We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for exploring Provence”
Review of Hotel Select

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Select
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Salon-de-Provence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2013

A really lovely comfortable and quiet hotel which was well situated for exploring many parts of Provence. The owners, Donald and Letticia, were lovely people and could not have been more helpful. The service they provided was excellent. Our en-suite room was very comfortable and located on the first floor above the main entrance but there was no obvious noise. The breakfast was very good and more than enough to start the day. They also told us about all the restaurants in the town. We were also provided with a parking pass in a secure car park in the town centre which, although a few minutes walk away, was very useful and good value for money.

Salon-de-Provence had lots of interesting places to visit including a museum. As it was our first visit to Provence, they gave us some fantastic ideas about what was worth visiting in the area and also the best way to get there. They also told us about some lovely 'off the beaten track' villages that were really well worth visiting; Mouries for the 'olives trail'; Eyguières a medieval village in the hills of the Alpilles and there were lots more besides.

Donald also recommended we visit les Baux-de-Provence which was a fantastic location to visit with hill fort ruins at one end of the scale and at the other end, a superb but very modern 'photographic light show' which was displayed in the caves. There were sufficient restaurants there to satisfy most needs and given that this was an isolated location, the prices everywhere here were very reasonable.

It was also recommended that we visit Arles. This town had plenty to offer all tastes. The medieval history includes museum of Ancient Arles and the Roman arena along with many other worthwhile attractions. Donald said that on our return we should come back through St-Martin-de-Crau if we could. We did and this village had a fantastic arboritum just as you came into the town. It had a lake with swans, water fowl of many descriptions and also several coypu swimming there to.

As we were only on a short break in Provence, we probably would not have seen as much as we did had not the owners of the hotel been so helpful. They went out of their way to assist in any way they could and as with your previous reviewers, I totally agree that they really made our stay very enjoyable. Thank you Donald and Letticia very much. We will be back to see more of the great area you live in.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Select
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 168 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

We had a fantastic time in Provence and not only thanks to the beautiful Provence, great people, super food and wine, etc...It was also thanks to the Hotel Select with really friendly and helpful owners (nice family), all of them were great, including their dog! :) Perfect service, good clean room, good breakfast in a very nice yard, perfect way of safe parking even if not close to the hotel, great location in city center. Thanks!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The excellent rating of Hotel Select is richly deserved. Clean, quiet, comfortable and an excellent location just a short distance from good resteraunts, shopping, museums and entertainment. As most of the other reviewers point out, what makes this hotel truly outstanding are the host/owners Donald and Letticia. It is obvious that they are committed to, not only running a competent hotel, but to enhancing the pleasure of your stay by providing information, recommendations, advice on travel and just an attitude of graciousness. The petite dejeuner is fresh and a nutritious start for your day. We have been here for two 3-week stays and will be back. As another reviewer commented, we are surprised that Salon is not recommended as a base for day trip exploration. There are interesting places to visit in every direction. We mainly took car excursions this time but next time we will try train excursions to busy towns where parking is a problem and sometimes impossible. It's a treat to return to the Select Hotel after a day's trip and be greeted by "bon jour" and sincere interest in how your day went. This IS the place to stay when in Salon de Provence.

Room Tip: Rooms on street side are quiet because of modern double paned windows plus it is a quiet street with...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I must say that the picture doesn't represent the hotel at all !!!
The staff are really nice, because it's their own hotel.
They help us a lot, and gave us information about all France and not only Salon de provence.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yair S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

My wife loved it. It gives you a real provencial feeling. Located fivr minuts walk from the town center. The town is a good place for a provance trip. Exellent service. Very frienly owners. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amirlsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Hotel Select was a perfect choice for our stay in the Provence. The rooms are clean and very comfortable. The owners go out of their way to help you and always provide service with a smile. The hotel is very conveniently located with a access to a parking garage a short walk away. We loved our stay at Hotel Select because the owners made you feel very welcome, and you can tell they love what they are doing. One final note, the Wifi is free, and I think that is a major added bonus in these days of traveling. It was very much appreciated, and I happily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aandskern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Hotel Select is a little gem in the heart of Provence. The rooms are nothing special and our ensuite bathroom was tiny, but everything was spotlessly clean and the bed very comfortable. But what really made our 3 nights in this hotel special were the amazingly helpful and friendly owners Donald and Letitia. They made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived until the moment we left. Donald was particularly helpful giving us driving directions, including printing out google maps for us and giving us suggestions of places we should visit in and around Provence. Salon itself is a beautiful little town and is the perfect base for visiting the rest of Provence by car (note that car parking isn't onsite - it's at a secure multi-storey carpark a 5-10 minute walk away). We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nikki1710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salon-de-Provence hotels
1.4 mi away
Ibis Salon de Provence
Ibis Salon de Provence
#2 of 18 in Salon-de-Provence
301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel d'Angleterre
Hotel d'Angleterre
#3 of 18 in Salon-de-Provence
464 reviews
1.8 mi away
B&B Hotel Salon de Provence
B&B Hotel Salon de Provence
#7 of 18 in Salon-de-Provence
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Garrigae Abbaye de Sainte Croix
Garrigae Abbaye de Sainte Croix
#1 of 18 in Salon-de-Provence
421 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel de la Poste
Grand Hotel de la Poste
#6 of 18 in Salon-de-Provence
104 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel du Midi
Hotel du Midi
#5 of 18 in Salon-de-Provence
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Select? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Select

Address: 35 rue Suffren, 13300, Salon-de-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Salon-de-Provence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Salon-de-Provence
Price Range: $77 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Select 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the picturesque Provence region, the Hôtel Select welcomes you to this former 17th-century private house all year round.Set in a peaceful residential street 250 meters from the city centre, the Hôtel Select offers the ideal accommodation for your business trips and leisure stays.Guestrooms are comfortable and practical and equipped with en suite facilities, TV and free Wi-Fi internet access. Some rooms have a view of the patio and its lovely fountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Select reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing