We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Music Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Music Hotel
Ranked #53 of 130 Hotels in Marseille
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Unique place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

This modern gem lives up to the previous positive reviews. The contemporary style and art, coupled with the history of the building (used to be a music school) made it a really unique place to stay.

The place is small with only 10 rooms, which I imagine allow the staff to be particularly accommodating to guests (which they were). Our room was the standard room and we found it to be comfortable, with a large bathroom. My only complaint (and it's nothing particularly problematic) was that the sink in the bathroom was set really high. I figured the French must be taller than average.

We only stayed the one night in Marseille, followed by a cycle tour of the region. The hotel was very accommodating to our bicycles and even provided us with a small space in which to build our bikes (we had arrived with them still in boxes).

A short walk to the Vieux Port provided plenty of restaurants from which to choose for dinner, and we walked past many unique shops on the way. Breakfast in the hotel was complete and tasty.

All in all, a highly recommended place. We would most certainly stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank earai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    113
    34
    12
    5
See reviews for
18
125
18
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
berkshire
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed here 8th to 13th October. We found the hotel staff delightful - they could not have been more helpful and friendly. Our room was large and comfortable and the bathroom fine. Getting used to the european shower was a bit awkward especially for my 6ft 3ins husband who managed to get water everywhere! Breakfast was perfectly adequate and very fresh. Location could not have been better - we seemed to be close to everywhere we wanted to be. The hotel had booked us a taxi from the airport but we walked to the Gare St Charles from the hotel and caught the bus back to the airport on our return (17 euros for the 2 of us as opposed to 62 euros plus tip by taxi). My only disappointment was that the Spa was out of action - we had planned to use it during our stay. Altogether a lovely little hotel and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rainbow96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
111 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We loved this hotel. The location is simpy perfect. It is close to the shopping district and the vieux port and you can even walk to the old town (Panier). What makes the location perfect is that to the other direction, it takes only five minutes to the Cour Julien, where you find lots of restaurants an clubs.

The staff was very friendly. Breakfast was ok, a decent continental breakfast, like usual in France - nothing compared with hotel breakfast e.g. in Germany.

We had a chambre privilège and a suite, since we were a group of 6. Both rooms were very spacious, with huge bathrooms. The room design is modern, we liked it and felt comfortable. The only disadvantage: There are bathtubs, without shower curtain, which makes it somewhat difficult to take a shower without getting the entire bathroom wet.

We were lucky to get the only hotel parking spot in front of the hotel for our two small cars without having reserved and without charge.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank radgivare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

I spent two nights here earlier this month and was treated to a surprise by music hotel. This establishment definitely has its own sense of style from the furnishings to the art. I really enjoyed that about this place. It's located is very convenient--close to vieux port, cours julien and metro. The staff was super helpful with suggestions and directions. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RajaNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is a little gem in marselle we were greeted by a friendly Rumanian French speaking reception youngster who was very informative, serviceable who was happy to show us around the room and hotel. the room is we stayed was amassing with a yakusi bath a large tv set etc ... I recommended this hotel to anyone

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Aguila1555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Located in an old music school. Staff was super helpful - always inquired about how I like Marseille, how I liked the room. Even arranged for a parking spot for me right in front of the hotel. Marseille may be nerve-wracking and edgy at times, but this was a nice safe oasis that enabled easy access to the Vieux Port, shopping areas, & Le Panier.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Nice hotel with large rooms with friendly staff. Breakfast was minimalistic yet plentiful. Parking available for 2 cars but have to pre book which I did via e-mail.
Only spent 1 night there and it served the purpose well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 244065013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Préfecture
Premiere Classe Marseille Centre
Préfecture
Kyriad Marseille Centre
Kyriad Marseille Centre
#42 of 130 in Marseille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Hotel Paradis
#72 of 130 in Marseille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Ryad Boutique Hotel
#10 of 130 in Marseille
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Hotel Saint Louis
#29 of 130 in Marseille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Hotel Saint Ferreol
#44 of 130 in Marseille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Music Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Music Hotel

Property: Music Hotel
Address: 12 boulevard Louis Salvator, 13006 Marseille, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille > Préfecture
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 130 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Music Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotel.de and Prestigia so you can book your Music Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing