We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sadly, Rooms Are NOT Soundproof As Advertised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New Hotel Of Marseille
Ranked #19 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
San Ramon, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Sadly, Rooms Are NOT Soundproof As Advertised”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

I have been woken up at 5 am, 6:30 am and 5:30 am these last three mornings despite asking for a quiet room when making my reservations and then after waiting two hours after check-in to ensure I got a quiet room.
The people who work here are very sweet (except for the older female supervisor at the front desk) and friendly and helpful.
My Internet and English TV channels stopped working after the first day and going to the front desk didn't help with the Internet situation.
The hotel has a lovely restaurant, pool and sitting area.
My room was spacious and I enjoyed having a lot of closet space to spread out into. The rugs needed deep cleaning. They were dark with dirt and wear. The upholstered furniture in the room and public areas need replacement.
For the amount of money I spent to stay here, I was deeply disappointed.
I will never return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlaskanG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Luc_de_Bodisko, Director at New Hotel Of Marseille, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We apologize for the inconvenience encountered during your stay. We are doing our best to solve the different points you mentionned.
We hope you will give us the opportunity to be better hosts and would be happy to welcome you again.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    377
    130
    56
    30
See reviews for
74
392
45
178
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Everything about this hotel impressed me. As soon as our taxi arrived a smiling concierge came out to greet us and help with our baggage - very helpful especially as I am a wheelchair user and the entrance ramp was hidden off to the right of the entrance steps. Wheelchair access throughout is excellent. The public areas are large, light and stylish and all the seating, indoors and out, very comfortable. We had a top floor room with terrace which was gorgeous - but there is a VERY high step up to the terrace out of the room which could do with some adjustment. The room itself was large, airy and spotlessly clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. All the staff were attentive and friendly. The breakfast was perfectly adequate. The restaurant has a surprisingly small menu but the food was well cooked and presented. It is very popular so it's advisable to book if you want to eat in. The Old Port and centre of Marseille is a 15-20 minute walk down quite a steep hill along a very busy road so the location isn't ideal - otherwise I would have rated it excellent.

Room Tip: The rooms with terraces on the top floor are the largest, and the terrace is very nice. We were on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 377Sarah377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Luc_de_Bodisko, Director at New Hotel Of Marseille, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. It will be a great pleasure to welcome you again during your next stay in Marseille.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed for a long weekend. The hotel looks great, bright and airy with a very trendy feel. The staff could not have been more helpful and were very friendly, even to a non French speaker such as myself. The pool/bar area looks great and I'm sure it is amazing wen the sun is shining. We never ate at the hotel so cannot review that side of things. My only complaint was the wifi was a bit irritating. The connection kept dropping out and you would have to sign back in and watch a advert each time before you could access the internet. However if that is all I have to complain about then frankly I can't recommend this place enough. The bell boy literally bent over backwards to find a good restaurant for us and the rest of the staff were extremely helpful too.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Luc_de_Bodisko, Director at New Hotel Of Marseille, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Guest.
We would like to thank you for your nice comments. We are glad you have had a good stay. We hope to welcome you during your next stay in Marseille.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

I spent 4 nights in this hotel on a business trip. It seems that it was newly renovated so everything looks new. The room and bathroom are spacious, well equipped and clean. I can come again here for a leisure trip as the location is very good and a walking distance from many attractions. The breakfast buffet didn’t have much variety but it was OK.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbbassiJordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Luc_de_Bodisko, Director at New Hotel Of Marseille, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. We are constantly trying to improve our services and we are happy you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you again for your next trip in Marseille.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed here last year (2012) and in May 2013. And some things have changed....

We arrived around 1pm and our rooms was not ready, what was fine as the official checkin time was not until 3, so we got some lunch nearby.

After arriving at 3.30PM we still couldn't get access to the room and when we asked around 4PM reception told us it was still not ready, however one of the reception people jumped in and moved our allocated room to a higher category i think as our room was really large and was ready right away.


Dinner was really nice, the menu is very innovative and great refreshing set of menu's to choose from.

Some small points:
Starters where both nights SUPER cold, especially the Salmon wrap also the cheese for dessert came straight from the fridge.

Wine list is great, nice range of wines and prices and something for everyone.


The hotel in summary is great, the restaurant apart from the points above are also very good quality, price is fantastic, concierge are very friendly, however, the negative point is the reception staff, every interaction (in English or French) was a bit cold and not polite or wanting to help or showing any care for their guests.

I would still go back, it's a great hotel, with so much potential, really hope they get this sorted as it's a gem in Marseille!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ejd_deplanque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Luc_de_Bodisko, Director at New Hotel Of Marseille, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments. It was a real pleasure to read them. We are striving to make sure our clients never wait for their room to be ready and if a problem occurs we are doing our best to find a solution straight away. We are happy you enjoyed your stay at the Newhotel of Marseille and the Victor Café and we will do the necessary in our kitchen to improve the service of salmon and cheese. We thank you for your loyalty and hope to welcome you again for your next stay in Marseille.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzberg, Alemania
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

First choice if we would go again to Marseille. Large room, all installations working fine and very clean. Staff English speaking, very friendly and helpful.

It takes 15 minutes on foot to reach the old harbour and the metro station. Hence it is located quiet but taxi is needed for the airport (approx 70€)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prillerj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Luc_de_Bodisko, Director at New Hotel Of Marseille, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and we are looking forward to welcome you again in Marseille. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Newly built hotel, nive design, interesting art on the wall, large rooms (stayed in a superior room with balcony), our daughter loved it too. A parking in the basement make it very convenient when arriving by car (not always easy to park in Marseille!). Did not try the swimming pool but it was more of lack of time and high wind than the quality of the pool that is of very high standard. The breakfast could be improved - but that is only if something negative had to be said.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damien M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Luc_de_Bodisko, Director at New Hotel Of Marseille, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for your comment, we hope to see you for next stay in Marseille.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Saint-Victor
Radisson Blu Hotel, Marseille Vieux Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hotel Of Marseille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel Of Marseille

Property: New Hotel Of Marseille
Address: 71 boulevard Charles Livon, 13007 Marseille, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Marseille
#27 Business Hotel in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — New Hotel Of Marseille 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Hotel Of Marseille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hotel Marseille Le Pharo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing