We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You miss the worst of Paris of 20 years ago? It's all here.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Baie Des Singes

La Baie Des Singes
Ranked #771 of 2,086 Restaurants in Marseille
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Vancouver
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“You miss the worst of Paris of 20 years ago? It's all here.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

The restaurant is in a beautiful but windy place. I was taken there for a treat by an older couple.
The food was decent enough, although the fish had an excess of smoking spices and was overdone. The service was terrible. Prices were ridiculous. Reminded me of the good old days in Paris - condescending people who feel that you, the customer, are incredibly lucky to be there. I would have walked out but did not want to offend my hosts.
The worst came after lunch. We sat down outside - there were two more people there, so basically empty - in an area sheltered from the wind. We were rudely told that for that we need to pay 15 Euros each, after spending at least 200 euros in the restaurant! We tried to go to a more secluded beach, and the host sent us around the building through a rocky area with barely a trail! It was due to an older lady, probably the owner - the only nice person around - that we were invited to cross just two doors to the beach. We were made to feel awful.
I would avoid this place unless you are a masochist and want a good dose of abuse from a badly intentioned waiter and an incompetent cook. Too bad, I was looking forward to the meal when I saw the Canadian flag. This restaurant would go out of business in a couple of months in Canada.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cancer53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    75
    49
    47
    89
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best left undiscovered...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We visited LBDS for the first and definitely the last time on 14 September 2012.
Having negotiated the steps along the rocks, we expected a secluded hidden gem instead we received an abrupt reality check when "greeted" by a disdainful unwelcoming waiter.
We asked if we could just order drinks and with a dismissive shrug he presented us with a ludicrously over-priced drinks list - this included 25cl Heinekens @ 6 euros and coffee @ 5 euros.
Of course we should have upped and left but we were incredulous at the total absence of normal courtesy. We ordered 2 Heinekens. The waiter reminded us that these were 6 euros each and clearly wanted an indication that we could pay (!)."Pas de carte bleue" he barked at us. "Cash only!".
The beers duly arrived with a curt "Voici", and two minutes later, a verbal demand for 12 euros.When we paid no receipt was offered or given.We did not linger over the most expensive beers we have ever bought.
A surprisingly unpleasant experience lurks in monkey bay - more civility would have come from the animals it is named after,
Apparently they have contempt for both their clientele and their own reputation.
Avoid at all costs.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“beautiful view, but so very expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

a lovely walk (difficult for older people) over the hills of white rocks, on one side view over marseille, and the other the high rocks and narrow sea passage, amazing. the retaurant has a lovely view and a transats, sun beds, on the concrete with no sunshades, Also the tables outside have no sunshades. Inside is advisable to avoid the midday sun. A fun trip to get there but the price is very expensive for the service and the quality. The fish is fresh but again extremely expensive.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank di r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Food is infect and very expensiveIt s not so difficult to respect the customers !”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

Place is wonderful
Cooking is infect
Prices are very high 9.5 euros for 100g of Fish burn
No respect of the customers
Sorry but i never comme back to eat here but probably to take very nice pictures
If you want a good restaurant try around you have a large choice

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Carlos22478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Baie Des Singes also viewed

Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to La Baie Des Singes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing