We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mama Marseille not as cuddly as Mama Paris”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mama Shelter Marseille
Ranked #10 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Mama Marseille not as cuddly as Mama Paris”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We love Mama Shelter in Paris - it's a brilliantly hip and cool hotel which is well priced in the Parisian market and a pleasure to stay in. Mama Marseille replicates the Parisian hotel blueprint but with not quite the same level of success. The slick Starck design is still there, the cool iMacs and wifi in every room plus the oh so trendy yet ultra helpful staff at the front desk.

I was less impressed with the location - walking distance from 2 metro stops but a bit of a slog in the summer heat. It is near a street with plenty of restaurants and cafes and also near a very funky up and coming part of town (Mama will give you a map showing you the places to go). Not terrible, but I would have preferred to stay somewhere a bit more central.

My main dislike was the room - we were on the 6th floor (top floor) and the room was just a bit too cosy. Mama Paris rooms are not enormous, but this time I couldn't even walk around the outside of our bed without contorting my body at various angles to avoid objects. The slightly sloping window (like a loft roof) also caused me injury one morning when I was trying to get past and still half asleep. Ouch! Maybe rooms on other floors are better designed and laid out.

The bar area and restaurant were less buzzy than Paris but perhaps this will develop as the hotel gains more customers and popularity (it has only been open a few months). Still a solid choice, but be careful which room you choose.

Room Tip: I was not impressed with our 6th floor room with its sloping roof - even less room than other floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blackers79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    377
    92
    22
    17
See reviews for
77
453
54
186
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Hotel: it's a modern building. Very unusual and very nicely done bar and restaurant.

Room: I had a luxe double. It was a decent size and very very comfortable and nicely done. The bed was amazing. Very nice walk in overhead shower. Great TV with TV, free films, including "romantic" ones! Large window one can open. I loved the room. For the price the room exceeded my expectations considerably.

Staff: friendly and helpful. And attractive! Perfect.

Location: the hotel is in a quiet residential area a 10-15 minute walk from the port / centre. For me it was perfect as its a 3 minute walk from Le cour Julien with all it's small streets full of restaurants and a short walk to the terminus of the buses going to the beaches. There is a small triangle outside the hotel with a shop selling pastries etc, a small restaurant where one can get coffee and cigarettes and a take away pizzeria, but one can eat it on the terrace.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllanBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights after a short visit in 2012. Its a great hotel even for a family although we're not the target group. The rooms are modern, functional and comfortable. The real strengths of this place are the staff who are fabulous and the location which is close to the touristy areas but far enough away to allow for a small window on an interesting part of real Marseille. Always enjoy the breakfast and this time had an lovely evening meal on the terrace while the children played chess in the "wading pool". Book ahead for a good room price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ag2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

It was a pleasure to go back to our room after visiting Marseille. The room was on a small size but it was great. The most comfortable bed, great layout, wifi and a Apple TV with free films. Few Metro stops away from the port area. A trendy comfortable oasis in a city that is still rogue...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GiovanniLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

All designed by Philippe starck, this modern hotel is very agreeable, pleasant and holds a young and very in atmosphere, wi fi is excellent, I Mac in all rooms unforgettable experience
Breakfast is served in a very unique dinning room as well as supper
And mostly they are animal lovers so I could travel with my dog!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michele s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
63 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Great hotel design & modern, well situated (10 mn by metro from Saint Charles railway station)
We had a Deluxe room on sunday night (69€, sunday exclusive price), 5th floor, quiet & very cute. We had just a small desagrement with bad smell in the bathroom but we highly recommand to stay there (or at list eat & stay on their sunny terrace)

Room Tip: Rooms are nicer in 5th or 6th floor. If you can, ask for a room with street view especially on frida...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anneetsophie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Attiki, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed there for one night as we were on a roadtrip. We were asked to pay 169€ for a medium size room where parking and breakfast were not included in the price!! (parking is an extra 17 euros/day and breakfast and extra 15 euros/person)

-The bathroom was very small and so badly designed that after a quick shower the floor was flooded! Moreover we were offered only one (bad) product that was supposed to be for the hair, face and body... oh, and towels. But that's it! They offer nothing more. Not even hand soap!
-There was no closet but only two small rails with 4-5 hangers and a shelf instead.
-There was a kettle, a microwave and a sink only to make a reference to the hostel it is.
-The bed was good. (but it should be kind of a given in a hotel. Especially what it's SO expensive!)
-There was an iMac instead of a TV. (So what?)
-An ugly building exterior in a bad location.


I am a designer and this is not stylish post modern design or whatever it is supposed to be. It is more like "look how much we can charge you for an iMac per night"
I would write no bad review if I was charged 70€ and I would write a good review if I was charged less. But 169€ for a hostel with a good mattress and an iMac??
So vain, so pretentious!

Room Tip: there is no reason to stay in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Zac I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Alex Hotel
#2 of 131 in Marseille
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel 96
#1 of 131 in Marseille
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Saint-Victor
Radisson Blu Hotel, Marseille Vieux Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mama Shelter Marseille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mama Shelter Marseille

Property: Mama Shelter Marseille
Address: 64 rue de la Loubiere, 13006 Marseille, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mama Shelter Marseille 2*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
So much more than a place to sleep, Mama Shelter Marseille is the heart of life, a place where people gather around a shared meal, a live band, unpredictable encounters. 127 Sensual and elegant rooms equipped with Apple iMacs 27" (TV, Internet, CD/DVD Player, IChat, Photobooth, Videobooth) and 5 Star bedding (Duvet 100% Satin Coton Sheets). Rooms similar to those at MAMA PARIS, but drawing on a new energy through the colors of the Mediterranean. Cool in the summer, they are also warm during rare cold snaps. It is situated only 25km from Marseille Provence airport and is only 10 minutes from the train station Gare Saint Charles by taxi. Take a break in Mama Shelter Marseille and enjoy: Live Concerts, Shows, DJs, Tennis Table, parking... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mama Shelter Marseille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing