We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magnificent discovery in magnificent Marseille.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu
Ranked #4 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Certificate of Excellence
Eze, France
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A magnificent discovery in magnificent Marseille.”
Reviewed September 1, 2014

This hotel is a grand and wonderful place to stay. The first view of it will take your breath away.
I stayed here with my friend from New York, I am Australian, I live 6 months in France and 6 months in Australia, we are both big travellers, and we were on a road trip from Nice to Barcelona. My friend is an expert hotel finder, she found this magnificent place for us.
The staff are incredible especially the blonde concierge, he was patient and helpful and hilarious. They were helpful, friendly, professional and what you want when staying at such a hotel.
The hotel itself is breathtaking, with a view to die for.
The breakfast is excellent, and the terrace bar is a lovely sanctuary. The maitre d'hotel for the terrace bar is an exceptional character. He is friendly and knowledgable and very interesting.
The decor of the hotel is luxurious and interesting, and the rooms are generous and well-decorated.
I fell in love with Marseilles and especially this hotel. I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We had a twin room which was just fine. Don't be shy to ask for an upgrade when you arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WizDownUnder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,257
    371
    136
    58
    17
See reviews for
294
916
61
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2014

Hotel's location is very convenient - near by port and old city. Rooms are spacious, clean and modern. Breakfast has decent choice, you can also have nice dinner at teracce - it's very romantic. Wifi is fast enough. Hotel is kid friendly. We had lovely stay and I definately recomend this hotel. If possible, get a room with a view - of course you pay more, but it will be worth it. Staff is very friendly (especially reception) and helpful, but english is lacking in some cases.

Room Tip: Take a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janika K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a weekend break and cannot recommend this hotel and the city of Marseille highly enough.
Sense of arrival at this amazing historic building, impeccably converted to a 5 star hotel exceeded expectations on all counts.
The lobby, restaurant, terrace, bedrooms and spa all made us wish we were there longer and at the recommendations of the concierge we were also very happy to visit and take in all the 'must see' sites of this great city.
Above all, the sense of pride in the hotel shone through with every member of the team we came into contact with and even in the local flavour of the exquisite, authentic cuisine we experienced over dinner.
Congratulations and thank you to Madelijn and the team .... We'll be back!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DHUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

If you are going to Marseilles, and if you will splurge for at least one hotel whine you are traveling, you really ought to consider making this the place to do so. A former hospital, this hotel has arguably the best possible location (a short walk to the scenic s harbor), with a view of the town and the monumental cathedral Notre Dame. We were treated like royalty from the moment we arrived by reception. The place is chic and refined, with several dining areas, all of which pleased us. Special thanks to the lovely young woman at the concierge desk who found us a terrific tour guide on shirt notice and directed us to an outstanding restaurant steps away.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BrooklynDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

Location is great, you can walk to the port in like 5 minutes and plenty of restaurant there. Facility are great and clean. Even there are adaptors in the room which is very sweet.
But our experience at the hotel is not so good. On the first day another man was given the same room as ours, and he can actually open our door! Luckily we were in the room and locked from inside.
And the concierge was not helpful at all. We waited like 20 minutes or more for the previous woman's luggage problem. Why he cannot call another staff to help with our simple question? And he basically only answer yes or no to your questions. Can you give a little bit more useful info??
Before we check out, room cleaning came and knock on the door loudly. We were confused at that time so we asked what is going on. She do not speak english and she start to shout at us(but we cannot understand).
These are very disappointed since we are expecting a 5star service. But if you do not care the service, the hotel is great for its facility and location.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Chenyang W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaux T, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Chenyang W,

Thank you for sharing you experience at the InterContinental Marseille – Hotel Dieu.

We are sad to learn your disappointment which is obviously not the image we wish to share with our customers. We value very much your comments as they help us to improve our services.

We took good note of all your remarks and we already took all the necessary actions to satisfy your needs during your newt stay with us.

In the meantime, I remain at your disposal for any request you may have at +33 413 42 42 12

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2014

We deliberately searched out the InterContinental for a short stay in Marseille, as an upper-end place to relax at the end of a demanding trip in the region -- and were entirely pleased. We wanted to be near but away from the noise of the Vieux Porte -- a bit of a climb but readily manageable -- and we wanted a pool.
With the overall first-class quality of the restoration of the old Hotel Dieux, which has made for very gracious public spaces and rooms with terrific views to the port, one could quibble with the hidden-away location of the small pool, although once there, it is perfectly pleasant.
The unexpected benefit was the outstanding terrace -- both shady and scenic -- with attentive staff and a full range of lunch, snacks and drinks -- we spent quite a few hours simply lounging and resting there.
Our room was sizable, well appointed, comfortable and perfectly maintained.
Staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay. Especially to be noted are the concierge crew, who arranged transport and two sets of last-minute restaurant reservations with skill, dispatch and aplomb.

Room Tip: Select to face the port.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaux T, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear JimP,

Thank you for sharing youre experience at the InterContinental Marseille – Hotel Dieu.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed being with us. Please be sure that your comments will be shared with our staff and especially with the concierge team.

Note that a golf cart is at the disposal of every client to help you reach the lobby!

We hope to welcome you back soon,

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2014

Beautiful hotel overlooking the port of Marseille. We deliberated whether to stay on the other side of the port but actually this location is perfect, close to everything and with the best views! The port view terrace room was gorgeous, and the terrace much bigger than it looked on the website, I could have spent all weekend just sat there relaxing! On arrival we had Sunday brunch on the main terrace which was fantastic too. Overall an excellent stay and very reasonable if you join the IHG before booking!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sarahkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaux T, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Sarahkc,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Marseille – Hotel Dieu.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoined being with us, that you liked the view and our Sunday Brunch! We try to make it very special.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you once again soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Saint-Victor
Radisson Blu Hotel, Marseille Vieux Port
Palais-de-Justice
C2 Hotel
C2 Hotel
#3 of 131 in Marseille
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Marseille Palm Beach
#16 of 131 in Marseille
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu

Property: InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu
Address: 1 Place Daviel, 13002 Marseille, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu is perfectly located overlooking the Vieux Port, right beside the oldest district in Marseille known as the Panier. The hotel is housed in a listed historical monument dating back to the 18th century and boasts a really beautiful terrace, where you can rest after a busy day admiring the Vieux Port. Nearby the Calanques must be seen! Marseille is the vibrant Mediterranean's capital of Provence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing