We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, but good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ibis Budget Marseille Vieux Port
Ranked #50 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I was there on my own for a sailing event. The hotel (soon to be redesignated an Ibis Budget) is close to the Old Port and 200m from the Metro. It is in fact two buildings, one on Rue Sainte and the other the lower level square, with a connecting 'bridge'. Room doors are opened by numerical code. My double room was basic but adequate - there was a TV (including BBC World) but no wardrobe or room phone. The bed was a large double, and comfortable.

The bathroom had a walk-in shower but no bath, Towels and soap were provided, but you bring your own shampoo.

There was some noise from the square below if the window and shutter were left ajar.

Breakfast was OK. Take a tray, and help yourself to bread, croissants, jam, orange juice and coffee or other hot drinks from the machine. Free copies of regional daily papers were provided.

On my first evening I found that the shower tray was filling up with water faster than it was draining away. I reported it on leaving the next morning, and it was fixed on my return.

If location is more important than the total hotel experience, I can recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,344)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 1,344 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2012

Unfortunately my locked suitcase has been opened by force in the closed room and money have been stolen. This was very annoying since I had to go to the police and lost half day dealing with the consequences of that stealing and will need to follow-up with my insurance and Hotel insurance.
Overall the hotel was not very clean.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nhubin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

It has a great location, almost downtown, near the port, the main street, the restaurants. The rooms are confortable, just the basic (the bed was a bit hard) but other than that very clean and well taking care. Bring your personal items as shampoo, hair dryer, etc, because in the bathroom you find the basic. Good breakfast for a reasonable price.They have an underground parking (reasonable price) with an elevator you bring the car down. The staff is friendly and professional.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gianna Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Very good location, near the subway station, the old port and many good restaurants and bars. It was very easy to discover Marseille from that hotel. It is located on a very quiet street. The staff was very friendly and answered our questions about the activities we wanted to do in Marseille. The room is small but clean and the bathroom is very nice for that kind of hotel. A negative point would be that we have been woken up many times in the night by some travellers who were unrespectfull of others and would talk very loud, but this is not the hotel's fault. I would recommend this hotel if you are not too picky nor fancy.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2012youngtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We fell in love with Marseille whilst staying at this incredibly central hotel so could almost forgive the hotel's shortcomings. We paid very little to stay there, making it affordable for a 3 night break, but everything about the room we had was below the standard of other budget hotels I've stayed in. The room was tiny and bare with room to hang just one or two items of clothing. There was no window, just a skylight so no view and felt very claustrophobic. The bathroom was old and dirty, with scratchy towels and terrible cheap toilet paper. Our door was difficult to use (it has a code system) and one day it was open when we returned (cleaners, dodgy lock, who knows?)!!! Next time we visit Marseille we'll steer clear.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MovingFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank berordi
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russia-Etapjuly-2012
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Préfecture
Premiere Classe Marseille Centre
Best Western Hotel Du Mucem
#32 of 131 in Marseille
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opéra
Hotel Relax
Hotel Relax
#94 of 131 in Marseille
72 reviews
Ibis Marseille Centre Euromed
#21 of 131 in Marseille
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Marseille Vieux Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Marseille Vieux Port

Address: 46 rue Sainte, 13001 Marseille, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille > Opéra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range: $52 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Budget Marseille Vieux Port 2*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Ibis Budget Marseille Vieux Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing