We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent overnight experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel balladins Marseille Gare
Ranked #111 of 132 Hotels in Marseille
Reviewed June 21, 2014

A modernised cleanly presented hotel in a great location at the base of the magnificent staircase leading to the railway station. Our room was small but comfortable with an excellent bathroom. We looked out over the street & had 2 small balconies-- it was so quiet we even slept through a thunder storm. Breakfast was good. There is an excellent patisserie/boulangerie next door. We certainly had no complaints about this hotel or the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjdvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 177 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2014

Excellent hotel, near the main railway station. At the beginning of the Boulevard which starts at the bottom of the imposing stairs that connect the railway station with the city (you can use the escalators leading to the Metro, instead of the stairs, especially useful if you are carrying heavy luggage). Convenient, clean, offering breakfast (though if it is not included in the price, do not take it, there is a great boulangerie next to the hotel where you can take breakfast). Nice staff; altogether will stay there again!

Room Tip: Rooms on the inner yard are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Berkeley1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

I have to say I was pleasantly surprised by the Hotel Balladins, which is located about 2 minutes' walk from the train station in Marseille and about 10-15 minutes walk from the port area.

The hotel itself looks quite small from its street-facing facade, but inside it's spotlessly clean, decorated in an inviting, modern style and although it's a bit basic in ways (small, thin towels, no bathroom amenities, thin pillows and a wet-room style shower/bathroom, for example) we found it absolutely perfect for a one-night stay. It was clean, it was sufficient, and the price was right.

The staff were especially pleasant and helpful, especially those helping with breakfast in the attractive dining room. A continental breakfast was included in our rate and we were delighted to find a good buffet spread of pastries, breads, yogurts, cereals, etc. waiting for us in the morning. There was also a small 'bar' area in the lobby where you could get drinks at night, and plenty of restaurants and shops on the street outside the hotel.

Although the hotel is on a seemingly busy street, our room was towards the rear of the building and we heard neither traffic noise nor noise from other guests.

If you're looking for luxury, you won't find it here. But if you want a good base from which to explore Marseille and you don't want to break your travel budget, this is as good a choice as you can make.

Tip: if you arrive by train, avoid the hundreds of steps down to street level by taking the esclator down to the Metro station and then exiting to the street from there. You can do the same on the way back up.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catherineh1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed here recently for 4 nights, My nose did get accustomed to the lingering smell from the bathroom after the 3rd Night..... Dreadful Smell!!! Not tea or coffee making facilities in the room, No room phone. The Hotel served breakfast, But there are 2 small outlets next door serving Coffee Etc,Beware!!! Both equally as rude!!! AVOID!!!
Staff really looked like they wanted to be somewhere else, Perhaps they were effected by the lingering smell too!!!
On a positive note its very near the Train Station and not that bad location wise, But its not in a Great Area.
Very good value Restaurant around the corner called 'Le Manne' well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Room at the rear of the Hotel for a good nights sleep, But don't expect a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Spent 3 nights at this hotel so that we could explore Marseille. The foyer staff were helpful, and as they didn't have a restaurant (snacks were available in the evening) recommended an exception restaurant in the next street down - 'La Manne -Boulevard de la Liberte.
The room was spacious and clean with air conditioning. We can't get on with the 'wet room' type bathroom - would recommend a shower curtain or larger glass panel to save all the floor from getting wet!!
Breakfast good on the ground floor and also an outside patio area.
Parking is a problem but there is a large underground parking at the nearby Railway Station.
The hotel is about 10 to 15 minutes to the old port and tourist area but take a walk though the back streets to soak up the real atmosphere of Marseille.

Room Tip: Our room faced the back of the hotel and we could see the 'real Marseille'. The room was q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

The style of the hotel is similar to that of a premier inn, its clean and fresh looking. However huge disappointment when I go and lock the bath room door then turns out I can not even get out!! i start banging door telling my boyfriend the lock is broken and it will not turn open. He starts pulling the door and we finally managed to get me out. I sincerely hope this hotel takes more pride in their rooms.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Espana1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

After arriving late into Marseille by train I needed to stay overnight before continuing my onward journey by car. The Hotel location was great and on arrival the bright lights in the foyer and bar were very attractive and inviting. The lift was out of order so I had to carry my bags up 3 flights of stairs, but the room was very presentable though small. The shower outlet drain could not cope even with the shower turned onto only a trickle but I did avoid flooding the room but it was obvious that others before had wet the adjoining carpet. Good location and fair value overturned by no lift working and poor drainage. But the staff on the desk were very accommodating but could not fix the problems.

Room Tip: Ask for a room fronting the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
0.2 mi away
New Hotel Saint Charles
New Hotel Saint Charles
#109 of 132 in Marseille
503 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lutetia
Hotel Lutetia
#119 of 132 in Marseille
130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adagio Access Marseille Saint Charles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Residhome Appart Hotel Saint-Charles
0 mi away
Massilia Hotel
Massilia Hotel
#51 of 132 in Marseille
31 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel balladins Marseille Gare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel balladins Marseille Gare

Address: 28 boulevard D Athenes, 13001 Marseille, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 132 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range: $68 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel balladins Marseille Gare 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel welcomes you all year round in Marseille. Located within walking distance from the Saint-Charles railway station in the heart of the city, our hotel offers 56 air-conditioned rooms, in a contemporary decor, of which some offer views of the Notre Dame de la Garde. Nearby: Parc des Expositions, Parc Chanot, Vieux-Port, Cote Bleue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel balladins Marseille Gare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing