We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, importantly safe”
Review of Europe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Europe Hotel
Ranked #79 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Reviewed June 21, 2012

This is a very basic, clean hotel costing less than 65 Euros per night. It has air conditioning, good showers and a WIFI system that actually works. It is located within two blocks of the Vieux Port where you can watch the fish mongers and take boat rides to see Chateau D'If or the seaside cliffs (The Calanques). The hotel has an elevator but guests must walk up a flight of stairs to the reception desk where the elevator becomes available. The hotel is located on a quiet street and there are several pastry shops on the street that provide outside tables for a cheap breakfast. Most importantly, the hotel has good security, someone is always at the reception desk, and it is on a safe street. Warning: Be very careful in Marseille. We do not feel as safe in Marseille, especially at night, as we do in almost all other French cities.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacques59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 105 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2012

The desk staff here were amazing! They were very friendly and helpful in all and every way. The room was clean and had free wifi which was nice. The bathroom was private in the room but there was no where to hang the shower head and no curtain which made it very difficult to shower. Great location in Vieux Port close to shopping, lots of restaurants and tourist attractions.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adventuretraveler090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Europe Hotel is a basic hotel so dont forget to take your own shower gel with you.But the rooms are clean the linen and towels sparkling white and the staff helpful. But best of all is the location just off the promenade (incidentally the promenade at the moment is all dug up) And its also not far from the heavenly Toinou restaurant with its fabulous collection of fresh live shell fish.

Room Tip: The rooms have double glazing so you can have a quiet night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marron222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2011

My girffriend and i came to visit marseille for a long weenkend and we chose europe hotel using the comments made on TripAdvisor. We were really happy with our choice. Our room was small but it was clean the bathromm was immaculate. the staff were polite ad very helpful in pointing things to see and the next both in the old port area by the hotel but also in marseille in gneral. Hope to see you again, Gary and Caty from Luton.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caty c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

First, I would like to thank Mike, Bruno, Fred and the rest of the staff for their help and recommendations. If value and location are important to you, you should be able to be perfecly happy at this property. The location cannot be beat, just steps away form the Vieux Port, Canebiere and Republique and the Metro. It is a 2 star hotel and the expectation should not be that it will a luxury property. (This last remark is mainly directed at Americans) The rooms and baths are clean, the staff superb and aside from the niggly remarks already mentioned by some reviewers, a 4 star location at a 2 star hotel price. Free wi fi is provided, but if you are on vacation and choose not to carry a laptop or smart phone, you are welcome to use two PC, located in the breakfast area.

I rather spend my hard earned money on good food, drink, entertainment and touring than on hotels and the Europe Hotel allowed me to do so, by providing good value, good location and great service.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nolatNewOrleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

This place was exactly what we were looking for! It's very reasonably priced, excellent location, comfortable, clean room and bathroom! Also, the Brittish man at front was extremely helpful and gave us great advice for what to see and do in Marseilles!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

The location of this hotel is wonderful: just a minute away from the harbor, with its boats, restaurants and views. Also a block away from the opera, ditto the metro and lots of nightlife. Unlike some, we enjoyed Marseille and would gladly return. Others have mentioned the two disadvantages: having to drag your suitcases up to the first floor, and the small rooms. But we found the price and location made it worthwhile. the hotel also has a free computer on the first floor, which was useful.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Flying_Chef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Opéra
Hotel Relax
Hotel Relax
#92 of 131 in Marseille
72 reviews
Opéra
Grand Tonic Hotel Vieux Port
Grand Tonic Hotel Vieux Port
#100 of 131 in Marseille
477 reviews
Opéra
Ibis Budget Marseille Vieux Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opéra
Hotel Carre Vieux Port Marseille
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europe Hotel

Address: 12 rue Beauvau, 13001 Marseille, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille > Opéra
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range: $71 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Europe Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Europe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europe Hotel Marseille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing