We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get what you pay for!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Saint Louis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Saint Louis
Ranked #29 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

An ok hotel in a good Centrallly located part of the City.
Old fashioned French building.
Fairly clean friendly hotel & you basically get what you pay for in that we just wanted a cheap hotel in central Marsielle as we stayed there with loads if blokes to see Chelsea play and it didn't bother us where we stayed as long as it had a bed to lay your drunk head!
So if you want a posh hotel and want to pay big money then don't stay here!
The only slight off putting thing was that right outside the hotel was a shop that sold a whole host of guns and flick knives!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cfc1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    216
    72
    20
    15
See reviews for
57
189
36
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marseille, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

From the sidestreet, the front of the St Louis Hotel is grand. Inside, the grandeur has faded. Nevertheless, in an expensive area such as Vieux Port (where all tourists want to be), it has all the basic facilities for the low to low-medium budget traveller. Hot water, WiFi (only in some rooms, but ok in reception), clean room and bathroom if slightly shabby and somewhat faded. Helpful staff in reception. Best of all, fantastic location for the money - just a couple of minutes down the main street to the waterfront ! Bad point: Breakfast, weak and pricey. Better get some fruit and bread off the street. Hotel was very difficult to find by car without GPS in the maze of extremely narrow, crowded and blocked streets. Hotel is not too far to walk from Gare St Charles, apart from the 100 steps down from the station to the steet. We paid 67Euros which we were quite happy with. For that money, I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: We enjoyed room on an upper floor facing the street. It was quiet enough on an upper floor and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2010

A have never written a bad or negative review before but this hotel errs on the side of
a negative review. Having checked in and shown to our room I was horrified. It was very tiny with tiled floors one would not want to put bare feet on and was to me just plain awful. The age of the tiles made it appear dirty although my husband insisted they were clean, me, I was not so sure. Having been in the room 3 minutes we left to do some sightseeing during which I persuaded my husband to ask for a better, bigger room. When our request was made he said there was another room we could have but it would only be available for one night and we would have to move to yet another room for our 2nd night. We checked out the second room and couldn't believe the difference. Yes, so much bigger and with a much larger bathroom. Modernised it was but done by a very poor tradesman as discarded pipes were just cut off and left hanging out of the wall. A closet had hanging space but the depth was about a foot so am still wondering what you could possibly hang in it. It did appear clean though. The room was still one where you check the linen etc to see if there is anything moving. I must admit though we slept reasonably well. The next day we had to pack up again to move. Our new room wasn't ready and our request to stay in the room we had was denied. We were told to leave our luggage in the room and it would be moved when our new room was ready. We were spending the day sightseeing so didn't return until after 6pm. Once again we were given a new room key and this time the room was even better than the last. Still had problems but better. Only problem was no luggage in our room. Our luggage was still in the vacated room just where we left it. They had cleaned the room around our luggage and left it there. Thankfully no one had checked into it and we were not actually sure if anybody did as we noticed the key was still there quite late in the evening. Still wondering why we had to change rooms as we had booked over 12 months earlier and yet they still tried the bad room test on us. I just wonder how many people fall for this and accept the first room they are given especially when there is no price difference at all. Location can be quite alarming to some although wasn't a bother to us but if there was ever a need to go back to Marseille this would not be the hotel or location I would pick.
Breakfast runs from 7am to 11am so both mornings we went down at 10am to find very little left and uncleared tables making it difficult to find somewhere to sit and there were only 2 of us. All in all not our best hotel stay but I guess you really do get what you pay for.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dougalHorsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2009

We (two female friends in our late-20s) spent 2 nights at Saint Louis. The reception staff were friendly and helpful when we needed it. Great location; 5 mins from the tourist info, only a couple more minutes to the old port and in the opposite direction it's an easy walk to the train station. For 2 stars you don't expect much, but we were really (pleasantly) surprised! It was clean, the room was lovely (and quite big!), quiet enough at night and had a good view. Good local bakeries for breakfast as well.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holiday058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltcoats, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2009

Found this hotel to be shabby and in a rather undesirable area, ie. vagrants sitting outside hotel during the night and day. We paid extra for a superior room and it what we got was superior I would hate to see a standard room. We had the room shown on the various websites, with the four poster bed. The bedding was none too clean and the tiled floor was cracked and uneven. The only upside was that the bathroom was clean and the towels were changed regularly.

In it's favour I would say that the staff were very friendly and helpful.

The location is good, as it is very near the port and about a 10 minute walk from the railway station.

On the whole, we found Marseille very expensive, ie restaurants and public transport. We usually go to Nice and we thought Marseille would be similar, however it was more expensive.

We would not go back to either the Saint Louis Hotel nor to Marseille. There were certain areas where we felt very unsafe.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LDunlop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2009

Arrived at 2330hrs. Night Porter didn't say very much, gave us the key and that was it.
The room was at the back of the hotel. Very small. Two single beds, one wardrobe and a small table with two chairs. At the side of the bed just one of the lamps worked (although we did discover that if you switched on the main light after removing the bulb, that the other bedside lamp did work!!!!) A flat screen TV was attached to the wall. Only French Channels available which was fine. Realised there was something wrong with the picture. After a few minutes discovered that the TV Picture was back to front! You needed a mirror to read any writing.
The view from the window wasn't much to speak of, an air conditioning unit and scaffolding.
The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The Bathroom was basic but about the same size as the bedroom. Good shower pressure.

Location is the best thing about the hotel. It's a five minute walk from Port and about the same in the other direction from the train station and bus depot.
Didn't experience much noise except for noisey neighbours but nothing too serious.

I'd recommend thid hotel on location alone but don't expect any comforts it's purely a bed to sleep in.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glasgowcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
60 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2009

We stayed only one night here (originally booked for 3) as it was horrible. Our stay did not start well as the room allocated was at the front of the hotel, whereas we had specifically asked for one at the back. In the event this was not important as the area is not especially noisy. Location is great and interesting with its North African influence but the St Louis has definitely seen better days. Wires hanging out of the walls on one landing, shabby staircase and communal landings with a tiny lift, computer access "out of order" and rather indifferent reception staff. Our room (no. 44) was run down and uninviting. No floor coverings, just cracked and not too clean quarry tiles (recognised these from a previous review!). A clothes moth flew out of my bed when I pulled back the covers. Sheets clean but thin IKEA breadspread was dirty and stained. I returned my blanket to reception as it had something suspiciously resembling dried food on it, only to have it replaced by another one, stained and with the ribbon edging hanging off! Curtains also had food remnants on them. Amazingly the bathroom was clean and shower good. We were offered free breakfast for the whole of our stay in compensation, but declined and moved the next morning to the far superior Hotel Belle-Vue (see separate review). The final blow was the 7 flea bits on my legs after sleeping at the St Louis! I am not a particularly fussy traveller nor do I stay in upmarket hotels, but the whole place felt neglected and unwelcoming and I would definitely advise you to look elsewhere!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCSW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
0.2 mi away
Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port
0.3 mi away
Le Ryad Boutique Hotel
Le Ryad Boutique Hotel
#9 of 131 in Marseille
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alex Hotel
Alex Hotel
#2 of 131 in Marseille
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Azur
Hotel Azur
#45 of 131 in Marseille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hermes
Hermes
#18 of 131 in Marseille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.2 mi away
New Hotel Vieux Port
New Hotel Vieux Port
#31 of 131 in Marseille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Louis

Property: Hotel Saint Louis
Address: 2 rue des Recolettes | Cours Saint Louis, 13001 Marseille, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Marseille
#24 Business Hotel in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Saint Louis 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The eco friendly Hotel, which proposes a hebergement of quality and large comfort with air conditioning and free WiFi, is engaged in an ecological approach Clef Verte.There is an atmosphere of holidays and of tranquillity in all the hotel, since the renovation in 2012. Modernized and decorated in a sober and warm spirit, every room embarks you for a new discovery ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Saint Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Louis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing