We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nice hotel”
Review of Music Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Music Hotel
Ranked #63 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The hotel is nice and in a good location. My room was modern and clean with a lot of nice facilities. There were two (very small) details that I didn't like very much. The lights close to the bed are very fancy but, when closed, have a blue light that is to bright during the night. The bathtub has no curtain so is a bit difficult to have a proper shower without messing up the bathroom. Anyway this seams to be a French standard.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fraste255204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 241 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2013

We only paid for a basic room so were not expecting luxury and on entering the room we thought it was quite small but not unreasonable. However for the price, we thought that our stay could have been very good; even excellent.

Poor attention to detail was their undoing. There were no bedside tables. Sure there was not a lot of room but in what promised to be a modern, innovative establishment, surely this problem could have been solved by having folding tables or similar. Power points were very inconveniently situated. There was no shower screen and poor provision of toiletries and used plastic tumblers were not replaced.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lexus51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This hotel didnt quite live up to the hype of the trip advisor reviews. It was however in a perfect location for Marseille. 2 minute walk to the metro and only a 5 minute walk to the old port. We had a standard room which was a little bit 'IKEA showroom' but it was still nice enough. Could use a fixed showerhead and a kettle though. We paid 100euros a night for a friday and a saturday so it was probably pretty decent value at the end of the day. Wouldnt have wanted to pay too much more but worth it for the location. As a tip, we got a taxi from the train station and stupidly agreed on 15euros with the driver, the meter read about 7 so we got ripped off in that regard. either request the meter or agreed on about 7-8 euros. wouldnt hesitate recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We arrived to meet very friendly service staff that had reserved parking for us (9 Euro a day) and were very happy to chat and give advice on the town.

The room itself was fantastic - new, clean and with all the facilities you could ask for. One niggardly detail was that the internet connection which is included with the room stops working at midnight during the night that you stay, which means you can't use it the following morning before checking out, which would have been really useful.

The entrance door is constantly locked. This may be inconvenient for other travellers as I can't tell whether a concierge is manning the desk to open it for you late at night, but because we arrived and left our room within daylight hours this was not an issue for us.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of days during the second week of May. We picked it based on TA reviews and are glad we did. I did not realize until we got there how few rooms they have, but it is really small place with personal attention. I don't know how they can have everything so nice and have so many staff with so few rooms but they make it work. The room we had (facing the street) was very large by European standards and had a huge bathroom. There were windows to the street and what looked like a pretty new air conditioner. We needed directions and the manager personally gave them to us with arrows drawn on a map. I needed a wi-fi code and the front desk clerk personally delivered it to the room. We had to leave very early on the last day to catch the bus to the airport and they arranged for us to have an early breakfast. They do have to buzz you in but in this busy city I think that is a very good thing. The staff was almost always at the desk and if they weren't there is a doorbell and they always came right away to open the door. We didn't try the bar because we usually had a couple of beers at one of the bars down near the Old Port. The breakfast was pretty comprehensive in my opinion, I mean it is a small hotel not a resort or fancy restaurant and you have to be reasonable about what you expect. Some have complained about the price of breakfast. When I did the math on the number of rooms vs. the very nice quality I realized that sure the breakfast would cost a little more. They have to make money somewhere and the breakfast was a convenient for me which I appreciated. Every morning the owner went to a bakery for some of the baked goods which kept me from having to get dressed and go do it myself, so what is a few Euro?? I/you are free to go down the street to any of the many places you could pick up something to eat. In fact, we self catered dinner most days from a grocery store about two blocks from the hotel and we could have done that with breakfast had we bothered.

We were staying here following a cruise, which I expect is why many people end up in Marseille. Even if you speak a lot of languages you can't speak all of them and neither of us speak more than minimal French. We were able to communicate just fine with the hotel staff and when we or they couldn't get a point across we found that handling it with a laugh and a big smile turned it into an enjoyable rather than worrisome experience (we also laughed our way through using the shower - hey, it is so much bigger than most European tubs just be happy about that and sit down in it and spray off and laugh about the experience and be happy you are in a part of the world that has nice bathrooms, showers, clean water, etc). Marseille is a place where people from all over the world come to live and work and as such there isn't a tremendous amount for tourists here. The sidewalks can become very crowded at times with a melange of cultures making it a fantastic place to people watch. We had a bit more of a language barrier here than other places we have visited due to the widely varying backgrounds of the people we encountered. When there was a question we simply typed a simple phrase into Google translate on my smartphone and showed it to the clerk/waitress etc. and it worked just fine.

The city was heavily under construction when we were there and the wind was blowing briskly. Due to the sandy nature of the soil the many dirt piles around the city seemed to generate airborne grit that was a dreadful irritant on my eyes and which irritated both our noses, throats, and lungs. I saw one woman at a pedestrian crossing that had actually put a damp towel across her baby's nose and mouth in the stroller to keep the grit from being breathed. This may get better in the future when the construction is over, but if you go soon and should you have asthma you might beware of respiratory irritants.

We did not have nor need a car on this stay. The last day the hotel manager gave us directions to the bus station from the Music Hotel. My wife has elsewhere on this Trip Advisor page given specifics of that journey so I will skip the directions here except to say we made it to the airport from the hotel with time to spare for much, much cheaper than a taxi. On a Sunday morning we were from the bus station to the airport in less than 20 minutes. We did, and I would highly recommend, walk the route from the hotel to the bus station ticket counter on the day before our early trip just to make certain we would not get lost. Based on our walking of the route I had allowed 45 minutes from the Music Hotel to the bus station ticket office, but being Sunday morning there was nobody else on the sidewalks or in the streets and we made it in 20 minutes and were able to pull our bags/cases on the sidewalk or actually in the street where needed to avoid bumpy spots due to their being almost no cars (there is quite considerable dog poo on the sidewalks in Marseille so walk cautiously). It is worth noting that the route to the bus station is up an incline and walking it briskly while pulling a 45 pound roller bag was quite an exertion for my usually office-bound body. If you are not up to a brisk walk up an incline you might allow more time or take a taxi or rental car despite the cost.

Safe travels!

Room Tip: Try to get as big a room as you can afford and I recommend trying to get a window room. Also, ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaidenPowerslave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is a small, 10 roomed, idiosyncratic hotel ideally located mid-way between the Old Port and the Bus Terminus and Metro. It has a modest entrance where you have to press a buzzer for entry, making it very secure. During our stays (4 days in total) we invariably found staff at the reception desk to open the door without delay.
Our rooms were large, well furnished and impeccably clean. The only problem I had was with the shower which was hand- held. I never did quite come to terms with it!
Our first room was on the third floor in front and our second room on the second floor at the rear. Both rooms were quiet and we slept well every night. Breakfast was very acceptable with a good range of food. If you wanted anything replenished the staff were always at hand to help.
The staff, all of them, were terrific, some of the best we've come across. Whatever your question or problem they were always eager to help. Should I ever return to Marseille, I would stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear would invariably be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fifer_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

To begin this small hotel has its good points - the rooms are bright and airy, the art in the hotel is pretty nice and certainly gives the theme of a cool modern design.

However that's as good as it gets with the bad points making this hotel one best avoided. Firstly this is a music hotel without any music or athmosphere, While the bar looks lovely all it has is a telly on in the corner which really demeans what one would expect from the hotel. Secondly the room service menu is a work of fiction - you can't actually order anything on the menu, nor can you order any drink on the menu even at the bar.

Wifi costs 5 euro per day which is unacceptable in a modern hotel while you are charged 9 euro per day for the privilidge of parking on the street outside the hotel. Breakfast is only available from 10-12 onwards so if you're an early riser or need to be somewhere forget about it. Finally the staff range from at best indifferent to downright rude - please note that the main door for the hotel is locked at all times so you can expect a wait of up to 15 minutes to get in as it's rare that there will be someone on the desk, especially during the day.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Préfecture
Kyriad Marseille Centre
Kyriad Marseille Centre
#40 of 131 in Marseille
375 reviews
Mama Shelter Marseille
#9 of 131 in Marseille
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Victor
Radisson Blu Hotel, Marseille Vieux Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Music Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Music Hotel

Address: 12 boulevard Louis Salvator, 13006 Marseille, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille > Préfecture
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Hotel Class:3 star — Music Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Music Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing