We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel for a city trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Du Mucem
Ranked #35 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Schaffhausen
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Very good hotel for a city trip”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We have stayed in the hotel over easter holiday for four nights. The location is good. It takes just around five minutes to the metro and around 10 till 15 minutes to the old harbor of Marseille. The neighbourhood is quiet. The room was small, but very good arranged to use the available space. The hotel and the room have been very clean. The employees have been very friendly. The breakfast was also good. We can really recommend the hotel for a city trip or so.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swissbear07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    135
    53
    9
    6
See reviews for
21
107
28
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hangzhou, China
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

4 stars for the atmosphere (cleanliness+design) and 2 for the small room...
The location it's just fine, not in the city center, but also not so far, it's reasonable to walk from the hotel to the old port.
The service was kind.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank efpicas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is the first time such a bad experience around France. I had a very bad experience staying at the hotel. First we got a room on the top floor. The room had no windows, and only the small window leaf on the roof. On this day they have not changed the room, maybe there were not available rooms at hotel. The next day we first proposed to bring baggage down and to walk on the street or waiting in the lobby. The weather was cold and it was raining. I expressed outrage. They changed the room for us.
But then I noticed that the water in the kettle will turn yellow due to rust. I brought the kettle on the desk and they changed it.
In the evening it turned out that they forgot to leave towels in the room for bath. Again I had to ask to bring towels.
This room had a window but at the bottom of the yard was a garbage dump, so it was impossible to open the window.
Wi-fi in the room was fast but constantly interrupted.
Water pressure in the bath room was low.
Although the room was very clean overall experience was bad

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor with no windows, only a small ventilator on the roof. Rooms with a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vanlegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurelie s, Responsable Hôtel at Best Western Hotel Du Mucem, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Greetings Sir,

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel.
Meanwhile I would like to clarify a few things.

The first room that was assigned to you was a large spaced room equipped with a “velux” window. The night of your arrival around 20h00, you asked us if it was possible to change rooms because you were not satisfied by your current room. We immediately accepted and offered to switch rooms in the morning, (Our hotel being full on the first night.) At 8 o’clock the next morning you presented yourself at the reception in demand of a new room. Since your new room was currently occupied at the time, we asked you to be patient while we made the necessary preparations. At no giving time, the receptionist on shift, asked you to wait outside in the rain, on the contrary, she told you, you could stay in your old room while you waited for the new one to be ready.

For the 2nd night at the hotel, you stayed in a room situated on the opposite side of the street. I admit, the outside view of the patio and the buildings isn’t very pleasant, unfortunately it is very difficult for us to do anything about that, since the building does not belong to us.
After verification, it was brought to my attention that 2 towels were missing from your room, we deeply apologize for this incident.
Regarding the pressure problems, we will take the necessary steps to fix the issue so that it doesn’t repeat itself.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somewhere
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The reservation was really easy to make and the staff is very helpful and kind. Mrs. Marino (the person we were in contact with) was very kind to offer us a bigger room and also took good care of our request for a baby bed for our little girl. The price matches perfectly with the quality of the room, the hotel and services offered. Everything is very clean. The room was very silent (well isolated), with air conditioning, and the bed was so soft and nice, perfect to get a goo night sleep. Breakfast (buffet) is fresh, good and not expensive (11 eur per person). The hotel is located in an area not far at all from the city center and the "Vieux Port". If we go back to Marseille, we'll definitely return to this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuliaSomewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

The hotel is located within walking distance of the vieux port. The room was small but comfortable. Free water, tea and coffee were available in the room. The front office staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H_M_P_888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Walking distance form Marseille main landmarks this newly opened hotel offers nice rooms at really competitive prices for the area.

The rooms are a bit on the small size but brand new.

Very quiet as well. Hidden is a side street it's not obvious to find. Check a map.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Best Western La Joliette
#40 of 131 in Marseille
258 reviews
Ibis Marseille Centre Euromed
#22 of 131 in Marseille
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opéra
Hotel Carre Vieux Port Marseille
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Du Mucem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Du Mucem

Property: Best Western Hotel Du Mucem
Address: 22 rue Mazenod, 13002 Marseille, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Du Mucem 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Du Mucem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing