We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid place to crash”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Les Gens de Mer Hotel
Ranked #95 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Solid place to crash”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The hotel is situated fairly close to the city centre. The interiors of the rooms are good. Staff is helpful. However, it's still a bit of a climb to return to the hotel from the metro/ bus. Prices can be a little lower too. Don't worry about safety too.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank priyanko13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    47
    50
    21
    13
See reviews for
15
55
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Me and my sister stayed here for one night on a cycle tour from Calais to Marseille. After booking, I read some reviews and was worried by some of them that indicated that the area was not safe. Rubbish! The Hotel is less than 15 minute's stroll, from the old port, along (2) wide and well lit roads. Returning home, at around 11pm, we felt completely safe. I don't know what some (see Jan R) are going on about. This area is better than many city centre areas.
As for the hotel - good value for money. A bit dated, but our room was big enough and clean enough. The breakfast was fine and the staff friendly.
They took good care to store our bikes somewhere safe.

Room Tip: Don't read just one reveiw!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 54Steve_Gee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The hotel was OK, the room was clean when I walked in, everything seemed fine. Then I started getting bites all over my arms and legs, although when checking the mattress it didn't look particularly worrisome... turns out they were hiding behind the headboard, which is the only unmovable furniture in the room (it is stuck to the wall, but has a space between the wood and the wall). After 4 days I was finally convinced there were bedbugs, and went to the reception. They tried to convince me it was mosquitoes, but they did eventually reimburse our last night there (I stayed another day because they damage had already been done and I was going home where I then did an entire treatment on all my stuff from the trip). They also said they called someone who was supposed to come after our departure and treat the entire room.

Conclusion: look around carefully, and if anything looks fishy, run. There was a corner of the mattress that looked suspicious when I first checked, but I think I was lying to myself when I decided not to worry about it. Don't take that shortcut.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille
2 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2012

no frills but clean, well positioned for transit travellers due to being so close to city centre, station, and bus station (including airport transfer) but maybe not so ideal for tourists staying longer because the 2nd arrondisement can be a bit dead especially at nights.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlovy Vary, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This hotel is not so far from railway station and we walked that only few minutes. This way was little bit troublesome. The road was dirty and full of rubbish, and the local inhabitants were looked dangerously. But with the hotel we were satisfied. It is only 2* hotel, but was clean with good services - tasty breakfast, pleasant receptionist.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
0.2 mi away
B&B Hotel Marseille Centre La Joliette
0.3 mi away
Best Western La Joliette
Best Western La Joliette
#40 of 131 in Marseille
258 reviews
0.4 mi away
B&B Hotel Marseille Euromed
B&B Hotel Marseille Euromed
#82 of 131 in Marseille
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Marseille Centre Euromed
Ibis Marseille Centre Euromed
#22 of 131 in Marseille
754 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Du Mucem
Best Western Hotel Du Mucem
#35 of 131 in Marseille
255 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Tulip Marseille Euromed
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Gens de Mer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Gens de Mer Hotel

Property: Les Gens de Mer Hotel
Address: 25 rue de Forbin, 13002 Marseille, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Les Gens de Mer Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Les Gens de Mer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing