We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Museum of Mediterranean Archaeology (Musee d'Archeologie Mediterraneenne)
Book In Advance
More Info
$28.81*
and up
Marseille City Pass
Ranked #30 of 226 things to do in Marseille
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
84 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A very pleasant visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

We visited this museum and its exposition of warhol and magrite photos and really enjoyed both. The museum itself has interesting pieces that one does not find in all museums of this type. We particularly enjoyed the 3rd floor with the mexican popular arts gallery and south american gallery. Very unique. We recommend it. Perfect for a rainy day as well.

Helpful?
Thank Sebwv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    77
    19
    8
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
481 reviews
173 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
“Museum closed when we went there but the building was lovely”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

I don't understand why everything shuts down in Europe on 1 January, but since that was the day we came here, we didn't get to see the museum. The building, formerly a workhouse, has been splendidly restored however. Although from the outside it looks like a prison (perhaps workhouses were really like that) the interior courtyard is very beautiful. Built in the 18th century in the local pink limestone, the galleried courtyard is very handsome and there is a small chapel as well (also closed when we were there).

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susan8552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Inside spectacular, but don't overlook the fabulous job done on the exterior. A work of art in its own!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Well worth the walk to the museum from the Vieux Port. Gorgeous, but inside and out. And we both loved the fact that they used an existing, historical fort for the location. Bravo, Marseille! Can't wait to return.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thatspatsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

This museum documents the history of Marseille dating back centuries. I found it extraordinary that so much information dating back over 1,000 years ago still exists. This is a great place to not only learn about the history of Marseille, but also the history of Europe and civilization.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Geo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estado de Mexico, Mexico
Level Contributor
279 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“This is worth your time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

This museum has very interesting content and a beautiful design.
It is near other attractions.
This is something you will not find in many places.
We did not have the chance of seeing it at night, but it is a mayor attraction for tourists to see the unique illumination it has.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank McMarcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Mediterranean Archaeology (Musee d'Archeologie Mediterraneenne) also viewed

Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Museum of Mediterranean Archaeology (Musee d'Archeologie Mediterraneenne)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing