We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place and nice food”
Review of Au Bout Du Quai

Au Bout Du Quai
Reserve with
Au Bout Du Quai is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 2,162 Restaurants in Marseille
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Paradou, France
Level Contributor
264 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Very nice place and nice food”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

At least In marseille, on the Vieux Port, facing Fort St Jean, this is a nice place, not looking like a tourist trap. We went there with 2 colleagues for a quick lunch and we were very happy with everything, the decoration, the service, the food and the bill!
Two of us wanted to have oysters: there were big and tasty, Gillardeau of course! The third one had a fish, fresh and well served. We decided to stay on Cafes Gourmands for light dessert,
All of it was enjoyable.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnneF36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    229
    41
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic & Romantic evening”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband and I spent a fabulous dinner/evening at Au Bout Du Quai. We read tripadvisor reviews and steered clear of the tourist restaurants. Seafood was the best ever, waiters were very attentive, friendly and loved a couple of polite English speaking Americans. Not like in Paris!!! Our only disappointment was we needed to give them 48 hour notice for Bouillabaisse because they go to the docks and hand select the fresh fish. The seafood we did order was fantastic and the chestnut cake (really) was too. They had a musical duo who played that evening. We couldn't help but dance for the first time in 30 years (married 43 years). It was a perfect ending to our visit. We WILL go back and have the Bouillabaisse some day.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zelda810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
80 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Wow! Great seafood restaurant”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

This is an amazing restaurant. We were the first to arrive and the restaurant filled quickly. The menu was on a board which was brought to us. We were treated with courtesy, and assisted with understanding the menu. We had fish soup to start, gambas and risotto with scallops for mains, and some kind of sweet. Our meal was wonderful. We drank a rose from Aix. Since we were at a nearby hotel, we saw that this restaurant was full much of the time, especially at lunch. I'd love to go back here.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thomasO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
101 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent. Would go again and again and again....”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We made a reservation here for opening, 8pm, and had our choice of seats, so we sat right at the window facing toward the port. The windows were open toward the area of outside seating, so the climate was fantastic (except when a smoker lets the cig smoke enter inside.)

The half-booth table for four was perfectly comfortable with plenty of room. Our waitress was extraordinary. Even the manager came out on occasion to serve us. The menus are both static and dynamic, with fresh options all the time.

We skipped the appetizers because we weren't particularly hungry. Respectively we had the dourade, swordfish, sole, and St. Pierre. All were EXCELLENT. Of particular note was the side of summer vegetables that came with the meal, which were prepared by some type of genius chef. (In some ways the vegetables were the star of the meal). The white wine we chose was whatever was available for a 3/4 bottle size and it was excellent.

After, we each had a dessert/cheese platter, and two cappuccinos. The desserts were also excellent.

All together for 4 people (4 mains, 4 desserts, 2 caps) was about 150eur. Not bad at all, considering how lovely a time we had, and the amazing job and demeanor of the INCREDIBLY busy waitress. We had to fight the urge to give her a tip (because you don't have to tip in France, waiters actually get decent wages). But we just thanked her profusely at the end.

I would return however many times my wallet allowed. Mains range from 20-26eur give or take, so I recommend skipping the starters - you get free bread anyway!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Allison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely experience”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We were in Marseille for a few days and we read the reviews about this place on tripadvisor. Originally we wanted to eat a bouillabaisse, but gave up on that (we think it is just too expensive and hyped with no particular reason...). So we ended up in Au Bout Du Quai and it was perfect! We had a lovely lunch!!! There is a menu written on a tablet by chalk daily, carried by our really wonderful waitress! She was really helpful and translated the dishes for us. We have shared a calamari salad - it was huge and brilliant! My choice was a St Jacques scallop risotto with asparagus - can recommend to anyone! My boyfriend had a nice linguini with sea-food. We had a small bottle of wine besides and it was just perfect! We spent around 70 EUR and it was so worth it!
And I forget to mention that the toilet and the inside is beautiful either!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank AnikoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Au Bout Du Quai also viewed

Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Au Bout Du Quai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing