We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky hotel in residential part of Marseille”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mama Shelter Marseille
Ranked #9 of 132 Hotels in Marseille
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is a concept hotel whose design aesthetic is a bit bohemian chic with state of the art technology/wired services in the rooms. It is about 20 minutes walk outside the tourist areas of the Vieux Port in a residential area of Marseille. There are ample restaurants and cafes in the vicinity though. The hotel restaurant/bar was hopping each of the three nights (over a weekend) I was in residence and it seems to draw a trendy crowd. The food and drinks were very good and the bartender likes to put on a show a la Tom Cruise in Cocktails. The rooms are clean and spare but will all the needed essentials. It is reasonably priced and a worthwhile destination if you are visiting Marseille and don't want to be in the midst of the touristy areas.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 1,124 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

One of the nicest hotel rooms ever. So much light, so fresh. All in all very nice, trendy hotel with friendly and helpful staff.

First seems to be a bit oddly located, but in reality perfect location – in case you don't need to stay at the touristic centre. Just be aware, the hotel is quite easy to miss when approached by feet.

Room Tip: Top floor has a nice loft-like feel, and lot of light. At least rooms that face Rue Château Payan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nils K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The location of the hotel is situated in a residential area so the walk to get to the centre is around 20 mins. The staff are friendly and the decor is within the concept of the brand which is cool and edgy. The only note for improvement would be to create a similar buzz within the hotel to the Paris Mama Shelter. There the staff have a permanent smile and create an infectious energy which then makes you realise that you have booked into something more than a regular hotel.
Another slight problem is that there is a restaurant but if you don't fancy the dishes then you are a bit stuck as outside the hotel there nearest area for dining would be 15 mins walk away.
But as luck would have it there is a square outside the hotel which has a bar. The owner Samantha is a one woman marvel who makes you feel immediately at ease. Her customer service and energy is infectious and she offered us pizza from the adjacent shop which we could eat whilst sat in the square at her bar. This was a lifeline as we were hungry and too tired to go out walking again.
So Samantha we salute you for your kindness and your great bar Campagne. Maybe Mama shelter could use her skill to train their own staff in what the essence of fun and service is.

Room Tip: Get a suite as the standard room is really small and the bed is facing the wall so the window behind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharonStevenage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The overall design and funky vibe of this hotel grabs you immediately. It's centred around the fashionable and design concepts but you also get that homely feel in a bohemian way. My sister and I spent 5 nights here and had a clean; modern and comfortable room. It was fun and stylish and didn't break the bank.
The staff were fun and loud but a little self absorbed so that ruined the experience of people contact. Howeever, the location was good being a slow 10-15 minute stroll to the old port. There are a lot of nice cafe and shops along the way. We loved the soap shops and some of the galleries were just amazing. So tempted to buy but how to bring back home!!! It would have been better for us gals, two lone female travelers, to have chosen a hotel in a better locale. the streeets around were really dirty and we felt terribly uneasy walking back or out at night. The narrow, dark streets made us look around our backs every few steps we took. It wasn't a comforting feeling.
Once in our room, the nights in snooze land were pleasnat. The bathroom was clean but a little squeezy. There's the iMac in the room; nice touch, but we were equiped with our iPads and iphones. Our room looked out over the courtyard. Got to lounge a few nights late at the bar which was cool with delicious cocktails and ate once at the hotel, not bad. Breakfast was buffet style with a few hits and misses but good value.
Mama shelter is a really adorable and hip hotel and it served our need of having a clean room and bed at a reasonable price in this culturally colorful town. For some, it may be too different and rowdy because of the clubbing vibe but that's its charm. I probably enjoyed it more than my sister who prefers her peace and quiet.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashleyp85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Trendy, fun and unique hotel in Marseille. The staff were very friendly and helpful. There was a good atmosphere in the restaurant downstairs - food was delicious. The rooms are clean and basic - enough to keep you sheltered! We loved the design of the hotel and would definitely recommend :)

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank L3XI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Pros:
- One of the few "design hotels" in Marseille. Decent pricing is one of the main asset of staying there as it is not much more expensive than standard 2 stars soulless chain hotels.
- Free Apple tv movies is a plus.
- Nice and comfortable bedding and linen.

Cons:
- Location is a bit far away from the center (20-25mn walk to the Vieux-Port).
- Staff was incredibly arrogant, unfriendly. The hipster ambiance should not prevent staff from basic courtesy and professionalism. Barely a "good morning" or "hello" at breakfast if none, no explanation as to how breakie worked (for example, staff did not explain we could ask for hot drinks). Upon checking in, it was the minimum service with hardly no explanation of the restaurant hours, the wifi malfunctions that occured that day, etc...

Overall:
As price is fair compared to other Marseille options, I would still consider going back but the unpleasant staff needs drastic improvement and simplicity.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and slept maybe for a total of 6 hours. Awful experience on the 2nd floor on top of their blaring sound system with their so called "cool and hip" djs.

I called the front desk at 1 am asking them frankly who are they trying to satisfy : their restaurent guests or the hotel guests that paid triple? I'm very confused by their approach, they clearly don't care if I couldn't sleep. And then the front desk person had the guts to offer ear plugs that I needed to pay for!!

The street was also surprisingly noisy even though its pretty far up the main "downtown" area.

I finally changed rooms on my last night but it still left a very bad impression. The decor is just a bit too much and I feel like they're trying too hard.

If you're in that area to party it up, then by all means stay here but if you want to rest- stay at a different hotel.

Oh and it's practically impossible to find this hotel! Even with a GPS I got lost...

Room Tip: Stay on the quiet side of the hotel and on the top floor facing the courtyard and not the busy stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jane155033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Alex Hotel
#2 of 132 in Marseille
402 reviews
Saint-Victor
Radisson Blu Hotel, Marseille Vieux Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mama Shelter Marseille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mama Shelter Marseille

Address: 64 rue de la Loubiere, 13006 Marseille, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 132 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range: $87 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mama Shelter Marseille 2*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
So much more than a place to sleep, Mama Shelter Marseille is the heart of life, a place where people gather around a shared meal, a live band, unpredictable encounters. 127 Sensual and elegant rooms equipped with Apple iMacs 27" (TV, Internet, CD/DVD Player, IChat, Photobooth, Videobooth) and 5 Star bedding (Duvet 100% Satin Coton Sheets). Rooms similar to those at MAMA PARIS, but drawing on a new energy through the colors of the Mediterranean. Cool in the summer, they are also warm during rare cold snaps. It is situated only 25km from Marseille Provence airport and is only 10 minutes from the train station Gare Saint Charles by taxi. Take a break in Mama Shelter Marseille and enjoy: Live Concerts, Shows, DJs, Tennis Table, parking... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Mama Shelter Marseille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing