We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel, bit difficult to find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture
Ranked #40 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, bit difficult to find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We reached Marseilles late in the evening and the hotel was a good 15 minute walk from the train station. The lobby of the hotel was really small and we were kind of unsure what we had gotten ourselves into. But once we were in the room we were really happy with the facilities. Wifi was free and really fast which was something that you rarely find in other hotels. The breakfast buffet spread was limited but adequate. The hotel is away from all the construction in the city and hence very peaceful. I must add that it is not the best time to travel to Marseilles with all the construction going on for the "culture city 2013" award preparations going on.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pgr031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinne L, Directrice/ Hotel Manager at Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feed back. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we will be happy to welcome you again in Marseille in few months to see all the changes that have been made. Still a couple of months and it should be better!

Sincerely yours,

Corinne Lebreton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    177
    74
    31
    14
See reviews for
43
173
25
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nurmijarvi, Finland
Level Contributor
329 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

This hotel is well situated near Marseille old port and shopping street. Staff was really friendly. Our room was modern and well sized with good bathroom and separate toilet. We even had little balcony. Staff was really helpful to tell about Marseille. Very comfortable bed. I didn't mind about noise outdoor, I'm not a light sleeper, but my friend had some problems with car horns and people screaming. Toilet wasn't well cleaned and we missed one big towel when we arrived, but when telling this to reception these things were taken care of.

- Free wifi
- Air condition
- Close to SNCF train station
- Close to shops and old port

When arriving at 11 o'clock in the evening and it was already dark, we walked two times past the hotel without finding it, because there is no good sign. If you are arriving at night time search big shop sign that says LONDON, the hotel is next to it.

The price was really good for this quality, especially when hotels are not very cheap in Marseille. I would consider to stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want small balcony, separate toilet and bathroom request room 201.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cadhlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinne L, Directrice/ Hotel Manager at Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for this comment and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Your satisfaction is very important to us and your feed back will help us to improve and give a better service.

We definitly hope welcoming you again in the future,

Sincerely yours,

Corinne Lebreton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Spent 3 nights at the Vieux Port. Really good central location. Only a few minutes walk to shops ,restaurants, port ,train/bus station. Opened this year, there is still no hotel sign so you have to find it by its address. Very small reception with lift/stairs to bedrooms adjacent. The bedrooms (ours was 212) are quite small with a double bed, wardrobe, very small table & chair and a small shower room. Obviously all new bedding, furniture etc and all very cleanTea and coffee facilities but not always replenished. We were on a b and b basis and the breakfast was good with a choice of hams, cheeses, yoghurts. Had hot breakfast on two days (scrambled or fried egg with bacon) but strangely not on third morning. Can be a bit chaotic if you take breakfast early. Staff are really helpful ie. one day we had no towels and a call to reception brought them immediately.

Room Tip: Despite being on busy street not to much noise although street cleansing early morning can be heard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trejan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinne L, Directrice/ Hotel Manager at Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

First we would like to thank youfor staying with us and we also thank you for your feed back.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in Marseille and we want you to know how important it is to us to improve the quality of our service.

Once again we than you for your comment and we are looking welcoming you gain in the future.

Sincerely yours,

Corinne Lebreton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Fabulously located in centre of Marseille, within walking distance to Vieux Port and yet rooms are excellently insulated that traffic noises wasn't an issue (my room was on 3rd floor facing Cours Belsunce). Room size was small but pretty comfortable and the finish was of good quality. Certainly a step above other chain hotels e.g. Ibis & Etap. Service was smiley, friendly and helpful and for the location and comfort, the price was a bargain. Breakfast choice was limited but I can survive on croissant & coffee in the morning and not much else.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ben2027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinne L, at Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for stay with us and thank you for sharing your experience.
The quality of service is very important to us and we take your comment very seriously. We are still working on our breakfast but we are improving every day to meet our guests' expectations.
We hope to welcoming you again very soon!

Sincerely yours,

Corinne Lebreton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ribeirao Preto, SP
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

I was going to spend a long period (3 months) in Marseille, so I needed a good hotel, I spend 1,5 months going from hotel to hotel, until I found this one, and sped the rest of the period in it.

It was the best one from all that I tried, the hotel is new, clean, good staff, good internet, and it was cheaper than the other ones that I tried.

It's also very well localized, on the side of the Centre Burse, the local shopping mall.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vitor_zero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinne L, Directrice at Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Sir,

I finally take the opportunity to thank you for staying with us. It has been a great pleasure to have you staying with us and we hope to welcome you again in the future!

Sincerely yours,

Corinne Lebreton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

The hotel opened in June 2012 so everything is still brand new. There is no sign yet on the outside of the hotel, so you really have to look out for the street number.

It is centrally located 5 minutes’ walk from the port, a few minutes to the metro station and just opposite a shopping centre. There are plenty of small cafés and restaurants around. It is not the best of areas but it is OK if you are only planning on spending 1-3 nights in Marseille.

Staff were very friendly and welcoming. I was given a room on the 4th floor facing a back street. The room was modern, clean and had a TV (only French TV stations), safe, tea & coffee making facilities and a nice bathroom with a shower. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel.

Breakfast was included in the price of the room. The breakfast room is small and choice is very limited. It costs €13 if not included, which is far too much for what is on offer.

The hotel was very good value for money.

Room Tip: High floor facing away from the main street (416 is a good choice)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oliviauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinne L, Directrice at Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

First we would would like to thank you for staying with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Marseille and sincerely hope to welcome you again.

Just to let you know, we have many more channels now, including CNN, BBC news and Eurosport.

Sincerely yours,

Corinne Lebreton
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Hotel Saint Louis
#29 of 131 in Marseille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Hermes
#18 of 131 in Marseille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opéra
Hotel Carre Vieux Port Marseille
Le Ryad Boutique Hotel
#9 of 131 in Marseille
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture

Property: Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture
Address: 16 cours Belsunce, 13001 Marseille, France (Formerly Quality Hotel Marseille Vieux Port)
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port is an all new hotel in the city center of Marseille. Deisgn, simple and cosy, this is the perfect hotel for a citybreak or a business travel. Every day enjoy our HappyTime "Pastis Bar" from 6pm to 8pm for a tasting of Pastis of all colors, of orangeade and lemonade home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing