We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful hotel...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Tulip Villa Massalia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Golden Tulip Villa Massalia
Ranked #20 of 130 Hotels in Marseille
Oslo
1 review
“A wonderful hotel...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2011

A wonderful hotel. Huge rooms, 5 minutes to the beach + own swiming pool. Great breakfast, very nice personal. They answer your questions at once and speak fluently English.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank TimOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMassalia, Directeur général at Golden Tulip Villa Massalia, responded to this review, January 24, 2011
Dear TimOslo,

Thank you so much for your comment. Our entire team is looking forward to welcome you again for your next stay in Marseilles.

Best Regards,

Jacques CHESNET
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    341
    134
    50
    31
See reviews for
145
428
34
132
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2010

Stayed for two nights whilst traveling through the south of France in mid December. The hotel is fairly new and built right next to a racecourse, there is an pretty ordinary beach about 5 min walk away. The staff are friendly but not very helpful when it comes to sightseeing and places to eat. When asked they didn't have a clue. On a Saturday night all the restaurants in the area were closed, we walked to the marina and still could not find anything decent.
The location is shocking if you are coming to see the city!! It is a 20min bus ride followed by a 15min metro just to get in the CBD. (And whatever you do do not get off at Jules Guesde station, it is very unsafe and we were pick pocketed!!!)
The hotel Is definitely focused more on business stays than leisure, although very nicely furnished and clean. Buffet breakfast is decent.
Overall we would recommend the hotel (besides the location) but will properly not be returning to Marseille (there's nothing to do in winter).

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank faith_pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMassalia, General Manager at Golden Tulip Villa Massalia, responded to this review, January 3, 2011
Dear Pete,

Thank you for your nice comment about your stay at the Villa Massalia.

Our Hotel is indeed in the southern part of the City, a location close to the beach and the Calanques of Marseilles.

As far as our staff is we would like to apologize for this inconvenience and ensure you that everything has been done so that they will give useful and interesting information to our customers.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you in spring or in summer so that you will have another image of our City.

Best Regards,

Jacques CHESNET
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2010

I enjoyed staying here but I am not sure I would repeat. It certainly was clean and elegant, with a spacious room and a beautiful bathroom... but I was not "wowed" by this hotel. The lobby, bar, and restaurant were chic and the food was amazing, but the front desk did not give great sightseeing advice. I wanted to eat on the water one evening and they could not come up with a place. Also, this hotel is NOT in the center of Marseille. I was saddened to discover that it was a very far distance from Vieux Port. One evening my friend and I ate dinner on the port and had to walk home (too late for a bus) it took us well over an hour. The hotel was very close to a nice beach, which would be great in the warm months. The view from our window was a gas station (not so good) Overall, the hotel was great, just bad location and bad service.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maggietravelista89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMassalia, General Manager at Golden Tulip Villa Massalia, responded to this review, January 3, 2011
Dear Maggie,

We would like to thank you for your comment regarding your stay in our Hotel and are sorry to hear it did not completely match your expectations.

As far as the advice from our Front Office is concerned, please be sure that your comment has been taken into account and that everything is done so that our Receptionist will give our customers interesting and useful information about the sightseeing.

We are indeed settled in the southern part of the City, near the beach and the Calanques. However, we are only 20 minutes away from the Vieux Port, to give our customers the opportunity to rest without being outside Marseilles.

Our hotel has various types of rooms: our Superior rooms have a view on the city and the hills, the Deluxe rooms have views on the Chateau Borely, the Golf, the Horserace and the Sea. Please feel free to book a Deluxe Room for your next stay in our Hotel.

The entire team of the Villa Massalia hopes to have the pleasure to welcome you again for your next stay in Marseilles and will do everything to make you feel wowed and cosy.

Best Regards,

Jacques CHESNET
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2010

Stayed at this hotel for conference.  Booked for two nights. 
At check in there was a huge group of 80 people from one french mobile company. 

Was put up in one half of the adjoining room in the fold up bed described with the useless bed-lights.   Shower not so great little pressure and broken temperature control.  Otherwise room was ok.  

At 5 am I was woken up by very loud noise of group of drunk and rowdy people (probably from that company) in the hall who had returned from downtown partying.  Shouting singing etc. After 10mts it did not stop and I phoned exception.  At 530 the music boom box was started.  Then quiet and then  at 550 one guy arrived and started to bang on the room door to be let in by his roommate. Had to complain to reception again.    It was absolutely unacceptable and no decent hotel should have allowed this to get so out of control.   

Next morning I left early for a quiet proper hotel.    The receptionist managed not much more than "sorry" and a discount was only offered after I said that the night should be free.  It is not about the money but about service.  

This hotel clearly tries to target groups and stuff rooms rather than provide service.  The hotel should have 1 put me up on different floor not with this group 2 not allowed this group back into the hotel at 5am 3 throw the group out.   

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank iznogood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMassalia, General Manager at Golden Tulip Villa Massalia, responded to this review, November 26, 2010
Dear Iznogood,

Thank you for your comment on your stay in our Hotel. We are sorry to hear that you have been disappointed. As our hotel as 1000sq m conference rooms, we do have groups and seminars organised in our hotel.

Unfortunately, we could not calm the noisy people the night you stayed at the Villa Massalia. Yet, we have taken all the needed measures to avoid this situation to happen again in the future.

We apologize for the inconvenience and hope nevertheless to have the pleasure to welcome you at your next stay in Marseilles.

Best Regards,

Jacques CHESNET
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
English Traveller
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2010

We travelled with another family i.e. 4 Adults & 5 children. Built in a modern style only a few years ago (a Google map search shows a building site) it is already showing signs of wear. Being English we didn't expect friendly French service from all and we weren't wrong. Despite staying for 8 days I'm sure no member of staff knew our names.
This really is a business hotel - our mistake. The pool & area is far too small and during the weekend (when they must have had a 'deal' on) there were not nearly enough sun beds. No service around the pool at any time.
Breakfast was the standard fare for a 2* hotel with the scrambled egg being made of powdered produce. I've never been in a so called 4 star that did not provide freshly cooked eggs at least. You could boil your own eggs if required (watch out children!)
The modern 'dark' bar was practically permanently empty during our stay - probably because they charge 5* prices for 2* drinks & service.
Our ‘suites’ comprised of interjoining rooms. Furnished in a 'flat pack' Ikea style our room had a double bed which folded up onto the wall. Despite having two bedside lights you can't read at bed time because the 'fold up' arrangement precludes. Obviously the designers & management have never slept there to try it out. A small balcony off our main room was adequate apart from the noise of the french guests in the next room who liked to entertain after midnight. We were also constantly awakened at night by an alarm going off nearby. It may have even been the Hotel's own pool alarm system.
We tried Marseille as a change from the normal ‘South of France’ holiday and travelled using the marvellous French Rail system. Unfortunately I couldn’t recommend this Hotel to holiday makers thinking of doing the same.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RSSEnglishTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMassalia, General Manager at Golden Tulip Villa Massalia, responded to this review, October 4, 2010
Dear English Traveller,

We would like to thank you for your review and are sorry to learn that out hotel did not meet your expectations. We transferred your comments to our Service Managers in order to take them into account and improve the quality of our hotel.

As far as your room is concerned, we try, as much as possible, to meet the customers’ demands. During your stay, considering the fact that you were on holiday with children, we preferred to put at your disposal interjoining rooms even though these had a fold up arrangement. Please feel free to mention that you do not wish this type of arrangement when booking your next stay in our hotel.

Best Regards,

Jacques CHESNET
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2010

Spent 5 nights in this hotel & loved it! We went for a room with a balcony & were able to watch the sunset every night. Some reviews say this hotel is a little far out. However, if you want a relaxing beach break this hotel is perfect. The beach is only 5 minutes walk away. Also only 5 minutes walk away are a wide selection of excellent restaurants. We didn't go for the hotel breakfast. Instead visited a lovely little patisserie opposite the hotel so we had fresh pastries every morning. They also do get baguettes for lunch. Food & drink at the hotel is very expensive - e.g. 5 Euros for can of coke by the pool! However there are plenty of places nearby to buy things instead. Our room was amazing. The hotel pool area was a little smaller than I expected. To get a sun lounger you need to be down as soon as the pool opens at 10am. We got a taxi for the train station for approx 25 Euros. It's also possible to get the bus & then metro into the city centre from the hotel. There's also a place at the end of the street to hire bicycles. Well worth it as it's only 1 euro per hour (a credit card deposit is required but fully refunded when you return the bicycle). One thing to note is that this area seems to be very much where the French go on holiday & apart from the hotel staff very few in the surrounding shops/restaurants spoke anything more than very basic English so remember your phrase book. All in all a very relaxing break & would consider going back again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T0riL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMassalia, General Manager at Golden Tulip Villa Massalia, responded to this review, October 4, 2010
Dear T0ril,

Thank you for giving a complete review on your stay in Marseilles. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your holiday and hope to welcome you again for the next one.

Best Regards,

Jacques CHESNET
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2010

Good rates , clean room, and Professionel team

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMassalia, General Manager at Golden Tulip Villa Massalia, responded to this review, October 4, 2010
Dear Kimju,
Thank you for your very nice comment on your stay in our Hotel. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you for your next stay in Marseilles.

Best Regards,

Jacques CHESNET
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Hotel 96
#1 of 130 in Marseille
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Victor
Radisson Blu Hotel, Marseille Vieux Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Villa Massalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Villa Massalia

Property: Golden Tulip Villa Massalia
Address: 17 Place Louis Bonnefon, 13008 Marseille, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Marseille
#12 Luxury Hotel in Marseille
#12 Family Hotel in Marseille
#15 Business Hotel in Marseille
#22 Romantic Hotel in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Villa Massalia 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Golden Tulip Villa Massalia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Massalia Hotel Marseille
Massalia Hotel Marseille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing