We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvellous Marseille and MuCEM”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Du Mucem
Ranked #36 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Marvellous Marseille and MuCEM”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

This hotel is a great find. The location is superb, in the EuroMediterranee area which is a wonderful social and cultural regeneration from the old docks .The MuCEM area contains both historic and modern architecture, this hotel being a bright,contemporary and welcoming feature of that. Our room was a reasonable size and was very well serviced and quiet,but disappointingly had only a Velux window. Tea and coffee were available in the room.Breakfast was expensive at 11 euros so we chose to use the numerous bars,cafes and restaurants nearby which provide well for breakfast and all other meals. Free WiFi was useful. Staff were very friendly and helpful
The hotel makes a really good base for exploring Marseille,a recent City of Culture and one which offers a tremendous amount to visitors.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dilly057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    133
    53
    9
    6
See reviews for
21
106
25
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbury, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Our superior room at the Best Western Hotel Mucem was smaller than BW's we have stayed in in the U.S. (but larger than a BW in Montreal). I"t might be considered typical size for urban area hotels in France. That said, every square centimeter in the room was well planned and designed. Colorful and clean. Several security measures were in place. Only 10 minutes walk to Vieux Port and even closer to the Musem Museum, which is splendid. The staff at BW Hotel Mucem were helpful to us in several ways. We didn't partake in the 11 Euro breakfast -- I think we did better by finding places at the nearby Place Joliette. We would stay here again.
Not much noise to report. Inside the hotel, quiet; on street, some occasional noise of street cleaning.

Peter, Woodbury CT U.S.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lbpj3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We arrived at St. Charles train station around 11 pm and for some reason the taxis would not drive us to the Best Western hotel. They told us that we could walk there and we did, however it ended up being a 30 minute walk since we had never been to Marseille before. Upon arriving the front desk was very welcoming and we quickly got to our hotel room which was very spacious and had a great balcony view of the Cathedrale de la Major. We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights (Saturday to Monday) and it was not very noisy or busy. We got a welcome gift upon arrival which was very nice as well there was free wifi as well as a computer and printer in the lobby. We did not do the hotel breakfast since we found it to be expensive and we found cheaper breakfasts in the Old Port, which was only a 20 minute walk away. The only disappointing thing about the hotel was that it wasn't located in the greatest area and looked a bit sketchy at night, however inside the hotel is nothing like the street! We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KevAmanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We booked rooms 2 months before comming to Marseille, booking was confimed and at the day of arrival someone from the desk called and we informed that we arrived late. We arrived to Marseille at 11 p.m; hotel was closed, receptionist told us that our reservation was cancelled and in the middle of the night, in saturday, in the holiday season we were forced to look for another hotel. Our rooms were rented to somebody else during our flight. The receptionist couldn't speak english enough to solve this problem - he said 'sorry' and closed the door. We didn't get any kind of help such as checking the avaibility of rooms in other hotels. We do not recommend that hotel.

Room Tip: find a room in other hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank a b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The hotel is well positioned and central to Marseille Old Port with close links to the Metro. Lovely cathedral overlooks the street. Room was airy, light, spacious and very very clean. Pierre at reception was welcoming and with a firm grasp of English told us what sights we could see and where was best to eat. Our trip unfortunately took a turn for the worse when we had to call an ambulance and be admitted to A&E.... Pierre truly went the extra mile for us by showing the team to our room to overcome the language barrier and upon seeing how worried I was asked if he should accompany us to the hospital! This was greatly received and was a huge weight off our minds. We would return in an instant to this fantastic value, customer centric establishment!

Room Tip: 103 has a lovely balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelly1281_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We were just staying one night here on our way from Barcelona to Paris and it was perfection. The room was beautiful and modern with a big comfy bed and a beautiful bathroom. After a long train ride from Barcelona we arrived early in the evening, walked 5 minutes into town to grab a pizza for dinner then returned to our comfy hotel room to relax with some tv and a much anticipated warm shower. The hotel staff were friendly and accommodating recommending where we could get dinner from and helped us order an taxi early the next day . It was just what we needed between two long days of travel

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Friendly reception staff. Very clean hotel and Modern decor. WiFi access was an added advantage and given without asking. The map given was also useful. My single room was extremely small (the smallest I have stayed in on my travels in France) and at the back of the hotel with a less than pleasant outlook (huge silver pipes and rubbish presumably dropped from the flats directly opposite). On the downside there were no restaurant or bar facilities in the hotel, nor the immediate vicinity which was very inconvenient and I had to walk to Vieux Port (15 mins walking distance) to eat. The hotel did cater for breakfast in a basement room though I did not use this facility. The hotel was located in quite a dark and run down part of the city and not ideal for the solo traveller.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 765Silver7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurelie s, Hotel Manager at Best Western Hotel Du Mucem, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Client,

We thank you for your feedback. Welcoming our clients appropriately is very important to us, we are happy to know you were touched by this.
The next time you wish to stay at our hotel, do not hesitate to contact us ahead of time. We propose a "Comfort" room to better satisfy your needs.
When you originally made your reservation, you chose a standard "single" room, as specified on every reservation site, measures 9m² with a single 1 person bed.
Regarding the vu of the garden, of the other building, we made a demand to the city hall of Marseille for them to take action. We are awaiting a response.
It is true that we advise our clients to have dinner on the "Old Port" because it is an animated and enjoyable site at only 15 minutes away from the hotel. But you should know that there are still restaurants open in the neighborhood de la Joliette.
Best regards
Aurélie SILVESTRINI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Best Western La Joliette
#39 of 131 in Marseille
256 reviews
Ibis Marseille Centre Euromed
#22 of 131 in Marseille
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opéra
Hotel Carre Vieux Port Marseille
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Du Mucem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Du Mucem

Property: Best Western Hotel Du Mucem
Address: 22 rue Mazenod, 13002 Marseille, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Du Mucem 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Du Mucem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing