We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value near the Old Port”
Review of Hotel Saint Louis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Saint Louis
Ranked #37 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 4, 2014

The Hotel Saint Louis is an excellent place to stay if you want a taste of the real Marseilles but still be in a convenient location for the Old Port. It's slightly hidden away in a tiny street about a six or seven minute cab ride from the train station. A five minute walk will take you to the waterside and attractions like the Fort Saint-Jean and the Museum of European and Mediterranean Civilisations. The rooms are not huge but they are well kept and the place is efficiently run. Breakfast is standard fare but that's all you need. Unless you are looking for luxury and big rooms the hotel's location and prices make it a great choice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Westward040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yonaetienne, Directeur général at Hotel Saint Louis, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2014

A huge thank you for your positive review from the whole team at the hotel Saint Louis. We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay in Marseille. You're so right, we are ideally placed between Saint Charles station and the old port, and you took the chance to visit MUCEM, after a stroll with a view of the beautiful Notre Dame de la Garde basilica. We're also pleased you liked our rooms and breakfast. Looking forward to your next stay, Yona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (447)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Saint Louis
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 447 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Hotel Saint Louis is in a neighborhood just a couple of blocks from the port. Our cab driver expressed concern, which caused us some anxiety. However, within a day we were very happy to have found this gem. Located near everything we wanted to see, the staff was extraordinary; helpful, accommodating, knowledgable and friendly. Wonderful breakfast, comfortable room, would definitely return here.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank sevencountriessofar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yonaetienne, Directeur général at Hotel Saint Louis, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2014

The whole team at the hotel Saint Louis was delighted to find that you thought our hotel was a "gem"! The historic quartier of Noailles is indeed very cosmopolitan, but it's also very authentic, a melting pot of Mediterranean influences, and we're so pleased you liked it. Finally, as you noted, our staff are particularly accommodating and attentive. Don't leave it too long before you come back to enjoy our breakfasts - the spread is constantly changing so you can enjoy homemade fare at all times of the year! Yona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

A great location in a lively neighbourhood, near to the centre. Close to some good cafes, restaurants, the Old Port and easy access to public transport. The room was comfortable and spacious, described by my companion as 'shabby French chic'. The staff were friendly, helpful and professional and they made us feel welcome. They are available 24 hours a day and speak English. We took advantage of an attractive offer for off season travellers and this made it very good value as we enjoyed a large 'superior' room.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Awesomestower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yonaetienne, Directeur général at Hotel Saint Louis, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2014

A big thanks for your comment from the whole team at the hotel Saint Louis. We were very pleased to read it as, just like your companion, we also love the shabby chic style ☺ It's why we're involved in writing the Socosy blog that talks about what's on offer for tourists in Marseille, Paris and Chamonix, where our family business has two other hotels. So come and visit us soon! Yona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Staying there 2 nights, extremely low price, I was a bit afraid of what I would find arriving in marseille. really good surprise, rooms are not that small, clean, furnished with a bit of taste. Ok, it's not perfect, the door of the bathroom had a minus problem, but for the price (50€) I was happy. For 100€ I would have been disappointed. It's close from the harbor, and the district does not seem dangerous to me although it's still like anywhere in marseille, not so trendy and hype, but lively. Beds were really comfortable, (hotel has been renewed recently). Noise from the steet is ok, from the hotel itself it's a bit different. Staying there was a good souvenir and I would recommend

Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
3  Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellevuemarseille, Responsable réception at Hotel Saint Louis, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014
Google Translation

Toute l’équipe de l’hotel Saint Louis à Marseille vous remercie de votre commentaire positif Nous sommes heureux de savoir que vous gardez un excellent souvenir de votre séjour. Comme vous l’avez constaté, nous avons apporté un soin particulier au choix de votre literie. Notre hotel a été entièrement rénové en 2013 et nos efforts en matière de développement durable ont été récompensés par l’obtention du label Clé Verte.
Lors de votre prochain séjour, vous pourrez également constaté que ce quartier central, à quelques mètres du Vieux-Port et de la Canebière, est désormais desservi par le tramway. L’occasion d’accéder en toute facilité à toutes les promesses touristiques que vous offre Marseille !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

My wife and I were staying 12 nights in Marseille so wanted somewhere central and not too expensive. This fit the bill. The rooms were clean with good bathrooms, if a bit cramped (Small table and limited closet space). The staff were very friendly and helpful, and did laundry at a very reasonable price. Good location for access to the port area and metro stations, not too far a walk to the train station. We were worried about noise as it is on a central square with open cafes and street vendors around. There was some daytime noise, but always ended up quiet overnight. However, don't be surprised when the street noise starts again around 6 am.

Room Tip: Lower floor front rooms have a good view and some have balconies, but are subject to more noise. I...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellevuemarseille, Responsable réception at Hotel Saint Louis, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

The team of the hotel Saint Louis thanks you for your comment. These comments are valuable for all of us . They contribute to the improvement of infrastructures of the hotel Saint Louis and our services. Since you spent 12 nights with us , you saw how happy we are to work in a family environment. You could also enjoy the nearby subway lines 1 and 2 and the Old Port , the starting point to explore the Calanques and the islands of Frioul.
Indeed , we are located at the edge of one of the busiest shopping area of Marseille . Iconic signs are everywhere near the smaller shops , in respect of the Mediterranean tradition. We hope you enjoyed the Noailles market , famous for its spices , fruits , and vegetables.
Hope to see you again in the great family of Saint Louis during your next visit to Marseille !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

After a night out on the town, having a mediocre overpriced meal, we returned to this hotel where we found a rat on the stairs. The next day we found the breakfast still on the tables and half-eaten sandwiches on plates, the cereal out in the open, giving immediately a reason why the rat was 1-there and 2-so big and fat. We got out of there, after having waited 3/4 hour for the reception lady who had disappeared. She was probably scared of the rat. So were we.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dutchpair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights. Room is small, bathroom small, but if you are just there to sleep, it is adequate. Room was clean, beds comfortable. Stairwells were narrow, curving and dark. It was very quiet. Staff was courteous. Did not eat breakfast here. Location is close to the port, restaurants. Seems like it is on the edge of a "rougher area". Price reasonable. Nothing negative to report.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GerryGirl_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellevuemarseille, Responsable réception at Hotel Saint Louis, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

The team of the hotel Saint Louis thanks you for your appreciation of your family trip and your stay with us in Marseille. We are very happy for your positive comment. During your next visit to Marseille, we invite you to share our breakfast. It is designed with fresh and organic products. The hotel Saint Louis was recognized for its environmental policy by the Green Key Label in 2013.
In addition, our neighborhood experiences good developments: the iconic brands have grown, Mediterranean shops always offer unbeatable rates and a new tram line will be inaugurated in the first half of 2014 from our hotel overlooking the Cours Saint Louis.
Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Opéra
Hotel Carre Vieux Port Marseille
New Hotel Vieux Port
#36 of 131 in Marseille
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Ryad Boutique Hotel
#6 of 131 in Marseille
402 reviews
Hotel Saint Ferreol
#33 of 131 in Marseille
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Louis

Address: 2 rue des Recolettes | Cours Saint Louis, 13001 Marseille, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Marseille
#24 Business Hotel in Marseille
Price Range: $80 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Saint Louis 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The eco friendly Hotel, which proposes a hebergement of quality and large comfort with air conditioning and free WiFi, is engaged in an ecological approach Clef Verte.There is an atmosphere of holidays and of tranquillity in all the hotel, since the renovation in 2012. Modernized and decorated in a sober and warm spirit, every room embarks you for a new discovery ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Saint Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Louis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing