We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Paradise!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
JosieInve...
Inverness, Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
Reviewed July 19, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

just spent two weeks at this beautiful villa. The pictures spell it out! Complete tranquility and the private pool is a bonus. Marie is an absolute perfect host. Every day she would put something new at the pool to make your stay even better. You never saw her, only if you asked her to join you. The I translate is a great way to communicate with Marie and her dog Lexie is a delight ❤️. There are a number of local shops bakeries chemists and bars very local and cheap compared to the old port of Marseille. If you're looking for a peaceful and tranquil holiday then this is it! Paradise in Marseille - you would never know it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and pool
Liked least: mosquitos
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoysHolid...
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“An absolute oasis with a great swimming pool”
Reviewed June 27, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Just had an excellent 10 days at the property. Party consisted of 4 adults so worked well with two using the bedroom and 2 with the sofa bed in the lounge area. Le Rose is not in any way a tourist resort but there are ample shops/supermarkets to cater for all needs. The pool was used everyday and the large private garden area is a wonderful area to laze after a day sightseeing. Marie, although she does not speak English, has a friendly bubbly personality and will do her best to ensure her guests enjoy their stay. Apart from the daily acknowledgement with Marie which is just about as strong as my knowledge of the French language gets both Marie`s and our ipad translator aided communication.
Marie leaves you to it but is always available if you need anything. We found this to be an excellent base with quick and very efficient metro connections to the splendid Marseille. We had trips by train to Nice, Cannes, Toulon and Aix. We also took the bus to the lovely Cassis but be aware there is not a M8 bus out of Cassis until 17:15 hrs. You could do Cassis by train and then look to catch the M1 bus to and from the train station to Cassis casino which is about 2 km. You could of course walk and whilst you will realise its a reasonable downhill walk from the station the walk back out in hot weather is a different matter! Got to say we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday accommodation and were very reluctant to leave.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia M
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Oasis in Marseille”
Reviewed June 8, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Comfortable and much more spacious accommodation (apart from the bathroom!) than expected from photos, with lovely large pool and pretty garden with mature trees.
Unlike many previous of the French holiday lets we have stayed in the past, many basic provisions were provided i.e. milk, juice, water, tea, coffee as well as washing and dishwasher tablets! There were even all sorts of bathroom provisions as in a 4/5 star hotel, including the hairdryer! Loads of towels and end of stay clean included, great value.
Marie, our host, was absolutely delightful, very, very kind with lovely greeting snacks and helpful information provided throughout our stay. We were also unexpectedly met at the metro station.
I must admit I was rather daunted on arrival at the station on Monday, the 10 min walk to the house passed along the metro 'flyover' and a busy dual carriageway with lots of 'high rise' blocks and apparently no shops, apart from a boulangerie, or any restaurants. Was it safe to come back at night I enquired? Then, we turned into the residential roads to the 'Oasis', peace calm and tranquility as advertised! The croaking of the bullfrogs from around 21.30 drowning out any traffic noise. Pizza restaurant (excellent) good kebab / snack shop and general provision shop, all verified by us as I refuse to cook on holiday, materialised the next day, no problems coming home in the dark either.
Just wish I had booked for longer than 5 nights to take more advantage of the pool as sightseeing in Marseille took priority this time, I may return with husband later in year.
Was visiting Marseille with son to try new Eurostar service.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spaciousness
Liked least: Walk from metro
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montague1...
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This villa is an amazing find in the South of France”
Reviewed May 31, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We have just returned from a truly fantastic holiday at Marie's villa in Marseille. We are a family of 5 (12y, 9y & 6y) and we stayed for 4 nts/5 days in this wonderful oasis just minutes from the heart of Marseille's old port. Marie was a wonderful host and we managed to communicate with our limited French and her limited English and the help of google translate! She is so kind and helpful and really wants you to get the most out of your stay. Our children slept on a double click clack sofa bed and a separate single put you up bed and the living room was large enough for us to keep the beds up all the time. The weather was perfect (mid 20's every day) so we spent all our time outdoors in the lovely garden and spacious terrace areas around the pool. There isn't an oven (just a hob and microwave) but this wasn't a problem as we used the BBQ every night, most nights grilling fresh fish bought from the fishermen at the old port. We ate every meal on the terrace outside, including breakfast. When we were at the villa the children spent hours playing in the large L shaped swimming pool with the inflatables. There was also a dart board and bats and balls which they also enjoyed.
We had a car but we used the metro to go into Marseille, the metro station is a 5-10 minute walk from the villa. We then used the car to go further afield, the first day we went to Aix en Provence which is a beautiful town and it had a morning market on. The next day we drove to Monaco (approx 2.5 hrs) which was an amazing day out - we went on the beach and did the open top bus tour. We also did the 2hr boat trip to the Calanques which we thought might be more impressive as the reality doesn't quite match the stunning pictures that you see of these little bays. Next time we will take a ferry to the islands just off Marseille's harbour and our sons are keen to do a football stadium tour.
This was our first trip to the South of France and we are well travelled and usually like to always explore different places but we are already booking to go back to Marie's villa. There is so much more for us to explore on this coast and the villa is great value for money, Marie is so friendly and welcoming and the bustle of Marseille is close by. This holiday ticked all the boxes and the people of Marseille were all so friendly and helpful - a wonderful all round experience. Thank you Marie - we will see you again next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and the terraces, sunbeds, outside seating, BBQ and garden
Liked least: The bathroom
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mandypoon...
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super house”
Reviewed September 29, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We spent 2 nights in Marseille, why we choose this house?? There is a swimming pool, kitchen, bathroom and sleep enough for 5 adult and the price is fair to us, so why not???Everything is super!! We love it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: swimming pool
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ruth S
Seoul, South Korea
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“An oasis!”
Reviewed July 5, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

An excellent little apartment adjoining the owner's home. The pool is much bigger than it looks in the photos and the apartment is also bigger than it looks. Although the owner is next door she NEVER intruded or bothered our space - quite the contrary, she was very helpful when we needs to ask for anything. She does not speak English and we only speak a little French but she is very willing to engage in communication when needed. The washing machine and dishwasher were good additions to the kitchen. Parking is inside the locked wall area. A large Carrefour is a few minutes away by car. There is a lovely bakery around the corner from the apartment. Only one small improvement would be to have an additional mattress and bedding available as there is one double bed and one sofa bed - our children didn't really like to share the sofa bed. We would stay here again if we visited Marseille.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The private pool and safe feeling.
Liked least: The sofa bed
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing