We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel that has all the essentials”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Carre Vieux Port Marseille
Ranked #15 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2014

This hotel was quite nice, and not just because it had everything one would need packed in quite a small area, but the receptionists and staff were nice. Even though not all of them spoke English, someway or another they were always of some help. Even the chamber maids were nice, and they did an exceptionally good job at keeping our rooms clean.

Even though the rooms were relatively small, they were quite modern and kept in very good conditions ... I cannot not mention the showers - the different functions available are impressive!! The towels were provided and every day or two, the chamber maids would leave us clean towels.

The hotel is located in a very good point just close to the port, but not in the main road. And the price is not that bad either, especially compared with other hotels in the vicinity.

One thing I noticed was that the foyer was always hot, I am used to the Mediterranean climate, but once you enter the hotel, the heat simply grasps a hold of you and never lets you go until you are in the shower. Well, I guess that is a definition of a warm welcome ;)

Also, there is just one elevator, to which you need to climb a set of stairs to arrive to. For us this was not an issue, however, one would need to keep this in mind if they cannot do otherwise but use a lift.

Nonetheless, I will recommend this hotel, since as I have previously stated, it has everything you need.

Room Tip: We were on the south side of the hotel, and I have no complaints about the rooms.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJ_Bonello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (542)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Carre Vieux Port Marseille
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 542 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2014

The hotel was relatively quiet and in a great spot near the port. We had a room with a queen and a double bed for three people. The room was narrow which made it a bit hard to navigate around the beds. The bathroom was small but not tiny. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There is a nice gelato shop very close (by the port) and lots of restaurants nearby. We particularly liked Brasserie Le Soleil, which is just behind the hotel at the port. A grocery is a couple blocks away, and there are some nearby patisseries/boulangeries. Notre- Dame de la Garde is extremely scenic. A local city bus runs from 2 blocks from the hotel directly to the basilica. It is a little cheaper to buy the bus fare in the nearby metro than on the bus (~1.50 vs 1.80 Euro each way). The ferry to Chateau d'If is very close to the hotel (we could not go as the sea was too rough). The metro station is about a block away. Gare Saint-Charles was a very short taxi ride (we could have walked without luggage).

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mtarr66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

I stayed 4 nights in the hotel...there is nothing that i didnt like...nice clean...almost all receptionists are nice. and as location wise it is perfect..at the vieux port.
Just one night, the last one, i think there is a night near, i didnt sleep, they kept on singing and dancing all night. The toilet was cleaned everyday.but the room NO.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruba B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights last week. Location couldn't be better - literally 10m from the metro station and maybe 50m to the Old Port itself and various bus stops providing easy access to the station (metro also serves the station), Fort St Jean, Notre Dame de la Garde etc. Using buses is dead easy but make sure you have small change before boarding the (drivers may not be able or willing to change notes). Buy the ticket from the driver for 1.80 euros for a single journey. The standard double room we had was cosy, shall we say. Very cramped but the bed was comfortable, the room was quiet with the windows closed, and it had most of the things required. The bathroom was even more cramped but functional. Ours only had a shower but that wasn't a problem. Breakfast was adequate rather than special. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carre-hotel, Responsable commercial at Hotel Carre Vieux Port Marseille, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Hello,
We kindly thank you for your comment. You are now addicted to Marseille and you could be a perfect guide!
We are glad you liked the hotel as well. In fact, we are not the biggest one but we love that people feel confortable and happy in our hotel.
We hope to welcome you for another stay.
Regards,
Marie Sarah Dosson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We made a last minute reservation and showed up at about 8 at night after all of our stuff was stolen out of our car about a hour from Marseilles. After a quick change of plans (since we had to go to Marseilles to get emergency passports) and thanks to an international sim card that allowed me to access data on the ride, we had a room waiting at this hotel when we arrived. The staff were super helpful and friendly. We literally showed up with just the clothes on our backs. They told us where to go to shop for everything from underwear to toothbrushes to jeans. We only stayed one night - the room was tiny, but the bed was comfortable, and it's just around the corner from the Vieux Port (and a short walk to the American consulate). Next day, the staff gave us canvas bags to put our newly acquired stuff in and let us return to the lobby to use the internet at the lobby computer all day. Not sure about the room rates - in calling around that evening there weren't many rooms available so we took what we got...it didn't seem too exorbitant...but not the cheapest place either.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DARAMARKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We happened upon this hotel by accident as with limited wifi and a large itinerary we inadvertently forgot the details of the hotel we had booked. A kind phone call from the incorrect hotel resulted in a booking here . Travelling with two girls aged 10 and 8 the hotel staff were immediately warm and welcoming, rooms generous modern and simply equipped. We were warned about the stairs which were in process of undergoing renovation to accommodate an elevator but the excercise was welcomed. Rooms very quiet and overall excellent value and adjacent metro and one street from the port. Would stay here again in marseille.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank Greenhills360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

* Location: directly at Vieux Port (excellent), 2 min from Metro - many shopping areas and restaurants around
* Reception Service: very helpful and friendly, but cleaning ladies are very loud in the morning (my boyfriend could not sleep)
* Rooms: clean/sufficiently equipped but super small, very good windows (no noise) but on the other side, not able to open the windows. Lights in front of window (not nice)
* Price: approx 100 Euro per night in Nov (better price then other hotels but still very expensive for. November)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doreen111-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Saint-Victor
Radisson Blu Hotel, Marseille Vieux Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alex Hotel
#3 of 131 in Marseille
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carre Vieux Port Marseille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carre Vieux Port Marseille

Address: 6 rue Beauvau, 13001 Marseille, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille > Opéra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range: $99 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carre Vieux Port Marseille 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Entirely renovated, Carre Vieux Port Hotel is ocated down town, at 30 seconds of the Vieux port, of famous touristic places, of boats to Cassis, Chateau d'If and Iles du Frioul, or 15 minutes walk to MuCEM. We offer 61 rooms (bathtub or shower) with harmonious shapes and colors. Our location: - The Vieux Port (75 meters) - Metros and buses (30 meters) - Shopping centre (100 meters) - 5 parkings - More than 150 restaurants around. Our rooms have been entirely renovated and provide high standard quality products as Duravit and Grohe bathrooms, beds from 90 to 180 cms, duvets, parquet floor, fulfil lights, welcome tray with coffee/tea/biscuits, 32" flat screen TV high definition with Canal+ and Satellite, direct phone line, radio stations, hair-dryer, air-conditioning, free internet access, free WIFI access, laundry, free luggage room, bar and reception opened 24 hours, breakfast (12€). Also, you can watch the Vieux Port in live from the TV in your room. Picking up our hotel, you will have the opportunity to enjoy downtown life, wonderful places, restaurants, cinema, Vieux Port ... All walking distance. Maximum comfort, reasonable rate, good value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Carre Vieux Port Marseille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing