We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great French meal at a great price”

le bistrot decouverte
Price range: $39 - $62
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Moscow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great French meal at a great price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

We enjoyed a fabulous three-course dinner—pre-fix 32 euros—in an almost empty restaurant. For starters, we had goose liver and vegetable tart. Our mains were selected from a Provencal menu that included fish, goose and lamb. Our dessert (to die for) was crème brulee and homemade vanilla ice cream with salted caramel sauce. Accolades for the wine list adorned the walls, and our waiter suggested a perfect glass to accompany my meal. In our opinion, this restaurant is vastly under-rated, and we hope that other folks who enjoyed it as much as we did will send in their opinions.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    119
    44
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great meal of local fare at this town centre bistro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We enjoyed a great meal here in this town centre bistro. Delicious specials of in season local produce. For genuine Provencial cuisine this was the best we found.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank james c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
317 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“GREAT LUNCH”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We were looking for a place for lunch and happened upon this restaurant and having the English menu certainly helped. Having been on the road for almost three weeks, mashed potatos sounded pretty good on the plat du jour, so we opted for that...and it was a great choice. For 12.5 euro, I believe, we had beautiful, flavourful chicken, wonderful mashed potatos and salad. We savoured every bite. The restaurant was not very busy when we arrived, but in the space of just a few minutes it was packed. This was one of the nicest meals we had in our five weeks in France.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suzabella60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
161 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Very pleasant; nice food, good service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

This was a walk in visit for us, and it proved to be very good. We were welcomed, regardless of not having a booking, and shown to a nice table on the sunny (but shaded) street corner terrace, which gave a great view of the (very busy) passing parade. As an aside, that may be an issue for some people: the street is quite busy, so there could be fumes on some days, not to mention noise.

We were recommended several dishes on a blackboard, and also given a menu with French and English versions. We chose from the blackboard, a salad nicoise for me, and roast chicken for her, as well as a half carafe of local rosé. All arrived without a long wait. The salad nicoise was as good as I've had, topped with a nicely cooked piece of fresh red tuna. Not overdressed or over seasoned, with a nice amount of anchovy, sun-dried tomatoes, boiled egg and potatoes, and a nice variety of salad leaves. The roast chicken came with mashed potatoes and salad leaves, and was reported to be a pleasant meal, too.

Just on €40 for two, it seemed reasonable value for the quality of the meal and service. Recommended.

Helpful?
Thank timboc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, CA
Level Contributor
200 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Excellent meal/English version of menu!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We just came in from 4 nights on the Riviera and this beat any meal there. Cozy, small space inside with seating for around 20. Unlike most of the nicer/non-pizza/pasta restaurants, this one had an English language version of the menu. I finally felt like I could order traditional French food without being a terrible inconvenience to the waitstaff. SIDE NOTE: With as many English speaking travelers here I think these French restaurants would do much brisker business if they would have an English version of the menu as well as French. They are very hard to find and are generally with the lower quality restaurants. Back to this review.
My meal was the 29 euro set menu. I started with an eggplant mousse with salad, main was roast pork, potatoes and vegetables in a savory honey sauce and dessert was chocolate lava cake and a scoop of raspberry sorbet. All were great! Service was accommodating. The only negative was that it rained tonight and it was a bit hot and stuffy inside. If you wear layers you should be fine. I wouldn't hesitate to return here and recommend to others. My bill was about $40 US dollars. I had tap water. (not a believer in bottled water. Biggest marketing victory in the history of civilization.)

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HeathCalabasas_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed le bistrot decouverte also viewed

Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to le bistrot decouverte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing