We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury and quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Tulip Villa Massalia
Ranked #17 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Luxury and quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

I needed to spend a night in Marseille, and needed above all a private parking for my car. So I was not really keen on having a luxury hotel this time. But to my great suprise this was the case (I guess I paid the price for it, although breakfast was not included in the overly priced night).
The hotel is great! The staff is very professional. Something I didn't know: in Marseille you have to ask for a non-smoking room in order to have one. The first room they gave me was smelling aweful, althought great care was taken to contain the smoke smell. They kindly transferred me into another floor (they have smoking and non-smoking floors) where I could enjoy the huge bed and the quality of the room.
I'd recommend it if you need to park your car safely.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lonely g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMassalia, Directeur général at Golden Tulip Villa Massalia, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Dear lonely g,

Thank you very much for your kind review about Villa Massalia Concorde Marseille ! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

About our rooms, for your information, since a few days, our hotel is entirely non smoking.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in a near future in Marseille.

With our best regards,

Jérôme BILLY
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    351
    134
    50
    31
See reviews for
145
433
35
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

This is by far my favorite hotel in Marseille. People working there are so nice and everything is just perfect. The room was big, and the bed was really comfortable. Super clean and with a nice view. The breakfast is totally worth it! So many options (and good ones)!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraBranches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMassalia, Directeur général at Golden Tulip Villa Massalia, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Dear SarahBranches,

Thank you for giving us the Best Hotel in Marseille award! It goes straight to the heart of our entire team.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you very soon

Best Regards,

Jérôme BILLY
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

This is a very good 4 star hotel. We chose a "deluxe" room which had a balcony with a sea view and overlooked the swimming pool and a small horse race track which occasionally had some races lasting all of 5 mins. The hotel is a 10 mins drive from downtown Marseilles and one minute (by car) from the beach in a safe residential neighborhood. The secure indoor parking with a elevator with direct access to reception and to our room floor made moving luggage very easy. The breakfast buffet included a wide selection of pastries, breads, cheeses, cold cuts. Being February, the fruit salad was not great; but there was a small selection of hot food (bacon, sausages, scrambled eggs, crepes) In the evening, the hotel's restaurant serves experimental French food which is best avoided. We had a bad experience with Duck Canoloni. Our waiter, without hesitation on his own initiative, removed the charges from our bill. This is highly unusual in Europe and speaks volumes for how service oriented this hotel is. So overall, would definitely recommend this hotel and we do plan on returning again next time we visit Marseilles.

Room Tip: Choose a deluxe room with balcony and sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VM1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMassalia, Directeur général at Golden Tulip Villa Massalia, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Dear VM1960,

We thank you for your great comments concerning our hotel.

We took good notice of your highlights regarding the restaurant and have worked on a new menu to improve your satisdfaction.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you soon again.

Best regards,

Jérôme BILLY
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
118 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

Good 4* hotel with good staff and service. My room was good but nothing extraordinary – no great views as it overlooked the local gas/ petrol station. However, it was clean with a comfortable bed and a nice en-suite – although the shower is small and weak. TV channels are all French. Breakfast was good but little hot food available. Dinner in restaurant was OK but as there are a number of nice restaurants about 5min walk away in the direction of the sea that is not a problem except this was February and very cold - it snowed during stay. I was staying there at a business conference so had little chance to get out and sample the locality.

Room Tip: Hotel is the other side of Marseilles from the airport and be aware a taxi is about Euro60. Better t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldbolter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMassalia, Directeur général at Golden Tulip Villa Massalia, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Dear Oldbolter,

We would like to thank you for taking time to give your impressions following to your stay and we are sorry to hear it did not match your expectations.

Our Superior Rooms have indeed a city view, so why not try a Deluxe Room for your next stay? These rooms have view on the horse race or on the sea.

We are looking forwad to welcome you soon again.

Best Regards,

Jérôme BILLY
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

We ended up staying one night here because our home in Marseilles had frozen pipes... Emily, by phone and later at the reception desk, almost made me forget our misery after two days of no water... She was so warm and welcoming, arranged a remarkably good deal (127E for three people in a nicely located room), found a room that would be ready for us to move in immediately (at 11 am!) and actually had laundromat addresses waiting for me when we arrived...

From beginning to end, the service really stood out for us because overall, customer service in Marseilles is lamentable... We've had some horrendous experiences putting family and friends up at other places.

The room itself was not the greatest... a fold down bed that did not allow for reading in bed at all because of how the light fixtures worked... and they could use a soundproofing overhaul... could hear partying on our floor... Nice bathrooms, slippers, bathrobes, toiletries though.

The food was really quite good... And not expensive... Room service for the same prices as eating in the bar (a very extensive menu, too)! We never actually ate in the restaurant, so can't comment on that.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marseille-NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMassalia, Directeur général at Golden Tulip Villa Massalia, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Dear Americaninmarseilles,

Thank you very much for your review on your stay in our hotel. Emilie was touched by all your compliments regarding the help she gave you while staying with us.

As far as the room is concerned, we are indeed working on a process to have the reading light at the inner side of the bed.

The entire team hopes to have the pleasure to welcome you soon again.

Best Regards,

Jérôme BILLY
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

Good 4* hotel.
Nice parking, excellent welcome, the room wasn't too bad: it was clean, confortable bed, with a nice terrace w. sea view (the sea view is really overated...it is so far away). I was in a superior room not a standard room.
It lacks some light in the room especially near the cupboard in which I couldn't see a thing.
There was an expresso machine in the room but who really cares.
TV had a decent amount of channels.
The room has curtains but also electrical blinds which is a plus if you like your night being pitch black.
Insonorisation is not excellent, luckily for me my neighbor was in bed early.
There is a heated swimming pool but haven't had a chance to try it.
Breakfast was good but no eggs
It really is a business oriented hotel.
Some nice restaurants are a 5min walk away in the direction of the sea and the neighborhood is brand new, clean and very quiet. At least when I was there (January).

Room Tip: the sea view is not worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tZar972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMassalia, Directeur général at Golden Tulip Villa Massalia, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Dear tZar972,

Thank you for your detailed feedback on your stay in our hotel.
The seaside is indeed at 200m of our hotel and all our Deluxe, Junior and Executive Suites have view on the horse race and the sea.
Our continental breakfast offers scrambled eggs as well as boiled ones; we are sorry to read you did not find them on our buffet and proceeded to a check of our breakfast’s standards with our Team.
We hope that you will see this improvement while staying with us during your next trip in Marseille.

Best Regards,

Jérôme BILLY
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

I stayed at Villa Massalia for 3 nights in early December 2011. The hotel is a bit off the beaten track but I visited Marseilles on a business trip so the location wasn't a problem. My room was very clean (although a bit small) and had free wifi internet access. The breakfast was very nice, with great variety of tasty things to choose from, and the overall service was absolutely satisfactory. All in all my stay at Villa Massalia was very pleasant and I highly recommend this hotel especially if you travel for business.
P.S. Since I didn't pay myself for the room, I cannot comment on its value for money.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OdysseusAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMassalia, Directeur général at Golden Tulip Villa Massalia, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Dear OdysseusAthens,

Thank you very much for your comments following your stay in our Hotel.
We are pleased to learn that your expectations were met.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel 96
#1 of 131 in Marseille
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Saint-Victor
Radisson Blu Hotel, Marseille Vieux Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Villa Massalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Villa Massalia

Property: Golden Tulip Villa Massalia
Address: 17 Place Louis Bonnefon, 13008 Marseille, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Marseille
#12 Family Hotel in Marseille
#12 Luxury Hotel in Marseille
#15 Business Hotel in Marseille
#22 Romantic Hotel in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Villa Massalia 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Tulip Villa Massalia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Massalia Hotel Marseille
Massalia Hotel Marseille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing