We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms with a view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Garrigae Abbaye de Sainte Croix
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Salon-de-Provence
Certificate of Excellence
Newton, Mass
Level Contributor
227 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Rooms with a view”
Reviewed June 9, 2010

Beautiful setting with lots of trails, nice pool, helpful and polite staff. Rooms are "climatisee" which is great for us Americans, with lots of little goodies (slippers, products of the area) awaiting guests in the room. Our room had a terrace with a view of Salon de Provence.

The only things preventing this from being 5 stars are: (1) food is good but not what you would expect for the price, prices being at the "gastronomique" level;; (2) we found another place in Beaume de Venise (Clos de Saint Saourde) that we will also be reviewing, that was a somewhat better value (albeit no air conditioning, which might be worth the difference in price in midsummer

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OOBonomist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    109
    35
    11
    2
See reviews for
42
249
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2009

My husband and I just stayed at the Abbaye for a week and loved it. It's a quiet hotel that reminds you of staying at a private home, like the Tishka used to in Marrakesh. The grounds are lovely and the view is to die for. The Abbaye isn't a Four Seasons nor a Ritz Carlton, but it is sufficiently luxurious if you like to be spoiled (comme moi LOL), without being overrun by staff as one sometimes can be at a 5-star hotel (although you don't get the 5-star fabulosity, either -- but you don't miss it, trust me). The staff is VERY helpful (a RARITY in France!!!!) and there's nothing they won't do to help you. I loved the tranquility of it all -- we went to rest and repose, and we were able to do just that. The pool is super quiet and not overrun with 10,000 screaming people or children. (I wouldn't bring anyone under teenage years here, btw -- it's not a hotel that's geared towards little kids.) You can go on great hikes all around the property and the view reeeeally is stunning. The rooms are recently done and stylishly simple. We were on the ground floor and had centipedes as house guests, though, because of recent rains; housekeeping came to remove them frequently and they weren't a bother in the end (and I'm not a bug-friendly type of girl LOL). We ate almost all of our meals at the hotel, and the food is FANTASTIC. Even when we slept in and missed scheduled meal times, they'd still find something to serve us on the terrace, like a lovely salad or a sandwich with a chilled glass of rose. We're wild about the Abbaye and will definitely make it our HQ for yearly visits to Provence (p.s. -- it's ideally located for exploring the region by car).

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SABRINASYLVESTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
Level Contributor
173 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2009

My first time at this hard to find (very bad local signage!) Releais et Chateaux hotel was a great success, in spite of steep prices. On balance, the experience is worth them. Above all, the terrace, where one dines, is a huge asset with glorious views of much of Provence below. The restaurant performs well and service is excellent there and throughout the hotel. A tremendous experience mid-summer.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frequenttraveller076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South of France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2009

We just stopped off for one night here and had to seriously think about continuing our journey the next day! The views are spectacular across the plain of Salon en Provence and the building charming. Rooms are indeed small (we had a standard and one grade up double), but very cleanly and comfortably furnished. Good bathrooms. The staff could not have been nicer or more friendly. The atmosphere of the hotel, complete with chapel is wonderful. Not to be recommended if you have difficulty with walking, as rooms are scattered all around and it is easy, but a pleasure, to get lost on the way to them up winding staircases, across courtyards etc. Nice clean, simple pool with lots of loungers. Excellent and imaginative menu, though our meat (lamb and pigeon requested to be cooked 'rose') was overdone. Will definitely go back, possibly with large family party, another time.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizcsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2009

Everything great. Rooms quiet but roomy. Loved our room with curvy staircase to rooftop terrace. The old abbaye has a wonderful history. The restaurant is tops and the staff is SO friendly and helpful. Felt very welcome and look forward to another trip. Best location to be near freeway but see alot of sights. Near St. Remy and Gordes-of course on either side of freeway...but access is good to all. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BChupka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2008

I agree with the other reviewers who raved about this property, it is wonderful. It is a gorgeous building with fabulous views. The rooms are not overly spacious but perfectly adequate and ours had a lovely roof terrace which more than made up for it. The food is exquisite and quite an event in itself but they will also cater for simpler tastes ie for children. The staff were lovely and if you are looking for a classy experience of being 'french' this is the place to be.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room size
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sjwoolnough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2007

Do you really want to relax and get away?
Do you really want to dine divenly?
Do you want to be pammpered?
Look no further, this is the place.
Its wonderful.
Nestled between Avignon and Aix-en-Province provides an ideal location to visit all of Provence.
Staff is of the outmost proffesional level, yet friendly and family oriented style.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank balz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salon-de-Provence
5.2 mi away
Moulin de Vernegues Chateaux Hotels Collections
1.9 mi away
Ibis Salon de Provence
Ibis Salon de Provence
#2 of 18 in Salon-de-Provence
286 reviews
11.4 mi away
Domaine de Fontenille
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel d'Angleterre
Hotel d'Angleterre
#3 of 18 in Salon-de-Provence
423 reviews
18.5 mi away
Mas de l'Oulivie
Mas de l'Oulivie
#2 of 8 in Les Baux de Provence
367 reviews
18.1 mi away
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de France
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de Fr...
#2 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garrigae Abbaye de Sainte Croix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garrigae Abbaye de Sainte Croix

Property: Garrigae Abbaye de Sainte Croix
Address: route du Val de Cuech, 13300, Salon-de-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Salon-de-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Salon-de-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Garrigae Abbaye de Sainte Croix 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the rocky outcrops of Salon-de-Provence, a tiny Provence town, which is ideally located to explore everything this delightful area has to offer, there is a tranquil spot where time would appear to have stood still. This 12th century abbey in the hearth of twenty hectares of Provencal gardens and garrigue offers spectacular views of the Alpilles Valley and the countryside surrounding Salon-de-Provence. The rooms still bear traces of the Cistercian monks who once occupied the abbey and boast a decor that blends charm and authenticity and provides a calm and restful atmosphere. You will be delighted with the hotel's attentive service and the culinary delights served in both restaurants which offer delicious dishes based on seasonal local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Garrigae Abbaye de Sainte Croix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbaye De Sainte Croix Hotel Salon-De-Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing