We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture
Ranked #40 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfect for City break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Spent 3 nights at the Vieux Port. Really good central location. Only a few minutes walk to shops ,restaurants, port ,train/bus station. Opened this year, there is still no hotel sign so you have to find it by its address. Very small reception with lift/stairs to bedrooms adjacent. The bedrooms (ours was 212) are quite small with a double bed, wardrobe, very small table & chair and a small shower room. Obviously all new bedding, furniture etc and all very cleanTea and coffee facilities but not always replenished. We were on a b and b basis and the breakfast was good with a choice of hams, cheeses, yoghurts. Had hot breakfast on two days (scrambled or fried egg with bacon) but strangely not on third morning. Can be a bit chaotic if you take breakfast early. Staff are really helpful ie. one day we had no towels and a call to reception brought them immediately.

Room Tip: Despite being on busy street not to much noise although street cleansing early morning can be heard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trejan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinne L, Directrice/ Hotel Manager at Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

First we would like to thank youfor staying with us and we also thank you for your feed back.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in Marseille and we want you to know how important it is to us to improve the quality of our service.

Once again we than you for your comment and we are looking welcoming you gain in the future.

Sincerely yours,

Corinne Lebreton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    177
    74
    31
    14
See reviews for
43
173
25
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Fabulously located in centre of Marseille, within walking distance to Vieux Port and yet rooms are excellently insulated that traffic noises wasn't an issue (my room was on 3rd floor facing Cours Belsunce). Room size was small but pretty comfortable and the finish was of good quality. Certainly a step above other chain hotels e.g. Ibis & Etap. Service was smiley, friendly and helpful and for the location and comfort, the price was a bargain. Breakfast choice was limited but I can survive on croissant & coffee in the morning and not much else.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ben2027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinne L, at Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for stay with us and thank you for sharing your experience.
The quality of service is very important to us and we take your comment very seriously. We are still working on our breakfast but we are improving every day to meet our guests' expectations.
We hope to welcoming you again very soon!

Sincerely yours,

Corinne Lebreton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ribeirao Preto, SP
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

I was going to spend a long period (3 months) in Marseille, so I needed a good hotel, I spend 1,5 months going from hotel to hotel, until I found this one, and sped the rest of the period in it.

It was the best one from all that I tried, the hotel is new, clean, good staff, good internet, and it was cheaper than the other ones that I tried.

It's also very well localized, on the side of the Centre Burse, the local shopping mall.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vitor_zero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinne L, Directrice at Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Sir,

I finally take the opportunity to thank you for staying with us. It has been a great pleasure to have you staying with us and we hope to welcome you again in the future!

Sincerely yours,

Corinne Lebreton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

The hotel opened in June 2012 so everything is still brand new. There is no sign yet on the outside of the hotel, so you really have to look out for the street number.

It is centrally located 5 minutes’ walk from the port, a few minutes to the metro station and just opposite a shopping centre. There are plenty of small cafés and restaurants around. It is not the best of areas but it is OK if you are only planning on spending 1-3 nights in Marseille.

Staff were very friendly and welcoming. I was given a room on the 4th floor facing a back street. The room was modern, clean and had a TV (only French TV stations), safe, tea & coffee making facilities and a nice bathroom with a shower. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel.

Breakfast was included in the price of the room. The breakfast room is small and choice is very limited. It costs €13 if not included, which is far too much for what is on offer.

The hotel was very good value for money.

Room Tip: High floor facing away from the main street (416 is a good choice)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oliviauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinne L, Directrice at Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

First we would would like to thank you for staying with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Marseille and sincerely hope to welcome you again.

Just to let you know, we have many more channels now, including CNN, BBC news and Eurosport.

Sincerely yours,

Corinne Lebreton
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Hotel Saint Louis
#29 of 131 in Marseille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Hermes
#18 of 131 in Marseille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opéra
Hotel Carre Vieux Port Marseille
Le Ryad Boutique Hotel
#9 of 131 in Marseille
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture

Property: Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture
Address: 16 cours Belsunce, 13001 Marseille, France (Formerly Quality Hotel Marseille Vieux Port)
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port is an all new hotel in the city center of Marseille. Deisgn, simple and cosy, this is the perfect hotel for a citybreak or a business travel. Every day enjoy our HappyTime "Pastis Bar" from 6pm to 8pm for a tasting of Pastis of all colors, of orangeade and lemonade home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing