All pleasant people but seen too rarely.
Went back after two years to see if the service has got any better. It has not but the food remains excellent.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank royvocking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    19
    17
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Superb food, great service”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Some of the best food we have eaten in France, well presented and with impeccable service. It is the same chef as in the hotel's fine dining restaurant.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“See other reviews under Restaurant Gastronomique de l'Hotel du Vallon de Valrugues.”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

There are different options for eating in the hotel and this upscale restaurant is one of them See other reviews too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Hotel du Vallon de Valrugues Restaurants”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

There seems to be a bit of confusion in these reviews. I have eaten here a few times as our shared ownership home is across the street. The bar (many photos of Steve McQueen) is initimate and friendly with great vesper martinis at E15 (the tapanade breads were fresh once and stale once). The bistro offers more relaxed fare with good food and services. The upscale restuarant Marc de Passorio seemed expensive but we had an excellent meal prix fixe as a "Discovery" menu at E59. Good value. I have not stayed at the hotel so have not eaten by the pool where some have said the service is weak. I've been before and will go back again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Service very ordinary, understaffed.”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Requested service by the pool three times, went inside to the bar and left our order. Still did not receive our drink order. Young bar staff member explaining he was too young to make the cocktails??

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marc De Passorio also viewed

Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing