We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to explore Provence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Garrigae Abbaye de Sainte Croix
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Salon-de-Provence
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great place to explore Provence”
Reviewed November 2, 2011

The room was great. The grounds and view are amazing! The food is pricey but you have to enjoy at least 1 dinner there. It is top quality digestion dinner. They really push for you to eat all meals there which is kind of annoying. Only fault to be honest. All around great value and shabby chic.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKUSTRIPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    125
    39
    11
    2
See reviews for
46
277
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

The food is extremely good, the wine list was good but it was the view we came for. In the summer eating outside it is just breath taking, the view over the plain must be for well over 100 km, you can see see to the mediterranean.
Great place, friendly people. I have eaten there a few time sbut necer stayed - it looks good though.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 186338Gary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dnipropetrovsk, Ukraine
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2010

The property boasts a large park on top of a Provencale ridge, overlooking a very nice valley. Being a converted monastery from 12 th century, it gives an immediate charming look n feel.
- restaurant is fantastic and ok value (this is an expensive place)
- rooms are small but cosy and romantic ( we got an upgrade, much appreciated)
- huge open fire in the common room
- priceworthy lunch options, but espresso too pricey ( 6 eur)
- you need to arrive in your car - we didn't and it was a hazzle, our own mistake
- staff a bit snobbish, especially one young french lady who knew nothing of service and was plain arrogant in the reception
- they offer a wine package which we misinterpreted. It meant they gave directions to local vineyards and their regular degustations. After we were a bit noisy, they fixed a more intimate wine tasting at a local castle which was great.
- going in late sep is too late, it was freezing cold, especially since it was located high up on a hill
- they have a good massage service which was reasonably priced
- salon de provence as a village has two soap factories which are a must see. Skip the nostradamus museum though
- they kind of limited the wife in the common room during daytime, a big minus.
- again, restaurant was great and the complete serenity of this place are the real take- aways

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Family_Bjorkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2010

Five stars for this amazing hotel in the center of Provence... Imagine yourself sitting on the stone terrace with a glass of wine, looking down the mountainside at an incredible view with Marsailles and the Mediterranean just over the horizon! Life as it was meant to be lived! The restaurant staff made us feel like VIP/special guests -- we sat on the terrace for appetizers then moved in to our table by the fireplace -- they could not possibly have been more friendly. The matre d' gave us an education regarding local vineyards and recommended a superb wine for dinner which, by the way, was also wonderful! The rooms -- also perfect. We stayed at Abbaye de Sainte Croix for two nights and loved every minute of our experience. The front desk staff treated us like family. I would recommend this hotel as a "must stay" for the central location between Avignon, Arles and Aix-en-Provence.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Papa-201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xinbei, Taiwan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2010

After days of visiting in Provence, yesterday we moved in to this lovely hotel in Salon de Provence. You can immediately feel the calmness and peacefulness of this hotel. After we moved in and settled in our room, I and my husband decided to take a walk around this hotel. It won't take you too long to realise that there are no more stress and tiredness from days of travel. The tranquil atmosphere, the magnificent scenery and gently brezze simply make you fall in love with this place, this hotel. We found a wonderful spot of this hotel, its on the cliff side. We sat down on the greens and sing songs after songs like young kids with beautiful view. I had my dinner with my familly in this well Provence touched and designed salle a manger. Relax with fine quality ! The food is nice, same to the fine quality of service. We been travel from Bordeaux to Provence and trust me, after days of visiting, I can tell the difference already. Both are nice place with their own charm and characteristic. This hotel room owns its Provence style without comprimise any modern facility and quality. The hotel staff also makes you feel warm welcome with great hospitality. If I travel once again to Provence, I'll definitely come back and enjoy this unforgatble memory. It is simply worthy !

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank milu062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Mass
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2010

Beautiful setting with lots of trails, nice pool, helpful and polite staff. Rooms are "climatisee" which is great for us Americans, with lots of little goodies (slippers, products of the area) awaiting guests in the room. Our room had a terrace with a view of Salon de Provence.

The only things preventing this from being 5 stars are: (1) food is good but not what you would expect for the price, prices being at the "gastronomique" level;; (2) we found another place in Beaume de Venise (Clos de Saint Saourde) that we will also be reviewing, that was a somewhat better value (albeit no air conditioning, which might be worth the difference in price in midsummer

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OOBonomist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2009

My husband and I just stayed at the Abbaye for a week and loved it. It's a quiet hotel that reminds you of staying at a private home, like the Tishka used to in Marrakesh. The grounds are lovely and the view is to die for. The Abbaye isn't a Four Seasons nor a Ritz Carlton, but it is sufficiently luxurious if you like to be spoiled (comme moi LOL), without being overrun by staff as one sometimes can be at a 5-star hotel (although you don't get the 5-star fabulosity, either -- but you don't miss it, trust me). The staff is VERY helpful (a RARITY in France!!!!) and there's nothing they won't do to help you. I loved the tranquility of it all -- we went to rest and repose, and we were able to do just that. The pool is super quiet and not overrun with 10,000 screaming people or children. (I wouldn't bring anyone under teenage years here, btw -- it's not a hotel that's geared towards little kids.) You can go on great hikes all around the property and the view reeeeally is stunning. The rooms are recently done and stylishly simple. We were on the ground floor and had centipedes as house guests, though, because of recent rains; housekeeping came to remove them frequently and they weren't a bother in the end (and I'm not a bug-friendly type of girl LOL). We ate almost all of our meals at the hotel, and the food is FANTASTIC. Even when we slept in and missed scheduled meal times, they'd still find something to serve us on the terrace, like a lovely salad or a sandwich with a chilled glass of rose. We're wild about the Abbaye and will definitely make it our HQ for yearly visits to Provence (p.s. -- it's ideally located for exploring the region by car).

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SABRINASYLVESTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salon-de-Provence
5.2 mi away
Moulin de Vernegues Chateaux Hotels Collections
1.9 mi away
Ibis Salon de Provence
Ibis Salon de Provence
#2 of 18 in Salon-de-Provence
292 reviews
18.5 mi away
Mas de l'Oulivie
Mas de l'Oulivie
#1 of 8 in Les Baux de Provence
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
#1 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
600 reviews
18.1 mi away
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de France
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de Fr...
#2 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
605 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Le Mas du Soleil
Hotel Le Mas du Soleil
#13 of 18 in Salon-de-Provence
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garrigae Abbaye de Sainte Croix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garrigae Abbaye de Sainte Croix

Property: Garrigae Abbaye de Sainte Croix
Address: route du Val de Cuech, 13300, Salon-de-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Salon-de-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Salon-de-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Garrigae Abbaye de Sainte Croix 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the rocky outcrops of Salon-de-Provence, a tiny Provence town, which is ideally located to explore everything this delightful area has to offer, there is a tranquil spot where time would appear to have stood still. This 12th century abbey in the hearth of twenty hectares of Provencal gardens and garrigue offers spectacular views of the Alpilles Valley and the countryside surrounding Salon-de-Provence. The rooms still bear traces of the Cistercian monks who once occupied the abbey and boast a decor that blends charm and authenticity and provides a calm and restful atmosphere. You will be delighted with the hotel's attentive service and the culinary delights served in both restaurants which offer delicious dishes based on seasonal local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Garrigae Abbaye de Sainte Croix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbaye De Sainte Croix Hotel Salon-De-Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing