We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky, but the view makes up for everything”
Review of Hotel Richelieu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Richelieu
Ranked #107 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Quirky, but the view makes up for everything”
Reviewed August 14, 2009

I spent three nights here in August 2009. The hotel is around a 20 minute walk along a busy street from the Vieux Port; add 15 minutes if you're walking from the train station. From the Vieux Port the 83 bus will let you off practically at the front door for 1 euro 50. The hotel is located right next to the Catalans beach, a very small, supervised beach that is quite busy in summer months with French vacationers, and which could not be called a model of cleanliness (litter in the water, etc.). The beach closes at 7:30 in the evening. Don't expect a grand entrance at this hotel: it is very modest and ressembles in some ways that of an auberge. Checking in was fine, and over the course of my stay there I found the manager to be quite helpful (with directions and that kind of thing). There's no elevator, and the stairs are rather narrow. I had a room on the top floor overlooking the bay of Marseille, the Frioul Islands and the mountains in the distance. I could hear the water crashing against the rocks below, and for me that was definately the highlight. The room was atypical, painted bright red (in general the paint throughout the hotel could benfit from a refresh), quite small, but nothing atypical for French standards. Strangely, the bathroom, which was large and equipped with full bath and bidet, did not have a door. So if you're travelling with somebody, you'd want to be confident about your level of intimacy...Each room has a unique design, so it would be worthwhile asking about the layout of the room before reserving. I didn't take breakfast out on the beautiful deck, because I found it too expensive (8 euros). There are plenty of grocers close by and animated cafes with people from Marseille having the apéritif at 9 in the morning. I bagged my breakfast and had it at the Parc du Pharo, a 10 minute walk from the hotel with a lovely view overlooking the city. Taking the 83 bus from the hotel away from downtown brings you out to the Prado beach which is really quite lovely. I found the hotel slightly expensive for the quality of the room, but the spectacular view really did make up for it. I wouldn`t bother booking a room street side, as it remains quite busy even throughout the night. One bar close by played loud music during one of the evenings, but it was over by midnight.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tareus1849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    40
    31
    18
    16
See reviews for
10
66
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2009

A really nice hotel with lovely individual rooms - ours (35) was on the top floor and there isn't a lift so it was a bit of a trek but the room was very airy with 2 windows, one overlooking the sea with nothing in front of us. Breakfast was OK but a little overpriced - mini pastries, hot chocolate/tea/coffee and fruit juice for 8 euros - there's a little bakery near the Vieux Port which had some nice offerings!

Definitely worth a visit and unlike other reviewers it was very quiet at night - it's right next to the Plage Des Catalans, which, although small, is clean and with nice shallow water!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank musesparrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2009

We loved Hotel Richelieu! There's an art gallery attached and the rooms are v cheerful. Our room faced the sea and was v quiet - a perfect place to recover from jet lag. The petit dejuner offered is well worth it - nice pastries on the terrace facing the beach. Hotel staff were great. We will definitely return to this hotel. It was tres romantique.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KimchiQuesadilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2008

After weeks of searching for a nice 'cheaper range' hotel near to the port & a beach - this by far was the best!

A great find indeed!

I found the value for money & service were really excellent, even the breakfast was above my expectations.

I had a room with a balcony which overlooked the sea, the sun literally sets in front of you... It's a quiet location, only a 10minute walk to the harbour and best of all - a beach 3minutes away!!...

Am staying again this year with my partner as it's just lovely!... I know I don't even need to look elsewhere as it's right where anyone would want to be.

Phillippa : )

  • Liked — The view and location
  • Disliked — The flights of stairs... (no lift service, but it is an old & unusual building)
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PTravellor8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2008

Le Richelieu's strength lies in its character and location. Marseille has a stack of deathly dull chain and tourist hotels around the old port, so it's a breath of fresh air to be able to walk another fifteen minutes to the Corniche President Kennedy, where le Richelieu has a delightful setting - one of the only buildings on the sea front street that is between the road and the sea, rather than across the street. Be sure to ask for a room with a sea view to benefit the most: the setting is perfect. We slept with the windows open and woke to the sound of waves crashing on the rocks below our balcony.

As other reviewers have noticed, le Richelieu does lack some conveniences - namely an elevator, and most rooms and corridors are smaller than your average hotel. But it should be compared with other budget hotels and hostels, and not with the characterless chain hotels in the city centre. It's brilliant value, especially off season, and every room has eclectic but thoughtful decoration. Breakfast is also great value, and worth enjoying one morning in bed.

  • Liked — The genuine sea front location - no road between rooms and the sea, as long as you ask for a sea view room.
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2007

The Richelieu Hotel is a small hotel without elevator.
You need to go up to the 1st floor to check in.

Our room was on the 3rd floor in front of the sea. The view is exceptional : you are nearly in the sea.
I could ear the sea all the night : great and in the morning : a great view...
We walked to dine at "L'epuisette" **** but you can also dine "chez Michel" **** where the speciality is the Bouillabaisse.
You can walk in the street along the sea : everything is calm , no danger and we came back from dinner at 11 PM.

The bed was not good at all because it was not hard but much too much soft. It was very clean.
The decoration is very old and has to be done again (painting is badly made).

The continental breakfast is very fine.
The "terrace", where you can have breakfast, is cold (no sun at 9 A.M.in October)
so we preferred having our breakfast in a small room near the terrace and the check in.

The staff is very kind and works hard.
Mind the costly cancelling fees...

We had a good time in Marseille.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — The bed
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AntoineAmelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marseille hotels

England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2007

We (me and the wife) stayed here over a long weekend in October to see the Rugby World Cup 1/4 finals. We generally stay in 4 star accommodation so we were uncertain what to expect, but I can say that we were delighted with the standard and location of this place. The staff were friendly enough - even with my basic French ability and their (better) English we managed to get on well and all our requests were met. It is situated in a great location right on the sea front, with great views from the bedrooms - a lot better than most of the more expesive hotels. There is a lovely walk in either dierction and their are bars and restaurants close by (it was a 15min level walk up to the metro and the Vieux port area). The rooms were clean, albeit small and basic, and the beds comfortable. For a good place to stay at the 'cheaper' end of the scale this is a great place to visit.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank PeteyCoady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
0.7 mi away
Le Rhul
Le Rhul
#53 of 131 in Marseille
147 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Peron
Hotel Peron
#49 of 131 in Marseille
282 reviews
0.7 mi away
Petit Nice Passedat
Petit Nice Passedat
#35 of 131 in Marseille
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
New Hotel Of Marseille
New Hotel Of Marseille
#16 of 131 in Marseille
849 reviews
1.6 mi away
NH Marseille Palm Beach
NH Marseille Palm Beach
#15 of 131 in Marseille
1,405 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Marseille Vieux Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Richelieu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Richelieu

Property: Hotel Richelieu
Address: 52 Corniche Pdt J F Kennedy, 13007 Marseille, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Richelieu 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Richelieu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richelieu Hotel Marseille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing