We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“better than i expected” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Saint Louis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Saint Louis
Ranked #29 of 130 Hotels in Marseille
GreenLeadersSilver level
istanbul
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“better than i expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

the location is perfect to walk around and rate was fair. Good staff and rooms were nice. Lots of bars and restaurants around and place is quite lively after dark. Had a small balcony facing the port on 5th floor. If i go back to Marseilles, i would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Berti U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yonaetienne, Propriétaire at Hotel Saint Louis, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Hello,
Thank you for your comment, we will be glad to welcome you again (make sure
to book through our website!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    212
    72
    20
    15
See reviews for
56
188
35
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

The Saint Louis is in a great location in the centre of the city and a few streets from the Vieux Port. Friendly people on reception. Nice spacious room (we were lucky and were allocated a 3 person room for 2) with large bathroom and old-world charm. Glad to be on the 5th and top floor as the street outside was rather noisy due to all the renovation works going on in the area (for the upcoming Capital of Culture year) but of course this isn't the hotel's fault! Don't come looking for something newly-redone and pristine, but it had lots of character and great prices.
Overall, we were very happy with this hotel for the price we paid - a clean, very central, friendly place to lay your head and get out and about enjoying this great fun city!

Room Tip: Aim for top floor (5th), perhaps away from the street if noise is a big issue for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rkjUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yonaetienne, Propriétaire at Hotel Saint Louis, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Hello,
We are glad you enjoyed our hotel and our city, and we will be happy to
welcome you during your next trip to Marseille
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

This hotel is very well situated. If you approach it from the opposite (northern) end of the rue des Recollettes (as we did, having walked from the railway station) the ambience is slightly alarming, but things improve the other side of the Boulevard de la Canebiere. It is close to the Vieux Port; there are interesting and lively streets nearby. There is a bar underneath the hotel and restaurants nearby. Close by is a attractive hat shop; next door is a wonderful and tantalising kitchen equipment and hardware shop called Maison Empereur while opposite is an unusual shop with knuckle-dusters and knives in the window. The hotel begins on the first floor and you ascend further in a slightly alarming lift. Our room was clean and comfortable and was very good value. The breakfast was adequate, made interesting by a machine for boiling half-a dozen eggs at once, which needed to be treated with respect. It was a good place to be for exploring and enjoying Marseille.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Egregious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yonaetienne, Propriétaire at Hotel Saint Louis, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Hello,
We are glad you enjoyed the hotel, its breakfast and its atypical
neighborhood! Hoping to see you on another trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

I had a very disappointing experience with this hotel. When I arrived, they told me that they had no reservation under my name. After an hour of waiting for a solution, I just decided to go find another hotel. The receptionist told me that I would have to pay for the first night's accommodation if I wanted to leave - after which she told me that, actually, my reservation had suddenly appeared. I don't understand the reason for this shuffling around, nothing was explained to me.
The first room that I was given was not cleaned (sheets on the floor, towels all over the place, etc). The receptionist didn't believe me and required some convincing before she would give me a new room. The second room was better - facing the street, but clean. Very thin walls throughout the hotel, so I heard my neighbours and their two children. I guess this is why they give you an iPod dock.
Both rooms that I saw were very small. "Quaint" and "charming" are appropriate descriptions. This suited me just fine, but I expect that if two people were in the room, they might feel cramped.

Good things: great location, iPod dock, decor is traditional, and reasonably priced. However, if I visit Marseille again, I'll find a different hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snazzyapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

French hotels tend to be pretty basic, this is the exception. We stayed in the 3 person room, the decoration was lovely, the bed comfy, there was an ipod dock, balconies, aircon. It was perfect. A charming hotel in a great location a few minutes walk from Vieux Port

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jackio68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yonaetienne, Propriétaire at Hotel Saint Louis, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Hello,
We are glad you think our hotel is an exception! That rewards our efforts.
Thank you, hoping to see you on a next trip to Marseille
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
72 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

The staff are very frindly & helpfull - and the hotel and the rooms have character and are very cosy. Situated close to port, the old city and lots of nice cafes and restaurants, you will find yourself with a good deal in Saint Louis.
Prices are fair - and you in the middle of "the action" of Marseille - but still safe & quiet..

Room Tip: Ask foor a room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikaelmunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yonaetienne, Propriétaire at Hotel Saint Louis, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Hello,
Thank you for your comment, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay, and we
will be glad to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallastexas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

The Hotel Saint Louis is located a short walk from the Old Port and not too far from the train station (or bus stops) making it a good location for exploring Marseille. The hotel facade is very lovely as does the breakfast room (which we did not take, so I can't review).

The Hotel's location is on the cusp between an iffy area and a good area. 3 feet from the hotel, is a bite iffy, 3 feet the other way - nice shopping areas. When I say iffy - I never felt unsafe, just a more colorful area. But if that makes you nervous, just stick to the main street, and you won't have a problem.

There is a Monoprix (closed on Sundays) across the street that has a nice bakery on the ground floor (if you wish to get something for breakfast or lunch on the run), and a grocery store one level up.

The hotel does have an elevator (I tend to use stairs, but if accessibility is an issue for you, please note that the elevator is only accessible once you go up the first flight of stairs to the reception).

The hotel staff was very nice. Only complaint is that the internet did not work most of the time. If you have to check in for work while on vacation as we do, this might be an issue. Luckily, we found an Orange spot that we could also connect to who is a roaming partner with our service provider at home, so we used that instead.

The rooms varied. We had one room that was very nice, but small on the back end of the hotel. We changed rooms to one on the front to see if we got better wifi (that is where we were able to pick on the Orange wifi). It was larger and filed with light from 3 sets of french doors, but not as well rehabbed (I will take the rougher room with more space and better light any day).

The hotel was what is expected in that price range. Only complaint was the wifi. Cleaning staff was nice and good, and hotel reception staff was nice and professional as well. We enjoyed our stay there, only gave it an average because of wifi problems, so if that is not an issue for you, no problem. They do have a computer in the breakfast room too for guest to use, if you travel without a computer.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dallasboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yonaetienne, Propriétaire at Hotel Saint Louis, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Hello
We want to thank you for your precise comment, one of those helping us
improve. We will be glad to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
0.2 mi away
Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port
0.3 mi away
Le Ryad Boutique Hotel
Le Ryad Boutique Hotel
#9 of 130 in Marseille
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hermes
Hermes
#22 of 130 in Marseille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Azur
Hotel Azur
#43 of 130 in Marseille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alex Hotel
Alex Hotel
#2 of 130 in Marseille
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.2 mi away
New Hotel Vieux Port
New Hotel Vieux Port
#31 of 130 in Marseille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Louis

Property: Hotel Saint Louis
Address: 2 rue des Recolettes | Cours Saint Louis, 13001 Marseille, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Marseille
#24 Business Hotel in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Saint Louis 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The eco friendly Hotel, which proposes a hebergement of quality and large comfort with air conditioning and free WiFi, is engaged in an ecological approach Clef Verte.There is an atmosphere of holidays and of tranquillity in all the hotel, since the renovation in 2012. Modernized and decorated in a sober and warm spirit, every room embarks you for a new discovery ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Saint Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Louis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing