We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mysterious place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Auberge de la Madone
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Peillon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Pellion is a simply magical place, located on top of a hill surrounded by a beautiful scenery. It is a medieval village and there is no other services than the hotel, but it is quiet, peaceful and very romantic. The hotel is an old house, taken straight from a Hitchcock movie. The room price does not reflect luxury, which could be why some people found it expensive. It is clean and cosy, but most of all, it is very unique as it feels like you have travelled back in time with big fireplaces, oil paintings and wooden furniture. We, a young couple, warmly recommend spending a night, as a get away from busy and touristy beach cities. If you are in Monaco, drive via Sainte Agnes, and take the mountain road to Peillon. It is longer, but the view is amazing. The restaurant, with a Michelin star, is excellent and worth the 52€ for a 4 course menu. We spent 4h eating and drinking, by the fireplace and the staff made us feel very welcome. We loved it!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 268 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2012

Warm welcome, charming local staff, nice room and simply delicious food, both dinner and breakfast. The situation is simply stunning, and to eat on the terrace would be wonderful, not in November however! We will return!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank teenB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Georgous hotel set at entrance to spectacular Peillon-Village - perfect for a romantic night or two. We took advantage of an internet special low season offer advertised as dinner bed and breakfast - the reduced room rate was 68 euro with dinner 184 euro for two - thinking 110 euro sufficient for a good menu and breakfast - on arriving we were given a very pretty room with lovely view - very happy we took a stroll around the village and looked forward to dinner. We were given a selection of mouthwatering menus but when we pointed out that we were on an inclusive deal we were told dinner was CHEF SUPRISE followed by Salmon in butter sauce and then cake - no choices at all and nothing from any of the menus - I asked for anything other than fish and was offered Duck - my partner upgraded to an a la carte starter - the food - except for my "surprise" which was a tiny bit of smoked salmon (remember I asked not to have for a main course) wrapped in a crepe - the main course was delicious as was the desert. My partner ended up paying an extra 22 euros for his starter upgrade on top of the 55 euros paid already for dinner and breakfast - the overall impression was that they obviously were not happy to honour a SPECIAL OFFFER in a nice way - shame really because otherwise the stay was lovely and we would go back - just not booking an inclusive deal as we would have been better off paying normal rate.

Room Tip: The view is spectacular - worth the extra cost - we had room 6 lovely (bed quite small though)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

Having stayed six times it still manages to tick all the boxes. The food was extremely good with very attentive staff. The whole hotel is very well maintained.
If you want to hear great bird song including the Cuckoo and see the wild mountain flowers on foot paths behind the hotel that are ideal and easy to walk.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Howgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Overpriced, but parts of the hotel and the little town are charming. There is no place comfortable to just sit, inside or out. Make sure you have a car. It's $125 to or from either the airport of train station. Once, you're there, without a car, you're stuck, with their food, which was fine, and their prices, which were high. The rooms were very small and the walls were thin. We enjoyed hiking around the area. Wouldn't go back.

Room Tip: Stay in the front with the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill_Sandee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

The proprietor of this hotel is living in the past - rather like the picturesque village in which it is situated. The hotel advertises itself as somewhere to find peace and quiet but the room we were given was located next to one with a crying baby - so no sleep. The room facilities were very poor and dated. The restaurant was far to expensive and nowhere near the standard of nearby four star restaurants. The daily menu costing Euros 30 was based on a ravioli, the other confused menus were in excess of 50 euros per person! The breakfast comprised fruit juice, tea and coffee and a pannier of assorted breads/toasts - all for Euros 13 - yes 13! It should not come as a surprise that we left after one night (having originally booked for two).

Room Tip: Don't even go there. Stay somewhere else (we went into Italy and stayed at a **** Space Hotel t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanNevers_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Auberge de la Madone is a beautiful family-run property looking out over the stunning village of Peillon and the valley below. It offers a perfect escape from the hustle and bustle of the Cote d'Azur.

However, whilst the food on offer is fantastic, the accommodation appears to rank a firm second and is a little tired and faded.

The restaurant produces delicious haute-cuisine and has a well-stocked and varied cave. It is expensive but it is worth it for the quality of the food, ambience and setting with the possibility of dining on the terrace over looking Peillon and the valley below. All in all, a very memorable dining experience.

As mentioned at the outset, the rooms are a little worn with some of the furniture and decor more akin to your grandparents' house than a reasonably expensive hotel. That said, they are perfectly adequate and comfortable. In terms of activities, there are lots of walking trails of varying difficulty and duration around Peillon and the surrounding mountains and the Auberge has maps and information on these.

So, in short - a wonderful restaurant and adequate hotel in a uniquely spectacular and atmospheric setting, most definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VoyageurIrlandais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peillon
5.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Prince De Galles
3.5 mi away
Eza Vista
Eza Vista
#5 of 6 in Eze
398 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Napoleon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Novotel Monte Carlo
Novotel Monte Carlo
#7 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
2,228 reviews
4 mi away
Columbus Monte-Carlo
Columbus Monte-Carlo
#9 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,356 reviews
4 mi away
Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge de la Madone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de la Madone

Address: Place Auguste Arnulf, 06440 Peillon, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Peillon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Peillon
Price Range: $80 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge de la Madone 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Auberge de la Madone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge De La Madone Hotel Peillon
Auberge De La Madone Peillon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing