We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and historic building compensate some disadvantages”
Review of Hotel Saint Louis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Saint Louis
Ranked #43 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The location of this hotel is really great, in the heart of Marseilles and in a historic building, with balconies in many rooms. The breakfast is another advantage - you have fruits, fresh orange juice, eggs, cheese, fresh baguettes and croissants. The staff was very friendly and always ready to help.

The rooms as in most French hotels are very small and not clean enough. The furniture is old.

Room Tip: Book a romm with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yulia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellevuemarseille, Responsable réception at Hotel Saint Louis, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

The team of the hotel Saint Louis is very pleased by your comment. We enjoy working in a historic building. Our Empire pediment and our pink and white facade gives us great looks! We also welcome your comments about our breakfast. We care to use fresh and organic products. The hotel Saint Louis received the Green Key label to reward its environmental efforts in 2013.
However, we are surprised about your comment about the furniture. Our hotel was completely renovated in 2013. We relied on very different decorations according to rooms to make you travel even more!
See you soon for another stay in Marseille!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (456)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 456 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013

The hotel is just a few minutes walk from the port of Marseille, also quite close to Charles de Gaulle parking, if you're travelling by car.
The rooms are quite big, the beds are comfy and it's clean,
As buts I'd say the AC didn't work so good and the breakfast is a bit scarce.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank LaFaldriqueraVacia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellevuemarseille, Responsable réception at Hotel Saint Louis, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

We thank you for sharing your experience. We are very pleased that you appreciated our location in the heart of our city, and the comfort of our hotel. Hoping to welcome you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hotel is in the charming building (bit run out), the rooms overlooking the street are extremely loud, no air conditioners ( in summer absolutely 'no go'). Consider this place for 1 or 2 nights, but it is not an alternative for a weekend or longer stay. Did not try the breakfast, we payed 120 euro for 3 beds room without breakfast. The bathroom was small with outdated fittings (from the 70s), the personnel was normal friendly, nothing negative to report.

Room Tip: Ask for the room facing the backyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AngkorGems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellevuemarseille, Responsable réception at Hotel Saint Louis, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

The team of the hotel Saint Louis thanks you for your comment. We are located in the heart of downtown Marseille, a few meters from the Canebière. This is probably why you felt an atmosphere of animation. This location allows us to enjoy the Vieux Port, underground stations for lines 1 and 2, and the tram in 2014.
The hotel was completely renovated in 2013, the decoration of each room reflects a unique world for our guests to travel more! Our rooms are equipped with air conditioning and wifi.
In addition, we look forward to welcome you again so that you can enjoy our breakfast made ​​with fresh and organic products. We received the Green Key label in 2013 for our ecology policy..
Hope to see you during your next stay in Marseille!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The hotel is very central and close to the port. When we arrived we were a bit weary about our choice but once inside the room it was very cute. The room is very clean, spacious for a twin and good shower. Wifi is also good. The location is central but a bit seedy. Good value

Stayed: August 2013
3  Thank Lovedarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellevuemarseille, Responsable réception at Hotel Saint Louis, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience atHotel Saint Louis. We were very happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and will most certainly share your comments with Audrey.
We all look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Right in the heart of the downtown areas near the old port. This older style hotel is a great place to stay. One negative is the low-quality WIFI. If you're someone who needs a good constant connection this is not the best place. We had to keep asking them to REBOOT the modem to get a good connection. That's basic in 2013. But a good hotel, good location and staff. Gay friendly!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank NickMOri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellevuemarseille, Responsable réception at Hotel Saint Louis, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

The team of the hotel Saint Louis is very pleased to read your positive comment. Wifi connection problems are now a distant memory, our rooms were renovated in 2013 and our policy in favor of ecology was rewarded by obtaining the Green Key Label. Icing on the cake: the new tram will soon be opened, with a station at the foot of the hotel!
Hope to see you again on your next visit to Marseille!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I spent one night in this hotel on a quick trip down to Marseille. It is not a luxury hotel, but my small single room was clean and comfortable -- and air conditioned (I was in town during a heat wave!). There was free wifi (with an excellent connection) in my room. The hotel is well located: only a ten-minute downhill walk from the train station and a five-minute walk down to the port. The staff was friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast (and 10 euros) was nothing special, but there was cornflakes (I would have preferred granola or muesli), eggs, cheese, yogurt, a huge basket of croissants and plenty of orange juice and coffee. It was a good deal for the price that I got online (76 euros including tax). All in all, I had a pleasant stay at a good price. I will stay here again next time I'm in Marseille.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellevuemarseille, Responsable réception at Hotel Saint Louis, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

The team of the hotel Saint Louis will be delighted to welcome you again and if possible, for a longer stay. So you can take the opportunity to visit the city, we are located a few hundred meters from the Old Port with its ferry to the islands of Frioul and the famous Calanques. You can also enjoy the new tram line serving our hotel. Finally, if you ask to our team, we can probably find you the muesli of your choice! We are at the heart of Noailles neighborhood , one of the most mercantiles of Marseille.
See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We've started in Marseille a few times and enjoy the Vieux Port location. St Louis is a few streets away from the port and surrounded by cafes, shops and bars.
Our room on 4th floor was small but with sufficient storage for our three day stay. The bathroom has a bath and overhend shower, but was so small it would have been better with just a shower.
We discovered that the shower leaked behind the wall into the corridor - didn't affect our room but we felt responsible.
We didn't take breakfast at the hotel as we never do when we have a city centre on our door step.
Staff were friendly, smiley and available 24 hours.
There's no point saying this was luxury - it wasn't. But we paid a fair price for a comfortable, clean room in a central location.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bristol_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellevuemarseille, Responsable réception at Hotel Saint Louis, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

The team of the hotel Saint Louis thanks you very much for your comment. We received the Green Key Label in 2013. It rewards our efforts in environmental matters. This is why we were very sensitive to your remark about a water leak. We, of course, made what needed to be done. We are glad you enjoyed the central location, just meters from the Canebière and the Vieux Port and the helpfulness of our staff.
Hope to see you during your next stay in Marseille! And most importantly, try our breakfast: good, organic, and fresh!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Opéra
Hotel Carre Vieux Port Marseille
New Hotel Vieux Port
#37 of 131 in Marseille
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Ryad Boutique Hotel
#6 of 131 in Marseille
442 reviews
Hotel Saint Ferreol
#30 of 131 in Marseille
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Louis

Address: 2 rue des Recolettes | Cours Saint Louis, 13001 Marseille, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Marseille
#24 Business Hotel in Marseille
Price Range: $72 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Saint Louis 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The eco friendly Hotel, which proposes a hebergement of quality and large comfort with air conditioning and free WiFi, is engaged in an ecological approach Clef Verte.There is an atmosphere of holidays and of tranquillity in all the hotel, since the renovation in 2012. Modernized and decorated in a sober and warm spirit, every room embarks you for a new discovery ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Saint Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Louis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing