We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfecl location - cosy rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Saint Louis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Saint Louis
Ranked #29 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
GreenLeadersSilver level
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
72 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“perfecl location - cosy rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

The staff are very frindly & helpfull - and the hotel and the rooms have character and are very cosy. Situated close to port, the old city and lots of nice cafes and restaurants, you will find yourself with a good deal in Saint Louis.
Prices are fair - and you in the middle of "the action" of Marseille - but still safe & quiet..

Room Tip: Ask foor a room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikaelmunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yonaetienne, Propriétaire at Hotel Saint Louis, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Hello,
Thank you for your comment, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay, and we
will be glad to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    216
    72
    20
    15
See reviews for
57
189
36
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dallastexas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

The Hotel Saint Louis is located a short walk from the Old Port and not too far from the train station (or bus stops) making it a good location for exploring Marseille. The hotel facade is very lovely as does the breakfast room (which we did not take, so I can't review).

The Hotel's location is on the cusp between an iffy area and a good area. 3 feet from the hotel, is a bite iffy, 3 feet the other way - nice shopping areas. When I say iffy - I never felt unsafe, just a more colorful area. But if that makes you nervous, just stick to the main street, and you won't have a problem.

There is a Monoprix (closed on Sundays) across the street that has a nice bakery on the ground floor (if you wish to get something for breakfast or lunch on the run), and a grocery store one level up.

The hotel does have an elevator (I tend to use stairs, but if accessibility is an issue for you, please note that the elevator is only accessible once you go up the first flight of stairs to the reception).

The hotel staff was very nice. Only complaint is that the internet did not work most of the time. If you have to check in for work while on vacation as we do, this might be an issue. Luckily, we found an Orange spot that we could also connect to who is a roaming partner with our service provider at home, so we used that instead.

The rooms varied. We had one room that was very nice, but small on the back end of the hotel. We changed rooms to one on the front to see if we got better wifi (that is where we were able to pick on the Orange wifi). It was larger and filed with light from 3 sets of french doors, but not as well rehabbed (I will take the rougher room with more space and better light any day).

The hotel was what is expected in that price range. Only complaint was the wifi. Cleaning staff was nice and good, and hotel reception staff was nice and professional as well. We enjoyed our stay there, only gave it an average because of wifi problems, so if that is not an issue for you, no problem. They do have a computer in the breakfast room too for guest to use, if you travel without a computer.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dallasboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yonaetienne, Propriétaire at Hotel Saint Louis, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Hello
We want to thank you for your precise comment, one of those helping us
improve. We will be glad to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

the hotel is centered in the old port. Clean, historical and traditional. there are a supermarket, restaurants, stores,caffe and metro near the hotel. breakfast wasn't rich but good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sevdiklerim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
237 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

I stayed in this hotel and I was quite pleased to have found it!

The building is beautiful...typically French in style. The location could not be beat...right across from the port, not far from the train station, AND, with many excellent restaurants nearby offering north African food. I totally loved where it was situated!

The room was very clean and nicely decorated. It had all the necessary services (e.g. safe, comfortable bedding, well-equipped bathroom). It also had a beautiful window/balcony with a great view...it felt very 'French' :) The front desk staff was also good.

Well-worth it!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TanyaM212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yonaetienne, Propriétaire at Hotel Saint Louis, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Hello,
Thank you for your comment, thank you for enjoying our efforts! You are
welcome to come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
evansville, indiana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

Just a few short blocks from the Vieux Port and the Train Station, this lovely hotel was a perfect launching place for exploring Marseille and Provence. Up the narrow steps to the 2nd floor is the small reception and breakfast area overlooking the street below.. Our rooms were beautifully decorated and comfortable, the price fair and the breakfast was good as well. We were very pleased with the location and neighborhood which seemed quite safe and nice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corndoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

Booked a room last year for 2 people for few nights. the price was around 80 euros, without breakfast. The room was clean but the deco was so dated and the hotel had an odd smell all over -- smell of damp I think, as soon as we sat on the bed, it collapsed and there was a bed side lamp hanging off the wall. For that price, one can rent a studio or a small appartment right in the centre of Marseille.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandrine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

An ok hotel in a good Centrallly located part of the City.
Old fashioned French building.
Fairly clean friendly hotel & you basically get what you pay for in that we just wanted a cheap hotel in central Marsielle as we stayed there with loads if blokes to see Chelsea play and it didn't bother us where we stayed as long as it had a bed to lay your drunk head!
So if you want a posh hotel and want to pay big money then don't stay here!
The only slight off putting thing was that right outside the hotel was a shop that sold a whole host of guns and flick knives!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cfc1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
0.2 mi away
Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port
0.3 mi away
Le Ryad Boutique Hotel
Le Ryad Boutique Hotel
#9 of 131 in Marseille
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alex Hotel
Alex Hotel
#2 of 131 in Marseille
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Azur
Hotel Azur
#45 of 131 in Marseille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hermes
Hermes
#18 of 131 in Marseille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.2 mi away
New Hotel Vieux Port
New Hotel Vieux Port
#31 of 131 in Marseille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Louis

Property: Hotel Saint Louis
Address: 2 rue des Recolettes | Cours Saint Louis, 13001 Marseille, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Marseille
#24 Business Hotel in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Saint Louis 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The eco friendly Hotel, which proposes a hebergement of quality and large comfort with air conditioning and free WiFi, is engaged in an ecological approach Clef Verte.There is an atmosphere of holidays and of tranquillity in all the hotel, since the renovation in 2012. Modernized and decorated in a sober and warm spirit, every room embarks you for a new discovery ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Saint Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Louis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing