We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best!”
Review of Le Julien

Le Julien
Ranked #90 of 2,160 Restaurants in Marseille
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $56
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“One of the best!”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

If you're in Marseille, run don't walk to Le Julien. What a lovely evening! Perfect ambience. Exquisite food. Fantastic wine. Reasonable prices. Friendly staff. And we were the only foreigners. What more could one want.....I wish I could find more restaurants like this.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bostondi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    96
    23
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Where the locals go ...”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

This place is really nice, albeit located in a street you would not expect for a nice restaurant.
You will find mostly locals there. The food is excellent, the decor reminds a bit like some traditional Parisian "Bresseries". The owners are delicious and really friendly. Ask Bruno (the owner) to suggest a wine according to your meal. He always has some suprises. Definitely worth it.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Away from the Buillebasse tourist trap areas, Le Julien serves great food with great service, and in a relaxing atmosphere. The food is top class. Around 8 choices per course, and we could have happily chosen most. Scallop and Asparagus with morels starters were superb. Duck main courses also good. Extensive wine list was priced keenly, if not lower than expected, and the list knowledge was sound. This was the best place we went to in Marseille by far, would go again, and thoroughly recommend it.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Hawk345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just Excellent!!”
Reviewed March 16, 2012

The food and atmosphere at Le Julien is excellent. The food is as delicious as the presentation and the desserts - well, it just make you want one of each!! LOL The staff is very welcoming and friendly. There are Menus in English as well so you do not have to struggle if you are not fluent in French. It was actually funny because my colleagues who are native Frenchmen couldn't make out all of the dishes on the french menu and ended up referring to mine. We thought that was really funny. Thanks Sarah for recommending and taking me to Le Julien. I would definitely go again when I return to Marseille.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
700 reviews
484 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed December 24, 2011

my parents still live in marseille and i came for a few days to visit for christmas and they took me to the Julien where they often go.The service was impeccable and so professional.The lunch menu for 20 euros is great value,i had the lentil salad with truffle,cod with basil sauce and tarte tatin , I was full and happy.The restaurant was packed on a thursday for lunch so you d better book in advance as this place is really popular.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LOLANetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Julien also viewed

Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Le Julien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing