We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ResidHotel Grand Prado
Ranked #95 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We travelled here via metro and was pleasantly surprised as to the location. Easy to travel to with cases.
Reception and check in was okay, we were asked to pay at check in, which is strange for us, but agreed to do so. The price we paid was slightly more than quoted because of exchange rate, but not by much.
We were given a room on the 2nd floor, with kitchenette and balcony. The kitchenette was extremely basic, no kettle but coffee making machine, the bathroom spacious, but towels extremely small and scratchy and the balcony was a very nice external feature but all the equipment on it, (table and 2 chairs, and clothes airer) were very dirty. There appeared to be notices everywhere, stating that 'please ensure you clean after you, remove your rubbish etc' which was a bit of a joke really, when you looked at how scruffy the balcony was.
We went out to explore marseille and stock up, the location of the carrefour next door made this very easy this was a big plus point for us. The location of the hotel is good, very close to the metro but also easy to walk to local shops etc.
After sleeping on our first night, it became obvious there were problems with the beds. We examined them, removing the mattress etc and found that wooden slats were broken, which meant they were not very good at all.
We mentioned this at reception and was told "we don't have maintenance working on a weekend, I can look for another room for you and get back to you when check outs have ended". This was a disappointing reaction but it was obvious the reception area was busy. As we left for our day in Marseille, we asked again at reception but nothing had been looked into yet. We returned to the hotel at about 5pm, and nothing had been done and we were told a room with a balcony would not be available. To this end, we decided to stay in the room we were in as we had turned the beds around and they were manageable.
Overall, we would not return as service could have been so much better but location, balcony and fridge made our stay enjoyable in terms of we could drink cold white wine and eat our own food. Seafood we purchased in Marseille was beautiful

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (312)
There are newer reviews for ResidHotel Grand Prado
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 312 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

This month I stayed 2 nights at Residhotel Grand Prado with a few friends. We arrived around noon (and as we expected) the room wasn't ready yet. We returned at 2 o'clock, when the receptionist told us there was a problem with housekeeping. She kept us waiting for a few minutes and then decided to give us an upgrade. Instead of two single beds+sofa, we received a bigger appartement with a big bed, a bunk bed and a sofa!

The appartement was neat: a kitchenette with the most basic things provided, a small living area with tv, 2 bedrooms, a bathroom and a separate toilet.
There were two doors to the balcony, one from the livingroom and one from the main bedroom, which overlooked a courtyard. We could even spot Notre-Dame de la Garde from there!
Wifi is free if you ask for a password at the reception, otherwise it would be 3€ per 15 minutes.

Location is great: not exactly walking distance from the vieux port (or maybe we were just too lazy and took advantage of our unlimited public transport card), but it's just a few metro stops away. St Charles Railway Station is on the same line as Périer, so it took us about an hour to get to the airport with the Navette. Around the corner there's a Carrefour City for the necessary groceries and a bakery. A little further down the road - near metro Castellane on av. Prado - there's a Monoprix, Vapiano, Quick, McDonalds etc.

In the end we were very pleased with our booking, it was better then we expected. For the same price we could've shared a dorm with a stranger in the city centre, but luckily we didn't!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LSPRSTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Economically minded, good location, kitchenette in room, rooms clean and comfortable. Helpful staff, easy to access. Breakfast included and wide-variety of options available. We stay here most times we visit Marseille.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

The hotel it's in the centre of Marseille,the rooms are clean and good for a family of 4 a supermarket near hotel,it's not far from the market and metro,if I go to Marseille again I stay in this Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Hector D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This hotel was booked for me through work - I would certainly not recommend it to others. It has a reasonable location with access to buses and within walking distance of old town. Besides that, it is the equivalent of a Motel 6, except with no daily room service (I was actually glad about this because I wouldn't trust valuable in the room otherwise) and a small kitchenette. The only people this hotel may be good for are families or those who want to do a lot of their own cooking as the kitchenette has a small fridge, oven, microwave and a few pots, plates and utensils.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diegocamille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

Good things were location as its not so far away from the center and very well connected with metro station and bike sharing station at 100 mts.
Also reception was very friendly and helpful.
Unfortunately, no towels or sheets change in 3 days, bed was really bad, air conditioner was loudy, by didn't cold the room (even after 3 days).
Also, it seems they expect you to clean the room before leaving or to pay an extra 100euros for the service.
They claim to have all the comfort of an hotel, but will the extras of an apartment. While it's true they have the kitchen, I would say the previous claim is a litle bit to much. It's more like a 2star plus kitchen, but without air conditioner or room cleaning.
Also, tv wasn't satellite, as they claim, but just French channels.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodrigo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We got a triple room & was pleasantly surprised by the big unit we were given. Our unit had one bedroom, a living room with trundle bed, a dining area with micro-wave, utensils etc. in some cities this is called a service apartment.
The service was rated good only because of the mediocre room upkeep. The front staffs tho went out of their way in helping us when Air France misplaced our baggage. This is exceptional.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tasadays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Castellane
Citadines Castellane Marseille
Saint-Giniez
B&B Hotel Marseille Prado Velodrome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B&B Hotel Marseille Euromed
#79 of 131 in Marseille
113 reviews
Seven Urban Suites Prado
#63 of 131 in Marseille
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ResidHotel Grand Prado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ResidHotel Grand Prado

Address: 7 Square des Freres Ambrogiani | Allée Turcat Méry, 13008 Marseille, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range: $43 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — ResidHotel Grand Prado 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a few steps from the Avenue du Prado, our residence enjoys a strategic situation in the heart of Marseille. Renovated in 2009, it offers a modern and refined environment for a leisure or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your ResidHotel Grand Prado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resid Hotel Marseille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing