We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 5 star service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Garrigae Abbaye de Sainte Croix
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Salon-de-Provence
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Not 5 star service”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stayed 3 nights in August and certainly a beautiful location and peaceful, apart from screaming kids in the pool but then it was August. I did find service sadly lacking here. Having parked you car you have to walk right across restaurant terrace to find reception so there is no greeting. The receptionist went with my wife to sort out bags from the car and my wife ended up carrying 3 herself.. When we left I didn't even ask for help but moved car around to the back entrance and loaded myself.
Food here was disappointing. Setting on the terrace is wonderful looking down over the plateau to Marseille and if you are lucky you will get a free show from the French equivalent of the Red Arrows whose base is just below you. We had the gastronomic menu but thought it was not worth the money as it was all show and Tralala without good quality products. The lamb was 50% fat and the fish was dry and overlooked smothered in sauce. Breakfast here was also very disappointing and basic compared to similar hoels just visited. They need to try much harder despite the recession.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank richardregatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    116
    36
    11
    2
See reviews for
44
261
7
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ulsan, South Korea
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We enjoyed the drive across country and arrived just in time to enjoy the beautiful views, a swim, and a lovely sunset. Our room was spacious, and perfectly clean. Lots of little thoughtful touches such as a basket with towels to take things to the pool.

Dinner was magnificent - drinks on the terrace overlooking the countryside, the head waiter was very kind with our pigeon french and I think spoke easily understandable french to us. He helped with our wine and did not recommend the most expensive on the list.

I would recommend it as a real treat.

Room Tip: Our room was in the centre, probably above reception, it was so quiet and had a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CK14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Everything about this hotel is very unique and authentic.
The place is a bit difficult to locate, but it makes it even better.
The views are magnificent. Rooms - maybe not extremely spacious - do remind you that you are in the abbey. Even the names - ours was St. Paul. We even got the postcard with it.
We only spent one night there and were not able to dine there, but breakfast was OK. Maybe a bit overpriced, maybe some would prefer more vegetables and fruits, but the quality was quite good.
The hotel has a swimming pool about 15 m long that adds to its advantages.
One thing to note. They gave us an iron, but no ironing board - I cannot understand why many hotels are so reluctant to have a few irons and boards available to their clients!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aran_bako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel in the south of France, just outside the town of Salon. Really friendly staff and rooms immaculately clean. We stayed for two nights and the service stands out - young staff but always friendly and helpful and a genuine sense that they'll do whatever they can to make your stay special without being in your face all the time.
The rooms and the grounds are beautiful so plenty to do just wandering around taking in the views and the architecture and lounging by the pool.
As mentioned by someone else in a review, there is a real push to get you to eat at the hotel but we didn't regret doing so - amazing food and lovely wine in the bistro. There are some lovely touches throughout the hotel - biscuits in reception and a bowl of apples in each room plus a sitting room with large jars of little treats.
If you are looking for somewhere to spend two romantic nights in a beautiful part of France, this hotel comes highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daphnebubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sao paulo
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Nice place, beautifull view , confortable and very clean rooms. Excelent restaurant Staff very friendly.

Room Tip: If you choose a superior room you will have a super view, a terrace with umbrella where you can take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ayres4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

The room was great. The grounds and view are amazing! The food is pricey but you have to enjoy at least 1 dinner there. It is top quality digestion dinner. They really push for you to eat all meals there which is kind of annoying. Only fault to be honest. All around great value and shabby chic.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKUSTRIPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

The food is extremely good, the wine list was good but it was the view we came for. In the summer eating outside it is just breath taking, the view over the plain must be for well over 100 km, you can see see to the mediterranean.
Great place, friendly people. I have eaten there a few time sbut necer stayed - it looks good though.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 186338Gary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salon-de-Provence
5.2 mi away
Moulin de Vernegues Chateaux Hotels Collections
1.9 mi away
Ibis Salon de Provence
Ibis Salon de Provence
#2 of 18 in Salon-de-Provence
287 reviews
18.5 mi away
Mas de l'Oulivie
Mas de l'Oulivie
#1 of 8 in Les Baux de Provence
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Domaine de Fontenille
1.9 mi away
Hotel d'Angleterre
Hotel d'Angleterre
#3 of 18 in Salon-de-Provence
430 reviews
18.1 mi away
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de France
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de Fr...
#2 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garrigae Abbaye de Sainte Croix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garrigae Abbaye de Sainte Croix

Property: Garrigae Abbaye de Sainte Croix
Address: route du Val de Cuech, 13300, Salon-de-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Salon-de-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Salon-de-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Garrigae Abbaye de Sainte Croix 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the rocky outcrops of Salon-de-Provence, a tiny Provence town, which is ideally located to explore everything this delightful area has to offer, there is a tranquil spot where time would appear to have stood still. This 12th century abbey in the hearth of twenty hectares of Provencal gardens and garrigue offers spectacular views of the Alpilles Valley and the countryside surrounding Salon-de-Provence. The rooms still bear traces of the Cistercian monks who once occupied the abbey and boast a decor that blends charm and authenticity and provides a calm and restful atmosphere. You will be delighted with the hotel's attentive service and the culinary delights served in both restaurants which offer delicious dishes based on seasonal local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Garrigae Abbaye de Sainte Croix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbaye De Sainte Croix Hotel Salon-De-Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing