We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel”

Hotel Residence Grillon
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Residence Grillon
Ranked #106 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
4
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2009

We were horrified to see prostitues all along the street and no parking, which meant that had we stayed there, we would have to park far away and walk past all the prostitues.
We decided rather to stay a little further away at a Best Western and just pay for the 1 nights accommodation as well. We were however, then charged TWICE for our 1 nights accommodation. Once at the end of June and once at the end of JULY! Becareful! I wouldn't recommend this place...I actually would recommend the coty itself! It feel like you are in a diffrent country altogether!
.
It is a fair step from vieux port (the nicest part of marseille) and the best restauronts.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elsa97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2008

Having read previous reviews I did wonder whether I had made a wise choice of hotel for our one night in Marseille but Hotel Residence Grillon was exactly what we wanted. We were able to walk to and from St Charles railway station. Our room was clean, comfortable and had tea & coffee making equipment -- the first time in France. When we asked for directions to a restaurant we had been recommended we were given a detailed computer print out and enjoyed our short walk to and from the restaurant, La Gentiane, on rue des Trois Rois, ( Le Quinze, the recommended restaurant was closed but there were plenty to choose from) where we had a very good meal. There were prostitutes on the street by the hotel but they were no trouble to us. The family running the hotel were very friendly and helpful and we felt safer walking round this area at night than in most market towns in England or Wales. We enjoyed our brief stay in Marseille and will use this hotel again, at 84 euros for B&B for two we reckoned it was good value.

  • Liked — Friendly helpful management.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greyhoundWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlisle
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2008

we were horrified when we arrived at the hotel! even the local taxi driver said it was rough. there were prostitutes on the street and we didnt feel safe even in the afternoon. the hotel staff seemed unconcerned by this, and even found this amusing. we did not even stay a night, but communicating this to the owner who spoke no english was difficult. it is a fair step from vieux port (the nicest part of marseille) and the best restauronts. we went to tourist info who recommended us to hotel Auzli which was on the port, cheaper, and very nice.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — rough location! generally crap and overpriced
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmw017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marseille hotels

New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2008

The hotel is clean and basic. Pros for us were the price (80 Euros) and the location was within walking distance of the train station and the vieux port. Cons were the bathroom had no door, the room was a bit cramped, no elevator and the street wasn't great to come home too at night (but neither is a lot of Marseille).

For it's price, it's fine as long as you are expecting a basic accomodation and not a gorgeous setting.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — no door on the bathroom
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewYork_NYShoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2007

the staff were very friendly, which was really the only positive. the advertised wifi in every room didn't work for any of the three days we were there. basic rooms, fairly bland, but in my opinion overpriced.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank marrenLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lutetia
Hotel Lutetia
#113 of 131 in Marseille
124 reviews
0.3 mi away
Massilia Hotel
Massilia Hotel
#62 of 131 in Marseille
19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Ryad Boutique Hotel
Le Ryad Boutique Hotel
#6 of 131 in Marseille
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
New Hotel Saint Charles
New Hotel Saint Charles
#110 of 131 in Marseille
483 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel balladins Marseille Gare
Hotel balladins Marseille Gare
#108 of 131 in Marseille
169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Azur
Hotel Azur
#52 of 131 in Marseille
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence Grillon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Grillon

Property: Hotel Residence Grillon
Address: 34 rue Curiol, 13001 Marseille, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Residence Grillon 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Residence Grillon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Grillon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing