We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury hotel....central location overlooking the harbour....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Marseille Vieux Port
Ranked #21 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Luxury hotel....central location overlooking the harbour....”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights with my son as part of a 'boys' weeks car trip around France.....after hours of continous driving in the sweltering heat (and 2 previous nights camping) i wanted to dump the car and relax in a bit of luxury for 2 nights! I was not disappointed.....this hotel is what you'd expect from Radisson...and more. The concierge greeted us at the sweeping reception area and whisked my car off to the nearby car park.....check in was fast and easy.....the room was a standard twin with everything we could ever want........the best part is the hotel outdoor pool area located on the 3rd floor with a bar/restaurant with sublime views overlooking the harbour and architectural buildings.
A few niggly matters......wi-fi didn't work for 24 hours and avoid the hotel restaurant as there are plenty of alternative (nicer and not as expensive) all within walking distance.
If you are travelling to Marseille I would certainly recommend this hotel, albeit a bit pricey but you do get what you pay for here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    566
    203
    56
    30
See reviews for
211
507
57
290
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
51 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

One of the main reasons why we chose this hotel is its roof-top swimming-pool, and we were not disappointed. It turned out to be too warm to go sight-seeing in the middle of the day, so relaxing at the pool area and enjoying the view from there proved to be an option we would not have been without. The hotel is conveniently located at the Vieux Port with walking distance to many great sights as well as good restaurants. Both the rooms and the bathrooms were spacious, comfortable, and modern. Arriving by car was easy, as the hotel provided valet parking. Very friendly and helpful front desk. We were also very happy with the concierge who gave us useful tips regarding restaurants and sights.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sivert80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I stayed here for one night, to watch the marseille stage of the tdf.
The positives were that the rooms were clean, modern and in excellent condition. The beds were comfortable. The conceirge gave us some good recommendations of where to go out in 'le panier.'
The negatives were that the internet in the rooms was a bit patchy and the check in took a bit of time.
Overall i would have no qualms in recommending this place, and would be happy to stay here in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rubanoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My first time in Marseilles on business and I was advised to stay in the Vieux Port area by our agent due to safety concerns in other areas. The location is lovely, looking out over the marina. Check-in was prompt and friendly and my room, also overlooking the marina, was very comfortable and pleasant. The wi-fi was free and worked well, so I was happy. My only slight criticism of the room was that the shower was in the bath, and the bath was quite high sided, so getting in and out felt a little precarious.
I ate in the restaurant on a couple of evenings and though the menu was a little limited the food was excellent and the service friendly.
Later in my stay I ventured out into the port area during the evening and there is a large variety of restaurants and bars to choose from, to suit everyones taste. The atmosphere was vibrant and I can't say I felt unsafe at any time. I plan to go back on business soon and would be very happy to stay at the Radisson Blu again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soluta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tbilisi, Georgia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

When you get used to a certain level of service, it's hard to forgive even the smallest mistakes... First we were waiting for 10 min for the porter to help us with the luggage, then were checked in a wrong room (trying to enter with someone already sleeping in it), then got an internet access from another room/name and could log in only with one device (with a limit of 4 devices per room), then managed to get some dinner from the night menu (of course, they had only one sandwich out of 3 listed in the night-room-service menu) with the worst soup I've ever tried, then no tea spoons in the room, towels only for 2 persons (and we were 4)... Breakfast is very poor, fruits totally disappeared at 10:00am (although breakfast ends at 10:30). Good view... But the worst Radisson I ever stayed in.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
Helpful?
2 Thank Irem297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We arrived by car - an experience that can put the most positive of minds in a disastrous state. Forget the GPS - it will misguide you into the most hillarious situations. The hotel sits directly on the old harbour, separated from the water only by an extremely chaotic road with heavy traffic. After having managed to pull up in front of the hotel, we were told that we had to put our car in a public parking area adjacent to the hotel. The bellboy gave us very misleading instructions on how to get there, which added to the pre check-in frustration level. We had booked and prepaid a superior (business) room with a harbour view. The receptionist instead gave us a room with a "castle view", explaining that this was the only room available. After insisting that we be given what was ordered and paid for, she reluctantly gave us the correct room. So it was available after all! Very irritating, indeed! One evening we had booked a restaurant table thorugh the concierge, and ordered a taxi for 8.25 PM. When we came dowm to the reception at that time, the taxi had been waiting for 25 minutes, and the driver was in a dramatic mood. After a heated discussion between the driver and the concierge, during which the concierge gave driving instructions, the driver took us to the wrong place, and we had to walk for a considerable distance before we found the restaurant. The hotel product itself is very good. Excellent location, nice rooms, a nice, small rooftop pool area, good breakfast. Although the room was facing the old harbour with its heavily trafficked road, the room was very quiet, The AC worked well. The beds were rather hard, but this seems to be the mantra in France. Again, as one so often experiences in France - the smiles were very far between, particularly in the reception. Too bad, and a bit hard to understand. They are in the hospitality business.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terje T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I recently stayed for a weekend in Marseille and chose the Radisson Blu at the Vieux Port. If you ever stayed at a Radisson Blu, you know what to expect. Modern design, comfy rooms, good beds, clean, modern bathrooms. The hotel fulfilled all of our expectations. As we asked for qiet rooms not too close to the rooftop bar, we received very quiet ones. Late checkout was helpful. And if you happen to be in Marseille on a very hot day, the rooftop pool (on 3rd floor) can come handy. Breakfast was not included, so we enjoyed lovely petit dejeuners about 400 meters away in a side street under lovely old trees. The Vieux Port was more beautiful than expected and is a great point to start your Marseille excursion. Overall Marseille was cleaner and safer than expected - and well worth a visit.

Room Tip: In summer ask for a room not too close to the roof top bar/ pool area - which can get noisy at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ttvienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
0.4 mi away
Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port
0.4 mi away
New Hotel Of Marseille
New Hotel Of Marseille
#16 of 131 in Marseille
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Beauvau Marseille Vieux Port - MGallery Collection
1.7 mi away
NH Marseille Palm Beach
NH Marseille Palm Beach
#14 of 131 in Marseille
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Marseille Vieux Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Marseille Vieux Port

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Marseille Vieux Port
Address: 38 - 40 Quai de Rive Neuve, 13007 Marseille, France (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille > Saint-Victor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Marseille
#13 Romantic Hotel in Marseille
#13 Luxury Hotel in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Marseille Vieux Port 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 minutes walking from down town ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Marseille Vieux Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Marseille Vieux Port Hotel Marseille
Radisson Marseille
Marseille Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing