We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overrated” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vallon des Auffes

Vallon des Auffes
Book In Advance
More Info
$38.46*
and up
Marseille Electric Bike Tour
Ranked #10 of 218 things to do in Marseille
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
galicia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

We walked from the old port, takes about half an hour. Expected something fantastic. It is a tiny cove with 3 restaurants, a handful of fishing boats, and backdropped by lots of houses. Nothing to do except take a snapshot and walk back. Only go if you are going to eat in one of the expensive eateries.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank dawnGalicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    482
    292
    62
    13
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Pretty port”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We walked down here having seen it amongst the top things to do on tripadvisor. It's a sweet port with little fishing boats and a few restauarants, which makes a change from the pace of the big city, but if you've seen your fair share of pretty ports along the coast, I'm not sure it warrants a special trip unless you plan to eat there. Having said that, we enjoyed the walk towards the Palace along the coast, with good views of the islands.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Amandapandap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“no no no, don't go!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

It's a secret place that we don't want to share!!! :)

There is 3 famous restaurants (for local people) down there: one for family (Pizza Chez Jeannot), 2 others for family as well but need to be wealthy... (l'Epuisette et Chez Fonfon)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank akhela31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A quit but beautiful old harbour in Marseille”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

If there is one thing I've learned from my tript to Marseille is that is is a diverse city. Wether you want to have a lazy day at the beach, see a beautiful cathedral or be obsurbed in the hip and happening nightlife of the city, Marseille has it al!

Since our appartement was near the Vallon des Auffes we walked by this old harbour almost daily. And it is gorgeous! It houses one of the finest restaurants in Marseille (FonFon). This is a quit and peaceful place just 20 minutes from Marseilles big harbour Vieux Port. When you walk up the stairs at the back of the harbour and cross the street towards the big statue you wil have a lovely view over the ocean. Visit this place around sunset and it will look even more pretty!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Marlijn27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cozy little place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

This small port is a nice way to spend an afternoon in the company of friends. If you have some local friends, it's even better. Get them to show you the hidden corners and sites with great views and spend time in water or on a boat.
The restaurants nearby are nice and serve great food.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vallon des Auffes also viewed

 
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Vallon des Auffes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing