We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Carre Vieux Port Marseille
Ranked #15 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Hotel Carre Vieux Port Marseille is in a great location and easy to get to from the airport-first the shuttle to the train station and then just two short stops on the metro. Rooms are pretty basic but the staff makes up for this. They speak very good English and are VERY helpful. The hotel is near many wonderful restaurants. I was waiting for my son to arrive later in the evening and a staff member was very helpful recommending restaurants where I would be comfortable dining alone. All were within a few blocks of the hotel. I took a walk before dinner and checked out all of her suggestions. I'm confident that any one of them would have been terrific.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sas05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (542)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Carre Vieux Port Marseille
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 542 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2012

Stayed here for five nights. This is a small hotel with quiet, modern, very clean rooms. Well run with helpful and knowledgable staff and as all the reviews have noted, the location can't be beat. A mere stone's throw from the Vieux Port, a leisurely jaunt to le Panier, 10 to 15 minutes stroll to Gare Saint Charles, Rue St. Ferreol if you are inclined to shop and minutes from the bustling Arab's Quarter right around Metro Noailles. Loads of restaurants in the area (be sure to try the delicious North African cuisine as well) and a great base for exploring Marseille and other day trips. Recommended.

Note: There is quite a bit of construction happening in that area, but doesn't affect your sleep in the slightest.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FelQuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Good hotel by the Port, next to the Subway, close to restaurants. Great staff, very friendly and helpful. Small but clean rooms. Good price/quality ratio.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MADJohnny75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Carré Vieux Port just for one night. The location is excellent to explore the town: you are at 10 metres from the Vieux Port and in the area, which feels quite safe, there are plenty of restaurants, bars, shops. All the major attractions are within walking distance.
Upon arrival we were greeted by a friendly receptionist, who we found also at check out. She was efficient and gave us all the most important information. The night guy was very kind too.
The room was small but modern and well equipped. Coffee and Tea Making facilities that very often you don't find even in more rated establishments.
BUT
what we noticed was a lack of attention in the housekeeping: the carpets in the stairs and corridors were durty....not a good start. When we enter the room, it smelt closed. On the desk we found some crumbs of previous guests. In the sheets we found two hairs and in the bathroom the cover of the WC was not 100% clean. All these details really made our feelings about the hotel very negative.
We often go into luxury hoteks but if we need just a stop somewhere, we also opt for budget hotels. Above all, the most important thing is that we have to find a perfectly clean room. This was not the case in Marseille. We won't go back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luxuryhotelsdreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Jan 28-30, 2012
We spent two good nights at this hotel. Great location in walking distance to most important shopping and cultural areas. Staff were always friendly and helpful. Rooms on the small side but nevertheless clean and comfortable. Breakfast was more than adequate and worth the price (10€) considering fresh orange juice is served and Newspapers are available for free. Only negative comment would be that the carpet in the stairwell and hallway should be cleaned or replaced.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Well, we were looking for a place near the port, it really well placed, at the corner of the canebiere and the quai des belges.
The staff is absolutely friendly and helpful, even at 2:00am they welcome u with a big smile.
The room was clean with a large TV, free internet, coffee and tea but really small, the space between the bed and the wall should not exceed 20cm...
I stay only one night so no big deal, my wife stayed 2 more nights and she felt good.
The price is high but according the location it seems normal.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank noox88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

We chose the Hotel Carre Vieux Port because the price was right, and we were pleasantly surprised by how great of a value it was. Though the lobby isn't much to look at and the lift is scary at best (the tiniest I've been in, even compared to dozens of other European lifts I've experienced), everything was clean, the room was a decent size by European standards, and the front desk staff was very pleasant. You can pay a little extra to have breakfast "included" but we chose to do our own thing, and the bakery right next door makes delicious croissants!

Marseille itself is a bit gritty, but the Vieux Port is probably one of the best places to stay and the Hotel Carre is located only a block from the main drag. If you have to go to Marseille, I definitely suggest this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ageeksaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Saint-Victor
Radisson Blu Hotel, Marseille Vieux Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alex Hotel
#3 of 131 in Marseille
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carre Vieux Port Marseille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carre Vieux Port Marseille

Address: 6 rue Beauvau, 13001 Marseille, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille > Opéra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range: $99 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carre Vieux Port Marseille 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Entirely renovated, Carre Vieux Port Hotel is ocated down town, at 30 seconds of the Vieux port, of famous touristic places, of boats to Cassis, Chateau d'If and Iles du Frioul, or 15 minutes walk to MuCEM. We offer 61 rooms (bathtub or shower) with harmonious shapes and colors. Our location: - The Vieux Port (75 meters) - Metros and buses (30 meters) - Shopping centre (100 meters) - 5 parkings - More than 150 restaurants around. Our rooms have been entirely renovated and provide high standard quality products as Duravit and Grohe bathrooms, beds from 90 to 180 cms, duvets, parquet floor, fulfil lights, welcome tray with coffee/tea/biscuits, 32" flat screen TV high definition with Canal+ and Satellite, direct phone line, radio stations, hair-dryer, air-conditioning, free internet access, free WIFI access, laundry, free luggage room, bar and reception opened 24 hours, breakfast (12€). Also, you can watch the Vieux Port in live from the TV in your room. Picking up our hotel, you will have the opportunity to enjoy downtown life, wonderful places, restaurants, cinema, Vieux Port ... All walking distance. Maximum comfort, reasonable rate, good value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Carre Vieux Port Marseille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing