We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite sure but ....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mama Shelter Marseille
Ranked #10 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
514 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
“Not quite sure but ....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

The hotel has every ingredient of a budget hotel except for the cost.
It is a modern chic, if somewhat industrial, design and is a definite magnet for the young 'cool' traveller with very little luggage.
Designed by the genius Philippe Starck the establishment offers almost all you need but is sorely lacking in warmth.
Everything is 'as required' - room floors are rubber, beds comfortable, pillows excellent, great Apple TV's offering free movies. Free Wifi.
However, virtually non-existant hanging space, absolutely no storage, nowhere to put your empty cases. Small kitchenette (why?). Metal side tables, metal 'bucket' waste bin and an in-room safe.
Unbearable flourescent lighting even illuminating the headboard. As a migraine sufferer this is one of the worst possible lighting options. I had an attack within 5 hours of checking in.
Would have been sensible to have the power socket closer to either of the very good and well lit wall mirrors, one of which has a couple of funky masks hanging either side as you enter your room and the TV let's you take a fun image or two.
Shower room is simply too small and amenities inadequate. No facial tissues (a must in my book) no tablet soap or face cloths. Barely room to move. Not at all comfortable.
Restaurant is excellent. Food was delicious. Bar service was very slow.
Reception staff were amazing. Courteous and very helpful. They are exceptional.
In all not a family hotel and not one that is comfortable after a 'certain' age.
I can see the appeal and my 30 something children would definitely love it, but I would not chose to stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for the largest room they have. They are all fairly small but the very small ones are claustroph...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    376
    92
    22
    17
See reviews for
77
452
54
186
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We spent 2 nights in Mama Shelter Marseille, our plan was to use it as a base to explore Marseille and Cassis.

It's a great hotel, you will be impressed with the design. The service is very good as well, and the staff are always willing to give tips on what to do and where to go around Marseille.

The room we were in was small, but clean and tidy nonetheless. The hotel offers amenities such as mini bar, stove, kettle, etc... They also have Apple TV with a selection of movies for those who are interested.

They do have an underground parking, which is very convenient in Marseille. The hotel is also very close to 2 metro stations.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beirut29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
286 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed in this hotel as our first overnight on our trip to France, Italy and Spain in July. Checking in was a real shock for me, having made a mistake regarding the dates I was told my booking was for the next night.... This happened after a flight from Norway to Barcelona and five hours in car to get to Mama Shelter with my family of four.

The staff told me to relax and were able to get us a room for the night. They also managed to change our reservation in the restaurant, even though is was fully booked for the night!

When we left the day after the manager approached us and said he heard about our problems and wanted to help us to solve them. Our initial booking was made through hotels.com and they never refund any money. I was therefore surprised to hear him call hotels.com and cancel our booking on behalf of the hotel, making sure they refund my money without the hotel getting any of it!

I have never, in all my years as a travel industry employee, heard of any hotels providing such service to their customers and we are all very thankful for this fantastic service.

The hotel itself was also fantastic - and with such wonderful staff you simply can´t go wrong.
The restaurant was obviously a hotspot for the locals and a wonderful place to spend the evening.

The rooms are clean, spacious and modern without being cold. Philippe Starch has done a good job with both the rooms and the other areas with nice touches that surprises.

I would highly recommend this hotel to any traveller - and will be back the next time around!

Room Tip: We had the backyard view which was amazing. These rooms have view of the outside-area of the restau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimmen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Love the decor of the hotel, especially the rooms.
Super comfortable beds, great bathrooms and industrial/chic decor. Quality (Kiehls toiletries), good bed linen and an iMac with free movies and information in every room.
I would definitely stay again.

When I booked my trip to Marseille, I didn't know that Mama Shelter had just opened there.
I accidentally found about it and booked it right away. No regrets whatsover. The hotel is not located near the harbour, however it is in a residential district - within 30 minutes walking to the harbour and few minutes to the metro. The street where Mama Shelter is located is very quiet, just round the corner you'll find various restaurants.

For those looking for a full blow hotel with full service such as spa etc, then this is probably not the hotel for you. If you're looking for a well design/boutique 'new luxury' form of hotel - then this is definitely the place to book.

Room Tip: I booked the Superior Room. All rooms have more or less the same decor - it's a matter of gettin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cazouls-les-Beziers, France
Level Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Great quirky deco - thank you Mr Stark, friendly welcome by well informed staff who advise on what to do, where to go etc.

The lift is secured so only the residents can use it. It is also decorated in the style of Marseille slang dictionnary.

The room was bright and very well equiped with comfy bed, mini kitchen corner, a desk customised floor, stylish minimalist furniture and a 27in Imac on the wall for internet, tv and more. The cartoon characters masks and the Kiehls amneties were also much appreciated.

As for the breakfast, highly recommend it.
Two juicers available to make your own freshly squeezed juice, various sorts of bread, home made cakes and over sweet things, fresh fruits, cheese, ham, eggs, etc. A lot to choose from and a very welcoming patio to eat in.
The location is decent, 5 min walk from quirky Cours Julien area with lots of bars, restaurants and indie shops.
A place to explore.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Versailles, France
Level Contributor
103 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

The room was clean, of a good good size and well equipped; we didn't need it but there was a microwave oven and toaster. There was a super selection of things for breakfast, we like green tea; we had plenty of choice there were several types of cereals and lots of fruit and juices . We had a good dinner with well prepared fish There is a good car park where you feel comfortable about leaving your car Sadly the surroundings tatty and smelly

Room Tip: Good base for visiting central Marseille. Helpful advice given by hotel staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillest2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
187 reviews
165 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 385 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

We arrived at the hotel by car, it is situated in the small back streets of Marseille, but Sat Nav got us safely to the door. Street parking (metered) is at a premium, so we opted for the 17€ per day underground car park.

On arrival we were greeted by friendly bilingual staff and shown to our clean, but small and minimalistic room. Bed with fresh crisp cotton sheets and pillows, desk, MAC TV (free films and internet), safe, very small hangar / storage area and mini bar. A microwave, hot plate, kettle and toaster were provided, but to use them you would have to make use of the floor.

Compact bathroom with shower and basin, all clean and modern, but a little tight.

The food and ambience in the hotel was fantastic.

It was a little way out, a 10 minute walk up the narrow streets to the tube station, then two stops to the Old Port, so factor in the cost of a taxi if you stay out late and are comparing hotel prices Vs locations.

I would certainly return here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick_From_Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Alex Hotel
#2 of 131 in Marseille
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel 96
#1 of 131 in Marseille
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Saint-Victor
Radisson Blu Hotel, Marseille Vieux Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mama Shelter Marseille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mama Shelter Marseille

Property: Mama Shelter Marseille
Address: 64 rue de la Loubiere, 13006 Marseille, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mama Shelter Marseille 2*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
So much more than a place to sleep, Mama Shelter Marseille is the heart of life, a place where people gather around a shared meal, a live band, unpredictable encounters. 127 Sensual and elegant rooms equipped with Apple iMacs 27" (TV, Internet, CD/DVD Player, IChat, Photobooth, Videobooth) and 5 Star bedding (Duvet 100% Satin Coton Sheets). Rooms similar to those at MAMA PARIS, but drawing on a new energy through the colors of the Mediterranean. Cool in the summer, they are also warm during rare cold snaps. It is situated only 25km from Marseille Provence airport and is only 10 minutes from the train station Gare Saint Charles by taxi. Take a break in Mama Shelter Marseille and enjoy: Live Concerts, Shows, DJs, Tennis Table, parking... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mama Shelter Marseille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing